We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic central location with very welcoming host and delicious breakfasts.”
Review of Chez Hubert, B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Hubert, B&B
Ranked #16 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chew Magna, Bristol, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic central location with very welcoming host and delicious breakfasts.”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Rooms were rustically simple but functional with plenty of space. The whole house felt relaxed and welcoming. There was a large lounge/TV room with old sofas and cushions to flop on and a huge DVD selection that spread into an extra bathroom cupboard - very welcome if you are there in winter when it is too dark and cold to stay out any longer with children.
The host was very welcoming and helpful with local tips. A former teacher, he knew how to relate to teenagers and, one day, in return for help digging his car out of the snow, took us to a local waterfall on his way to the shops.
His breakfasts were leisurely but well worth waiting for - amazingly puffy french toast or waffles cooked to order with fresh fruit and of course plenty of maple syrup, were a highlight.
We all loved Quebec in the winter. Yes, it is freezing cold but the sheer amount of snow was such a novelty to us Brits and made everything so spectacularly beautiful. We had no car and didn't need one. So much was walkable from the house

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    40
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
107
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I traveled with two platonic friends and chose Chez Hubert because it has a room with 3 separate beds within the walls of the Old City & included breakfast and parking. My hopes were not all that high, but Marjorie was extremely accommodating. Our 2nd floor room was adorable, well appointed, comfortable, and spacious and we had a giant private bath with an old tub perfect for soaking. There was also a sitting room with DVDs and a little iron terrace overlooking the beautiful old city roofs. Staff was very sweet and helpful and honestly it was extremely charming and a really good value. The cash-only reservations put me off, but we called to confirm a few weeks before and again two days before and all was well. I did not want to leave the B&B

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krei0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed at this hostel for one night, after staying at a two star B&B the night before and could definitely tell the difference.

Very clean; towels, hair dryer, body wash, shampoo were all available, which was nice. Location is great too..downtown close to everything.

Breakfast was delicious! Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazeleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend there and it was everything we were looking for. Very nice place and location, perfect to explore the old city and near to the wall/gates to check out also the outside, cozy B&B, good bedroom, nice bathroom and great breakfast!!! Very good variety buffet and specially the "daily special" homemade by Marjorie. Pascal and Marjorie thanks for the hospitality and everything else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We spent 4 days with my friend and it has been so wonderful to stay here and enjoy the hospitaliy, generousity and warmth of Marjorie and Pascal. The breakfast are delicous and different everyday and you get some delicious home-made cake!

The room are wide and very clean. Each room has a private bathroom.
Every day when we came back from our tour, the room was tidy and the bed made.

I liked the atmosphere of this very old house... you feel like you bring your home with you.

I recommend you to go there !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NyStevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We decided to stay here based on the mostly positive reviews that Chez Hubert received; however, we were disappointed by almost everything other than a great location. The building is beautiful from the outside, and is ideally located to explore both the old city and the surroundind environs. Now to the bad, I did not find the welcoming as warm as others stated. In fact, there was not much orientation and the hospitality left something to be desired. The bathrooms were incredibly small, and the rooms a bit dirty. If you do decide to stay here definitely book one of the upstairs rooms as our bottom room was very loud.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerryo39hanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The welcome received from Andrew was excellent, and he provided great tips as to the best places to go in the city (non-tourist!). Rooms are simple but comfortable and clean, location fantastic (at the top of the old city, just inside the walls - close to many attractions) and the breakfasts were spectacular! Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Hubert, B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Hubert, B&B

Property: Chez Hubert, B&B
Address: 66 St-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Hubert, B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Hubert, B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Hubert Hotel Quebec City
Chez Hubert, Bed And Breakfast
Chez Hubert, B&B Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing