We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Delicious - This place I can go back to”

Restaurant Louis-Hebert
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Louis-Hebert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 1,437 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
London, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious - This place I can go back to”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Located n the Grand Allee section just outside the walls of the old city this place competes with a very condensed section of Quebec restaurants and proved it can stand out on its own. We almost didn't go in because the rices are a little higher tan the others on that strip but it turned out to be worth it. The service was very high level yet unpretentious. The decor was very old school with classical music playing softly. There were lots of combination choices on the menu as well as a la carte. I had 2 apps - Salad with duck and cheese that was one of the best salads I've ever had; and pheasant confit rolls with a spicy vermicelli and mushroom salad. Both original, favourful, and worth every penny. You can tell they have a creative and talented checf hidden back there somewhere. I'll be returning here when I'm back next month!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RawZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    103
    36
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had an excellent dinner with some collegues. The restaurant was very accomodating when we arrived in a large group. Everyone enjoyed their meals - the steak tartare appetizer was excellent, as was the scallops entree. The wine selection in the menu was a little curious - was we ordered and what came to the table wasn't a match. The service was adequate. I would definitely return - I'd love to try some other things on the menu!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Famtastictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable DIning Experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate at Louis-Hebert on Sunday night, after the closing ceremonies of the Quebec WInter Carnival. The city must have been all partied-out by then, because there were plenty of tables to choose from in this quiet, multi-roomed restaurant.
It boasts an extensive wine list. We selected from the weekly specials, and economized at $38 for a bottle.
Service was pleasant, attentive and efficent.
Thinly-sliced bread (olive/tomato and plain) is delivered after being seated.
We ordered house salads (in a subtle maple/dijon dressing -- made for crunching on slowly) and pheasant pate for appetizers.
For mains we had the beautifully cooked flank steak (a modest $20) and servings of bouilabaisse ($28 or $30). The latter was a dense collection of fish and shellfish, out of their shells, in a subtle tomato-based liquid. I prefer the more robust flavour of a Portuguese cataplana, but the dish was tasty and filling.
We shared a half-baked chocolate cake and gob of ice cream for dessert, for an over-priced $9.
We dined in comfort at a relaxed pace, and all agreed we would return there. While we did select some of the less expensive mains and wine on the menus, with tax and tip, the bill for the three of us came to $166.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tripsteroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were referred here by our hotel and it was just a short walk which was great as it was freezing outside! We opted for the fixed price specials, which were acceptable, but not what we expected.

Our biggest disappointment was the service.

Granted it was Carnival time, so Vieux Quebec was hopping, but we were disappointed with the service and food. While the waiter was attentive, there were delays and our dessert arrived still frozen. The waiter explained that the restaurant was full (though I saw a number of empty tables) and he did his best, along with the maitre d', but it made the experience less than optimal.

We had hoped for something special as this was my wife's birthday dinner, but left feeling that this was more of a tourist trap that good cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What can I say...marvelous.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great dinner. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was `at home`. We exchanged a few words with the waiter and we were surprised to see him talking a lot and explaining his european backgrounds. He resume to us Canada wine history focusing in the icewine. Great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Louis-Hebert also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Louis-Hebert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing