We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay has inspired us to stay at B&Bs everytime we travel!”
Review of B&B l'Abat-Jour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B l'Abat-Jour
Ranked #96 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My experience was so positive! I came with my boyfriend who was here for work so I had days to myself. The family helped me practice French and made sure I had no shortage of sights and activities. The location cannot be beat! It is in walking distance to all shopping and museums. We had a delicious, hearty, breakfast every day. The best thing about breakfast was the company. I got to meet travelers from all over the world.

I will recommend Quebec to everyone looking for a romantic vacation and I will insist they stay at L'abat-Jour

Room Tip: There are options of ensuite bathrooms or shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

With great love for detail this B&B made us feel at home. It is quite, clean and family-style. Ahmed and his wife can provide an unlimited supply of helpful insights about events and things to see in the city that you will not find in any brochur or guidebook. The breakfast is unique and superb. Great stay, especially if you would like to avoid the usual hostel-party-crews.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We originally reserved with a hotel, but very glad to have switched to this B&B. Ahmed is extremely friendly, makes you feel at home, and just makes the entire trip more enjoyable. Nothing beats starting the day with a great home-made breakfast while listening to some relaxing classical music. Getting to the old town is very easy as well, as taking the 10-min bus ride removes the hassle (and expensive fees) out of trying to find a place to park. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean room, safe and attractive area, one bus ride away from Old Quebec, cheap, upgraded me to a private room, excellent homemade breakfast, owner is a taxi driver and took us to the airport in the early morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Every morning we were provided with a yummy meal. Highly recommended and would stay at again. Cleans rooms and nice area.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav3lers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Perfect! We stayed at the location inside the old city walls (there was another location in a residential neighborhood) it's a wonderful manor, comfortable and stately at the same time. Couldn't have asked for a better location, you step out the front door and just stroll around the old city. The owners were sweethearts, they took care of us like we were family. My mom would be jealous!

And the food! Fresh home baked breads with homemade yoghurt too!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a lovely old apartment style house in the off-the-beaten track of Quebec.

The owner waited for us late at night and received us with kindness, help and friendship. He even made us a welcome cup of coffee after a long drive.

He treated my dad of 90 yrs old, with a huge amount of respect while lending a hand and a sympathetic ear. He assisted us with calling a taxi and explaining to the driver in Quebecois where to take us.

The rooms were clean, with everything where needed and welcome. The beds were great! The mattresses were firm, and it was a great night's sleep.

The house is in easy walking distance from the bus routes and a taxi trip to downtown old Quebec is another option, if one doesnt want to drive.

The rooms were exactly what we wanted and expected. We are not fancy hotel people. The breakfasts were very nice, lost of the fare was homemade and delicious.

The owner is great and entertaining with a story to tell!

Worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsmosisJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quebec City
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#9 of 119 in Quebec City
347 reviews
Sillery
Auberge Maison Roy
Auberge Maison Roy
#99 of 119 in Quebec City
80 reviews
B&B Le Bonheur
#1,369 of 1,563 in Quebec
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Michel Doyon
#36 of 119 in Quebec City
225 reviews
Aux Annees Folles
#77 of 119 in Quebec City
4 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#42 of 119 in Quebec City
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B l'Abat-Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B l'Abat-Jour

Address: 2064 rue Defondville, Quebec City, Quebec G1J 1X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Maizerets
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B l'Abat-Jour 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your B&B l'Abat-Jour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B L'Abat-Jour Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing