We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast-Chez Hubert”
Review of Chez Hubert, B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Hubert, B&B
Ranked #15 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

An excellent Bed and Breakfast with three shared bathrooms which accommodates about eight guests at one time . The location, inside the old wall, is excellent and there is free parking in the old carriages houses behind the house which have the tower of parliament behind. The price is excellent because it includes the parking and a full breakfast. When I checked with hotels on Rue Sainte Ursule, parking and breakfast were additional and this made the price about 40 % higher than here.
There is a great lounge on the second floor with a wonderful balcony overlooking the street. Great place to sit drinking wine and watching the crowds walk along Saint Louis. From the balcony you can see the Citadel park and roof the Chateau Frontenac.
The new hosts are from France and they cook at great breakfast; they serve it at large table where you can sit and talk to guests from all around the world- last year they had guests from 60 different countries.
I did ask them about the awful review posted on the trip advisor site- because this place is amazing- yes the review is listed under Chez Hubert, yet the couple never stayed at Chez Hubert- it seems they were really unhappy because of there was a mix-up with the reservation and they stayed with at a place near by- a large room with a private bathroom -and they never tried the breakfast once- when you do not even eat the food or meet the other guest - yet you place a review for it - trip advisor needs to monitor their reviews a bit better-
Oh yeah - the light fixtures are all original and the one at the foot of the staircase is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

Looking at the other reviews, I think Chez Hubert must have had a recent change in ownership, because this is truly one of the worst places to stay in Quebec. Let's start with booking the room, I made reservations over the phone two months in advance, and followed up with an e-mail three weeks berfore my wife and I arrived. We got no response to the e-mail, which was probably a bad sign, but when we showed up they had our reservation, yet showed us to their sister hotel two doors down. This is not where we made a reservation to stay, but we were told repeatedly that. "it is the same hotel." If fact, this was about the only english phrase that person who showed us to our room appeared to know. We never met an 'Andrew' or any other owner during our stay. In fact, there didn't appear to be anybody working there. No orientation, no suggestions, no map, no maid service. All of these were standard at evry other Auberge of B&B we stayed at in Quebec.

Now to the room, it was incredibly loud as well as being filthy. The shower was not big enough to turn around in, and would alternate between freezing cold to scalding hot about ten different times during a shower. Outside our window, there was romance in the air. No wait, actually that is where they kept the garbage and where people who may have worked there(?) took there smoke breaks. Finally, to top off our experience, when we went to pay our bill they changed the amount we had agreed to on the phone, and now wanted more money! Flip a page in the phone book and randomly select a B&B and you would do better than staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike200812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We chose "Chez Hubert" at random before going, because it was in Old Québec and cheap, and they said on the phone they'd be waiting for us with a smile! And indeed, they did: good beginning!
We had a nice bedroom, clean and quiet. Everything has been refurbished recently, keeping the victorian style of the house, simple and elegant.
As said in other reviews, breakfast is very good and huge! And you get to talk with everyone. We liked that a lot!
We are immigrants, we thought we'd settle in Montréal, like everybody else... but upon visiting Québec city (it is gorgeous and you just wanna live there!!) and meeting Andrew (the host) we decided we could stay a bit longer and look around for jobs and housing. Everything was positive. We ended up staying 5 nights and Andrew helped a lot, lending me his computer and phone so I could look for a job.
We would send family there because it's the perfect place for tourism, close to everything and also because we know Andrew will do everything he can to make them feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband and I visited Quebec City for the first time this February and lucked out finding Chez Hubert B&B. We did not have a reservation but when we knocked at the door, the host Andrew informed us he had just had a cancellation and showed us the room which we happily accepted after seeing it had a view of the Chateau Frontenac. After getting settled Andrew gave us a few dinner suggestions and we headed off for a wonderful meal at a French Canadian restaurant 2 blocks away(Ancien Canadien). After dinner we came back to the B&B and watched a DVD in the lounge, which is for all the guests to enjoy. We had a hard time picking a DVD as he had about 100 to choose from it seemed.
Breakfast at Chez Hubert was very adequate. He gave us a choice of french toast, waffles, or eggs of our choice. We had the waffles with raspberries and blueberries, which enormous. There were also other items on the table like fruit and bread, cereal, and yoghurt.
The house was very comfortable and clean. It had 3 restrooms for the guests, which was nice.
The location was perfect. It was right in the old part of Quebec so it was close to everything .
The price was very reasonable and the host even drove us to the train station after our stay.
It was a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were delighted! The B & B is comfortable, breakfasts were great, other guests were friendly, and Andrew (proprietor) was helpful and gave great advice on sights to see and where to eat. We can't wait to go back, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YMOTEMYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Chez Hubert is a great little pensione hotel an easy walk from the train station, except for the last hill if one is unaccustomed to hills. Andrew, the manager, is terrific and will pick you up from the station; he also makes a wickedly good breakfast and is very helpful and knowledgeable about places to see and things to do. He will provide maps and business cards to local businesses. There is good wireless Internet access, which is free.

It is a shared bathroom affair, so be prepared to plan your time if you don’t like waiting for the shower. Everyone is easy to communicate with so it is like living with a big family or lots of roommates, simply coordinate if needed. I’m a late riser, which worked well for the older, early riser types that were there during my stay.

The room was very clean and typical for this style hotel; there is no closet or tv or minibar, it is just a bedroom with a sink, a bed, chair and dresser. For me, I travel to see things and thus my needs for a hotel are mostly centered around sleeping, washing up and storing my stuff not lounging about; that’s why there are spas. If however, you do need to lounge, there is one on the second floor, which is comfortable, has a tele, and there are apparently lots of DVDs to choose from.

Bottom line: This is a clean, affordable, well-located pensione with a great staff (Andy also has support from several local folks), and what ever you do, don’t miss the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kanizsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My mother and I spent four nights at this historic b&b right in the heart of old Quebec. The owner, Andrew Barclay, is very kind and a wonderful host. He provided great suggestions on where to go each day including fabulous restaurants. The breakfast was scrumptious and we so enjoyed it. On our last day there, Andrew took us to the Farmer's Market, which was amazing. They had everything and very good prices. I would recommend a trip there!The b&b is very close to the Plains of Abraham, which is a great place to go jogging. The trails are good and you can go down to the river.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire
Chez Marie-Claire
#21 of 120 in Quebec City
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Hubert, B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Hubert, B&B

Address: 66 St-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Hubert, B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Hubert, B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Hubert Hotel Quebec City
Chez Hubert, Bed And Breakfast
Chez Hubert, B&B Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing