We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring Quebec City”
Review of Hotel Le Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Vincent
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My friends and I rode the train from Montreal for an overnight and day of sightseeing in QC. If you're a walker, Auberge Le Vincent is perfectly situated as you can walk to/from the train, walk to the old town and the port, and explore the dynamic San Roch area. The rooms are quiet, clean, and extremely comfortable with an understated contemporary elegance. We loved the in-room espresso makers! The cooked-to-order breakfast was delicious, and the friendliness and hospitality of the owner Claude and the staff (including Charles) was welcome and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinnedsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We spent a couple of days at this hotel and used it as a base to explore the old town (not that far away) and the newly developed artists area which is very close by. The staff were superb and gave great advice for walking tours of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gleesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I think at one point this hotel was probably priced right, was written up in Frommer's, and under high demand. As such, the rates went up. The hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful. And, yes, the breakfasts are excellent. However, this hotel is so far from the old part part of town, we felt the location was a major problem. We actually booked Hotel 71 and cancelled when Le Vincent became available. When we randomly came across Hotel 71 we were absolutely kicking ourselves. I just don't understand why someone would stay here when simarily priced hotels are available so much closer to the old part of town. Maybe we're missing something...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surferbassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We were initially skeptical at check-in because of the location, but our skepticism was quickly dispelled as we realized we were close to Rue St.. Jean, a wonderful strolling, dining, people-watching street. The hotel itself was perfect. The amenities were everything we would ask for in a hotel. As seasoned world travelers who have lived on every continent, we rate this among the best values. The service is second to none. And then there is the breakfast. That was truly an unexpected dividend. We will return.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

When you first arrive don't be put off by the apparent location. In fact its a short walk to the Old City, even shorter back, just 5 minutes from the free Cirque de Soleil show and close to some excellent restaurants recommended (and checked out) by the hotel. After an initial mix up over the reservation rapidly rectified by the Owner we enjoyed the rooms, the breakfasts and the delightful service from all of the staff. We have already recommended to friends and would go back ourselves, not something we say too often.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The charm of this place is that it's small and cozy. Forget the crowded lobby. When you arrive you will be taken care of by one of a small close knit team that runs the hotel. The staff is very helpful, knowledgeable, and well prepared to give you the inside information that will point you in the right direction. The breakfast menu puts the notion of a continental breakfast to shame. Le Vincent offers a small but very interesting breakfast menu included with your stay. Each of the rooms are uniquely decorated, and have a modern feel. The beds are custom made and very comfortable. The bathrooms are one of the highlights. In most of the rooms the showers are in full view but don't worry, for the shy there are blinds on the shower windows that can be lowered. It does however add a bit of a romantic flair if so desired. The Auberge le Vincent is in the Saint-Roch district and is about a ten minute walk from the walls of the old city. The Saint-Roch district has many new and interesting shops, restaurants and night clubs that offer more of a local contemporary flavor than does the old city which has a beautiful old European feel. The staff will gladly help you pick restaurants that fit your moods. The walk to the old city is not long, but part of it is uphill. Taking an elevator instead of the stairs eliminates some of the vertical ascent. The walk to the Chateau Frontenac is 1.1 miles if you take the shortest path.

The thing that sets Auberge le Vincent apart from others is that you will have access to such a friendly, helpful team of dedicated employees, and also Claude the proprietor, loves to meet and greet his guests as if it were his home. This makes it seem more like an experience, and less like a night at another hotel.
I did a video review on youtube/dblitz70 if anyone's interested.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank dblitz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Deserving of the #1 rating of hotels in Quebec City. Exceptional service, fantastic breakfasts, very comfortable rooms and beautifully designed bathrooms.

My only wish would have been for a bit more storage space in our particular accomodation for clothes etc.. but we managed quite well.

The hotel is a quick 10 minute walk to old walled city - be forewarned it is mostly uphill, but this is Quebec - you will eventually be walking uphill at some point. The elevator was a welcomed option.

If you are a "foodie" like myself, take a walk through Quebec's Farmer's Market ... If only to see what a real farmer's market should be.

Cirque du Soliel in the park is a 90 min free show... be warned however, mostly standing room only!! Fabulous performance - must see. (Claude can give you directions, and anything else you may require..) Totem is the new show under the striped tents at the waterfront (Adult Tkts - best seats in house $130 - order fast, they sell out quickly, as I found out :( ... )

Be sure to have a drink at the Chateau Frontenac, wonderful views... we had dinner there one evening, expensive -- yes, but absolutely worth it to us.

Loved Portofino Italian restaurant - husband enjoyed the lasagna. Portions may seem smaller to some.

Overall, enjoyed our visit and will hopefully return soon to stay again at the wonderful Auberge Le Vincent.. P.S. Fabulous Internet connection! Parking is additional at $16 per day but so worth it.. car kept in garage all safe and tucked away - you won't need it if your staying mainly in the city.

Claude - we miss you already.... Thanks to the wonderful staff for an amazing stay.. craving those delicious mini chocolates.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
605 reviews
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
503 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vincent

Address: 295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $103 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Vincent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Le Vincent urban inn is a 4 Star Hotel where historic style and contemporary design are in perfect harmony. Located in the center town of Quebec City’s, Auberge Le Vincent is your gateway to the Old Capital. Here you will find easy access to all attractions and services. Old Quebec, museums, Parliament, train station, bus, are all just steps away from the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Vincent Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Le Vincent Quebec City
Hotel Le Vincent Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing