We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L'abat-jour: Warmth, hospitality, friends, value and the best breakfast in Québec!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B l'Abat-Jour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B l'Abat-Jour
Ranked #94 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Topsham, Maine
1 review
“L'abat-jour: Warmth, hospitality, friends, value and the best breakfast in Québec!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

I found the Abat-jour B&B by accident. A friend and I traveled to Québec in May of 2008 and our planned hotel fell through. We were referred to Abat-jour by someone working at a Tourist Center. Our experience that first time with hosts Ahmed and Salouha el-Ghandouri was so wonderful and so positive that I have since come to believe that it was fate that directed us there.

I decided for my 40th birthday that I wanted to return to Québec for a weekend, this time with my wife and four children ages 10 to 14. We stayed again at Abat-jour, this time in their two-room suite which includes a kitchenette.

Ahmed and Salouha are the consummate hosts. Ahmed told me (in English as much as he could, in French where he needed to fill in the blanks) that the two of them began this "new life" after all of their own children had grown and gone. They run such a wonderful establishment, serve such a wonderful breakfast, go so far out of their ways to accommodate their guests in all things, that it is hard to believe they have not been innkeepers their entire lives.

My family arrived mid-afternoon and they were there to enthusiastically greet us-- genuinely pleased to see me again after my first visit there in the spring. They showed us to our room and immediately offered afternoon coffee and tea for my wife and me, and brought hot chocolate for the kids. Served on a silver tray in nice china, the hot drinks came with shortbread cookies, homemade by Salouha. We cooked our dinner in the room that night, a huge cost savings to a family of six out travelling.

My wife's first comment on the room was, "this is so cute!" and after poking around a bit, her next was "this is SO clean!!" The room wasn't huge but was plenty for our needs.

Breakfast at Abat-jour is one of the high points, after the hospitality of its hosts. Nearly everything on the table--including the strawberry jam-- was made from scratch. With coffee, tea and more hot chocolate, we were started with an absolutely amazing fruit smoothie-type drink. Next came Salouha's homemade sesame bagels with jam and butter. Then came homemade crêpes, with five or six different spreads to enjoy them with. The second day breakfast featured homemade yogurt, a delicious omelette with fresh tomatoes and an exotic but savory batch of breakfast rolls, still warm from the oven. A far better spread than we could have found in a restaurant locally-- and included in the cost of the stay?!? Hard to believe.

Friendly conversation around the table with other guests--there are always guests there, it seems-- was another pleasant aspect to the experience. Some were from Montréal, some from the states, some from even further afield, traveling on a mix of business or pleasure. Those I spoke to on both my first and second trips had all stayed at Abat-jour at least twice before.

Saturday night we explored the Old City and got hopelessly lost on our way back. We called Ahmet and he guided us expertly back to the Abat-jour (it turns out that at one point in his life, he was a cabbie in Québec; who better to give directions??). Never have I been so happy to see lights on in the windows... to walk in to a warm greeting from our hosts... to be received by a warm room with all the beds made, turned down and ready to receive my family. For the three days we were in Canada, Abat-jour was home for certain.

Abat-jour is a hidden jewel-- modest in presentation but clean, comfortable, homey and friendly to the greatest degree. It is located literally ten minutes from the Old City-- an easy drive in. It is no more than that from Abat-jour to Montmorency Falls, another must-see.

We are already making plans to return, hopefully this spring. This is a wonderful B&B, which I would recommend to anyone. It is nice to have friends in Québec!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBarnard43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We went to Quebec city for our 20th anniversary. It was the 400 anniversary celebration for the province. We were warmly welcomed by Ahmed and his wife. Spoke english and was able to communicate effectively. Found that Abat Jour was easy acess to Old Quebe, 1/2 block from bus line and a bike trail several blocks away which both led directly into the city. We enjoyed ridding our bikes to town which allowed us to navagate in this expansive area . Neighborhood at B & B was safe and close to local restaurants and groceries in which we took advantage (especially natural food store-organic or french terminology =biologique). Small refrigerator was available to use. They were very helpful with directions and information. Took more time than most would be patient. Home made breakfast and dietary requests accomodated. Was a clean establishment. Only drawbacks were to share hallway bath but no problems with that, and no tv in our room, but we were to busy to miss it all that much. Were able to come in late with key to house. Value high with reasonable rates at the time of year and free parking available. Morning conversation with other guests was very delightful and interesting. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Liked — personalized service
  • Disliked — sharing bath
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

A very welcoming atmosphere with a friendly and helpful host who served an extremely tasty breakfast which was a different one every morning. Thank you! We enjoyed our stay! :-)

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere and the breakfast
  • Disliked — cleaniness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2nane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Spent 3 days at the Abat-Jour, where we enjoyed the delightful company of our host Ahmed, who was so warm and pleasant, and who had such a wonderful sense of humour. He was definitely one of those who enjoys people, and is meant for this type of business. And when he shook your hand, he did it with both hands clasped around yours.

Everything else (breakfast, lodging, bed, bathroom were definitely up to standard). And the B & B was conveniently located 3 minutes walk from a bus that takes you directly downtown to the Parliament buildings, if you don't want to worry about parking your car or walking to your car if you have to park far away from the Old City. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Quebec City.

David Suliteanu of Montreal, Quebec

  • Liked — Our host.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dsuliteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We spent one night at the suite at this B &B. The rooms were very clean, and the owners were wonderful.
I have to mention the delicious breakfast we had - fresh juice, fruit salad, excellent coffee, pancakes with homemade jams and nutella, and freshly baked bagels.
Great value for the money, I will stay there again.

  • Liked — Owners, breakfast, room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyubag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We booked this B and B in conjunction with the Quebec 400th anniversary celebration, it was one of only a few B and B's available during late August. On the plus side, 1) the price was reasonable given that our stay was during the height of the 400th anniversary celebration (under $100 a night), 2) the location was in a quaint residential area away from the tourist area, 3) it was very easy (10 minute bus ride) to the Old/City downtown area, and the host was friendly and knowledgeable about the bus system and other practical matters. 4) The breakfasts were tasty and offered a chance to converse with interesting people from several states/countries. However on the downside 1) the room was small and a felt a bit cramped 2) There was heavy construction ongoing in an adjacent apartment building beginning at 0700 each day which made sleeping past that time difficult, especially since we kept the windows open to try to negate the lack of air circulation 3) The room did not have a ceiling fan and thus provided minimal air circulation. 4) Despite being advertised as having air conditioning, the owner/host was reluctant to use it , despite that fact it was quite hot and humid for late August. The A/C is centralized for the entire house, there are no individual room controls. Admittedly I have a low heat tolerance, and based on our experience, "air conditioning" does not appear to exist throughout Quebec, even in some "fine" hotels and restaurants and the Pepsi Coliseum, where we attended an event. If you can avoid the summer months and don't mind being just outside the main tourist area and using the bus system, this B and B offers some charm and good value

  • Liked — Convenience/charm/price
  • Disliked — room comfort (small, no air circulation, A//C)
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ABQtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We staid one night at Abat-jour and we enjoyed our stay with very helpful and sympathetic owners. Their warm welcome immediately makes you feel like at home.
This is a great place to stay : very reasonably priced and close to the center of Quebec. The room was clean and quiet, we had everything we needed.
We also enjoyed the breakfast a lot!

  • Liked — Welcoming
  • Disliked — old fashion decoration.. not important though!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barroudeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
La Victorienne Urbaine
#35 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aux Annees Folles
#74 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#22 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Maizerets
Hotel Le Voyageur
Hotel Le Voyageur
#53 of 119 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B l'Abat-Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B l'Abat-Jour

Property: B&B l'Abat-Jour
Address: 2064 rue Defondville, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 1X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Maizerets
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B l'Abat-Jour 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B l'Abat-Jour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B L'Abat-Jour Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing