We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'improviste

L'improviste
Ranked #78 of 1,432 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In a setting respecting this historic area appeal, take advantage of your visit to A l'IMPROVISTE to enjoy the pinnacle of the atmosphere beating to the rhythm of the greatest Old Quebec events. A l'IMPROVISTE is located less than 10 minutes' walk from all the Upper Town hotels of Quebec City (492 feets from the Chateau Frontenac).
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

As many reviews said, it is a very good restaurant especially for the price. Not haute cuisine but great value for your money with excellent service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    85
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had an excellent meal, very good service at a right price .
I do recommand this restaurant whitout any hesitations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecnarf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We noted some poor reviews recently followed by a few absolutely glowing reviews that we doubt were submitted by unbiased reviewers. Lovely location and everything is ok. At this price point, the food quality is about what you should expect. The service was excellent and the staff seemed to be working very hard to ensure that was the case. My wife thought her french onion soup was very good. I thought everything else was passable, but unremarkable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JTLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
1 review
“Simply AMAZING....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wow, we stumbled upon this restaurant during the day, made reservations for the night, at thank god we did. Everything was amazing. Servers, Food, Wine and the prices were also incredible. We will definitely be going back this winter for the Quebec Carnival. Thank you for a great Dinning experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A special wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We ate here 7/22/14. This restaurant was a wonderful way to finish up our stay in Quebec city. Even though all of our dining experiences over three days had been excellent, A L'Improviste was definitely "the best"! We ate here on our last night and everything about it was wonderful. Starting with Max our waiter, and the whole staff it couldn't have been better. There were 5 of us, and every meal was delicious. One had the Salmon, two had the seafood special, and two had the linguini! The wine was good, the atmosphere wonderful. We thought it a nice touch the way the wine list was "on a wine bottle." We really liked how the staff worked together. You didn't have to wait for "your waiter" to refill glasses; wine or water. Anyone on the staff who was passing by would ensure we were well taken care of. This was really a great experience and we felt we were made to feel special, and that the staff was genuinely interested in making sure we had an enjoyable dining experience. I highly recommend visitors put Restaurant A L'Improviste on their list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Life-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'improviste also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to L'improviste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing