We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else?”
Review of B&B Au Petit Roi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Au Petit Roi
Ranked #37 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I stayed 3 days at Au Petit Roi and I had a great time out there...not only because the breakfast is all you can expect: fruit juice, eggs, cereals, fruits, french toast....not only because the room is well decorated, spacious, quiet and clean, not only because you are close to the Old City of Quebec...but also because the owner is a very nice and smart guy! If you like to be challenged on your knowledge, then he is your man! Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredericBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed in this delightful B and B Oct.23 to Oct. 26/08. It is close to the walled part of the city and a comfortable walk for the the moderately fit person. Khalid provided us with a wonderful breakfast each morning and our rooms were very clean and comfortable. Thank you Khalid.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank OntarioKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

This B&B is located on a charming narrow one-block street a couple of blocks from Rue St. Jean, which is full of shops, restaurants, and bars you will definitely want to visit while you are in Quebec City. It isn't inside the walls of Vieux Quebec, but within short walking distance. We found that we preferred this during our trip, as it was a bit out of the way and quiet without being remote or without its own charm.

We arrived late on a Friday night and were greeted warmly by the friendly host, who made us feel at home immediately.

There is free parking available and fantastic home-made breakfast each morning. Guests are given keys to the front door and can come and go as they like.

The bathrooms are not in the rooms, but we did not find this to ever be a problem, even when the hotel was fully booked.

The decor is a mix of Moroccan influence and the usual B&B florals.

I wouldn't call it a luxurious or indulgent place to stay. There was not a phone or TV in our room, or lush amenities, but why would anyone want these things while on vacation?

I can't sum it up any better than I did in the title: charming, friendly, and perfectly located.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

After a long and tiring event in Maine we wanted a short get-a-way for just the two of us. We spent a lot of time looking on Trip Advisor. We made a lot of calls directly to the properties. It came down to two. We could have stayed at either. What won us over was Priscilla's smiling welcoming phone voice.
The location is great. Right downtown with some nice local spots extremely close by and Old Quebec a short walk away. The location is quite. We stayed in the top floor facing the street with a nice view of the city open windows the entire time.
The place was full but one wouldn't have known it. The first floor sitting room was perfect for a cup of tea before and after our adventures.
It's an older building as most B&B's but everything worked fine, except for internet, although it appeared we were the only ones who couldn't get online and no TV, which was fine with us.
Priscilla is an excellent cook. Both breakfasts were different and delicious all set to fine tableware. The setting couldn't have been more perfect.
Morning conversation was great and many guests are Canadian making for some interesting topics and info regarding the city.
It's Quebec's 400 year anniversary and The Images exhibit is NOT to be missed. 1000 feet long and 100-200 feet high with sound. Nothing short of incredible. Book early the celebration is keeping the city very busy.
In short, great location, great host and great accommodations. We found it easy to feel right at home and welcomed. Priscilla is nothing short of awesome! We would stay there again but would want to stay longer then two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GypsyJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My friend, Laurie, and I stayed at Le Petit Roi for three days. Prescilla was charming and helpful along with being a wonderful cook. The room looked down on the beautiful city and it became almost home. We enjoyed everything about the experience including our breakfasts with the other guests. A note: Prescilla's brother came in to help out one day and proved that niceness runs in the family!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Juddia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I stayed here with a friend and we loved this place! It has a great location, great price, and the most fabulous breakfast menus ever. Prescilla was a gracious hostess and so accommodating, friendly and just plain cool.

The b&b is a couple of blocks from a really cute shopping / bar area and Prescilla made a fine recommendation for dinner nearby. We walked (and biked) all over the city, and it was so nice to come back to a spacious clean room and comfy bed.

I would absolutely book this place in a heartbeat the next time I plan to be in QC.

Merci beaucoup, Prescilla!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank larudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for three nights in June and I can't tell you how much we enjoyed it. The B & B has a 'home away from home' feeling with comfortable and clean rooms with their own distinctive character. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the ever smiling hostess, Prescilla, who makes the most amazing breakfasts and you never get the same one twice. I especially loved the chocolate and banana filled pancakes....yum!

Thank you for making our trip to Quebec city extra special!

Katy, London, UK

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seamusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Au Petit Roi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Au Petit Roi

Address: 445, Burton Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $92 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Au Petit Roi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Au Petit Roi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Au Petit Roi Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing