We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Querétaro, Queretaro de Arteaga, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Is a really nice Hotel, the desk staff was awesome, really nice people. It's a little bit far away from old Quebec by foot but it's really near the bus stop. The rooms are spacious and clean, the showers work fine.
The breakfast was good and the price was proportional to the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa B, Gérant at Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your kind words! We pride ourselves on good customer service, clean rooms and affordable rates.

The hotel is located less than 10 minutes by car from the Old Quebec City, which is also easily accessible by bus.

Continental breakfast, parking, access to an indoor swimming pool and to the wireless network are all included in our rates.

We hope to see you again,

Vanessa Bergeron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
43
67
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Old and rustic yet clean and comfortable. Our three rooms on main floor were large and quiet. One room had table with four chairs and one room had fridge. Free parking and small indoor pool appreciated. Breakfast was included, self serve, and basic. Stores close by, on bus route to old city, close to river. We liked the location. Would recommend for a budget hotel, though upstairs rooms can be smaller and there is no elevator.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ground floor rooms were spacious compared to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I prefer to spend my money on food and sites; this was fine as an economy hotel. The hotel was clean, safe and the room was larger than I expected for the price. The staff were bilingual, helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was what you would expect in a budget hotel - but it got me going in the morning and I could seek out the perfect croissant later in the day. The neighborhood is "up and coming" and had some great little restaurants that the staff helped us find. It was an easy walk into "Old Quebec" (I was there in the summer - it may not be an easy walk in the winter) and several of the sites that I wanted to see were en route between the hotel and Old Quebec. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was ok.. but I would never stay there again. We got placed in one of the basement rooms and it felt like a dungeon. Our power outlets wouldn't work so when we informed staff of it they said it was our fault. They were rude and disrespectful. The layout of the entire hotel is somewhat like a maze... just really didn't enjoy my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa B, Gérant at Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. The rooms
in our Lower level are generally very comfortable. To that end we are up grading these
rooms with higher end furniture an more amenities,
As for your outlet problems ,all was resolved on the day of your complaint.
We pride ourselves on great service , friendly staff , clean rooms at a great rate next to the
old city.

Thank you hope you visit with us again.

Vanessa Begeron, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Québec
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful and bi-lingual was greatly appreciated. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint is the lack of ventilation. It was incredibly muggy and uncomfortable in the room just from a shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Generally, I prefer to spend less on airfare and hotels and more on gifts, attractions, food, and things to do. I chose Hotel du Nord for many reasons, one of them including its cost. The rooms are clean and very fairly priced. The staff are mostly bilingual and very willing to help out.

The rooms are clean, but a tad bit smaller than more Queen sized bed rooms in the USA. The bathrooms and shower are small, also, but not so small as to cramp your ability to shower; I would not suggest taking a bath, though, unless you are a child. As you probably know, it can get very cold in Quebec City, Canada and when I was here it was around 4 degree FARENHEIT and the contrast between the warmth in my room and the coldness of outside would cause condensation to form on the windows and make big puddles on the windowsills.

Public transportation to downtown or "Old Quebec" is easy and very cheap; you literally just walk across the street to the bus and take it all the way down. That being said, it is time consuming and unless you have a car or money to burn on taxis I would stay closer to Old Quebec. If you have a car, feel free to stay here because parking is free and parking in Old Quebec is not that expensive.

The continental breakfast is more than adequate, with lots of coffee, orange juice, and milk. There are also waffles, various toasts, with caramel and maple syrups, and yoghurt. There's not much in the way of protein, but it tastes good.

One of the things I REALLY liked about this place was the sleep quality I could get. There were ample pillows and the hallways were quiet at night and in the morning. There were no honking horns in the middle of the night or noisy people walking the street, it was perfect for sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamisonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a budget, b&b, in good conditions and a confortable room. Everything seems right but the breakfast room could be better. Someone could be in charge in place or more written signs would be welcome and useful. I recomend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#76 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Hotel Belley
L'Hotel Belley
#68 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal William
Hotel Royal William
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.7 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: 640, St-Vallier Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1N 1C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Nord Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing