We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbe!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Ranked #9 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cabindan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superbe!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

Location: heart of Old Quebec - easy walking to shops, restaurants, inside and outside of the Old Wall. The owner owns the food store downstairs as well. Beautiful cheeses, pates, fruits and veggies, wines, everything you need and more.

Owners: extremely gracious and welcoming -- very knowledgeable of the area and Quebec's history. He has a wonderful welcome orientation to get you situated.

B&B: Victorian, perfect -- rooms are lovely and you have use of the living room and internet services downstairs.

Breakfast: absolutely fabulous -- the best and freshest products. We never ate lunch as we were still full from the sumptuous breakfasts. The attention to detail in food and ingrediants are unsurpassed.

We highly recommend this property and the gracious owners.

  • Liked — The decor and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cabindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
173
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

I visited Quebec City after a class in Toronto and was looking forward to seeing QC in the Holiday season. Unfortunately I had a knee injury which limited my ability to walk around QC during the winter season - but it did not prevent my visit from being wonderful and relaxing thanks to Clement and the Auberge. They welcome you into their beautiful home and invite you as if you were family. The room was small but warm and comfortable, great bed and bedding. There is plenty of space available to you in the home which gives you other options. The breakfast is unbelievable - 5 mornings of unique servings that are all delicious - just don't plan on lunch or even needing dinner some days.

They will give you great recommendations for dinner, best to listen to them. The neighborhood is a fun place to walk around and check out special little shops, especially J.A. Moison which I thoroughly enjoyed as well.

I have travelled the world and enjoy the intimacy of a B&B and found this to be one of the best. It is a special place, with very kind and caring hosts - most highly recommended. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything, the place itself, the food, the hosts and the location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kbfPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcoast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

A really memorable experiene from start (when Clement, the owner showed us around and told us about the history of the beautiful house as well as the city ) to finish (when Clement bid us farewell).
Room and breakfast truly 5 star! We were made to feel throughout the stay that we were special guests and at the same time friends.
Thank you Clement! We would like to come back!
Wieland & Heather from UK

  • Liked — very friendly owner plus excellent quality of accomodation and brekfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happydayzEastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

The Bed and Breafast is located on the second and third floors of an older building several blocks from Old Quebec's city walls. Clement (the proprietor) was extremely accomodating and gave us excellent suggestions for places to go as well as some of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at - and that says quite a bit.

Even though the hotel is in an older building, it was quite obvious that they go to great pains to maintain it. Everything is in immaculate condition, and the common areas are warm and inviting. There are several computers available with broadband internet available as well as complimentary WiFi.

The rooms are tastefully well done, albeit a bit small. All the rooms are gabled, but we did not find this an issue.

The breakfasts were unbelievably good. Don't expect bacon and eggs with hash browns; as an example, on our last day we had a fruit smoothie (salt rimmed glass), breads, jams and jellies and eggs Benedict over smoked Atlantic salmon - it was to die for, and I'm not an eggs Benedict fan.

Breakfast is served in a parlour with a view of office buildings and the pizza restaurant next door. Not the most enticing, but with the warmth and splendor of the inside of the place, we didn't care.

Good things - too many to mention. Excellent food, comfortable beds, lively yet relaxed atmosphere. The inn was warm (wintertime visit and the temp. inside was constantly at 72 degrees); absolutely phenomenal store downstairs (closes at 9:00 pm - great hours) and within walking distance of Vieux Quebec, the Observatory and Pain, a phenomenal bakery two blocks up.

Bad things: View from back parlour (extremely minor), small-ish rooms (minor), rooms were warmer than I'd like at night (adjustable, but again, minor)

I plan on going back. This is the benchmark I now measure other B & Bs by.

  • Liked — Excellent food, Fantastic accomodation and close to tourist areas
  • Disliked — Room size, back view
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville,TN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband I stayed here for 4 days to celebrate our second anniversary. We stayed in the Ludovine room for one night and the Albertine for the other 3. The welcome we got from Clemente was very warm and he gave us very useful tips about Quebec City as well as a tour of the home and its history. He was also very kind to allow me to practice some of my French with him. The rooms are very well appointed and albeit on the smaller side compared to a hotel room was very warm and comfortable to come back to after a day of walking. The walk from the auberge and back from the Old Town is a nice and eventful walk down St. Jean with cute shops and cafes along the way. The breakfasts Nathalie were superb and by far the best meals we had during the trip. I would recommend this as your respite while visiting Quebec City. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Comfort, Cleanliness, Location, Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was wonderful
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Judybat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Having never been to Quebec City, I was not sure where to park ourselves for a few days.I read the reviews on triadvisor and thought this would be a wonderful place to stay.It truly was.While it is outside the walls of old Quebec,it is indeed a short(and I mean short) walk into the heart of the old city.It is above the J A Moisan general store which, in itself, is a gem of a store.It is filled with tons of imported foods along with local fare from around the province.I found quite a few gift items there to take home.Definitely worth a look! The b&b itself is up a narrow set of stairs(be warned if you have heavy,large suitcases).It opens into a Victorian style parlour.It is a lovely place to rest your head.Clement was there to greet us and to show us around.He is very helpful......but not 'in your face'.The main area has a formal dining room,a computer/media room,and a lounge/t.v area at the back.The back is where we had our breakfast and it overlooks a lovely terrace.The breakfasts are out of this world! It would cost a lot to have something comparable at a restaurant.What a terrific way to start a day!Our room was on the next floor overlooking rue St. Jean.It was a beautiful room with its own bathroom,shower,and sink.It may be considered smallish,but it worked just fine for two adults.It was large enough for a queen bed,two chairs, and a couple of tables.
The decor is Victorian,with a lot of chairs to sit and read.There is access to the internet and also for access with your laptop.The area around here is quite nice.....not as nice as the old city,but worth a look.There are several restaurants not far away that had live music at night.All in all,I will definitely be back again.Great place,great location,great price,great breakfasts,great hosts.What more could you need?

  • Liked — clean,well-kept,great breakfasts,decor,hosts,general store below
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wac36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

You cannot possibly write enough wonderful things about Auberge J.A. Moisan! First of all, we were delighted to find that the B&B was located in a hip area that wasn't overrun with tourists yet just a short walk to all the best sights, tastes and sounds that Quebec has to offer. Guests of the inn ranged in age. There was a young couple from Boston celebrating their 1st anniversary and a family of four who had their two mid-20s children with them. The decor of this inn is incredibly rich in detail without feeling overdone. It feels like someone's cozy home in 1880 and you feel like part of the family. The rooms are small, but they have everything you could need including wonderful touches like small chandeliers in unexpected places. And the breakfasts were out of this world. I don't even know where to begin. Every breakfast was done in three parts: smoothie (fresh), appetizer, and entree. Clement and Nathalie take full advantage of the fact that they own the first floor gourmet grocery. Sugar on your warmed grapefruit? No, you'll want violet sugar for that. Where else do you get duck confit terrine and cheese as the morning appetizer followed by a waffle surrounded by blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, bananas and kiwi and topped with fresh whipped cream? Forget regular eggs Benedict. Ours were served over a bed of spinach and smoked salmon and topped with red wine infused salt and a side of fresh berries and grilled asparagus. Smoothies were actually smooth and freshly made with fruits not normally used in such drinks. Plum and kiwi smoothie? Yes. We even received chocolates for breakfast dessert. We are terribly spoiled by the time we spent at J.A. Moisan. Clement is a wonderful host, the location was amazing, the rooms were wonderfully decorated and the food was five star worthy. GET YOURSELF A RESERVATION NOW!

  • Liked — Amazing food, service, beautiful room, hip location, close to everything but away from the tourists!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 37bertwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge J.A. Moisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge J.A. Moisan

Property: Auberge J.A. Moisan
Address: 695 rue St-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge J.A. Moisan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge j.a. Moisan Hotel Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing