We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was difficult to get a true impression of this hotel from reading reviews, and I was not sure what to expect when we got to the hotel. Overall, I must say that despite a few disappointments, we ended up having a pretty pleasant stay.

Quebec City is a major tourist attraction, and there is a number of very respectable-looking, high-end hotels around the Old City, which would probably save us from paying a $22.50 per day in parking fees. However, these hotels seemed to be substantially more expensive than Hotel Du Nord, and thankfully, its room rate includes parking.

The hotel is a low-slung 3-story building, which, while does not have a "historic" look, probably dates quite a few years back - the building DOES NOT have elevators. Coming from the US, we were completely surprised by it, as I do not recall ever seeing a public building without barrier-free access, yet this was a recurring theme during this trip, a fact more noticeable to us since one of our traveling companions had a sore knee, and walking the stairs was a major undertaking for him.

The building's architecture is peculiar in a number of other ways. The rooms are oddly shaped, with strange corners, and proverbial nooks and crannies. Then there is a hallway, which in addition to being rather narrow (seems like only 3 feet wide, though I had not measured it), feels even narrower, as it follows a rather strange path - to get to our room, we had to make 10 turns.

We had a regular room, which was decorated rather plainly. It had two armchairs a coffee table, two ottomans, a queen-sized bed, and a night-table. There is no closet or a cupboard - the clothes rack was bolted on wall inside the room - no hiding your possessions from visitors, unless you keep them in the suitcase. There is a flat-screen TV on the wall, seems like 32" in size, which shows mostly French channels, but also some English ones, both from Canada and the US. The room has a window AC unit, which turned out to be rather noisy, but did not keep us from sleeping.

The bed was pretty comfortable, and quite clean. The bathroom was clean as well. To say that it was plainly decorated would be an exaggeration - it was mostly empty. There was shampoo and body wash in travel-size containers, both of which quite pleasant. The towels were thin, and showed their age, but clean. The toilet is a small round kind. The shower worked well, and had good water pressure; the water warmed up quickly.

We made a reservation through LateRooms.com, for two rooms,one for us, the other one for our companions. Although both of us had paid the same price, our companions were given a suite. The suite was large, with a separate bedroom, and a living room large enough to allow for a kitchenette with a fridge, small stove, and a sink, a table with 6 chairs, and an unfolding couch. In front of the couch there was a 40" TV, but the vinyl upholstery on the couch had a large rip in a very obvious spot. The bedroom did not have a TV, and there was only one AC unit - in the window of the big room. I can't imagine it adequately cooling the bedroom. In the colder months it would not be a concern, but as we were there at the end of August with the outside temperatures in the 90's (that's close to 30 C, if you think metric), a good AC unit is essential.

The hotel is easily accessed from the freeway, though it is in a rather sedate neighborhood. It took us about 10 minutes to drive to a public garage at the edge of the Upper Old Town. As I mentioned before, parking there is quite expensive, and although according to Google Maps we could have walked there in about an hour, we decided not to brave the heat and the sore knees, and drive instead. A note on the prices - we ended up paying about $140/night at the hotel, which was at least 40% cheaper than any of the large hotels close to the old town. When I was making a reservation, it appeared that almost all the hotels had very limited availability for the days we needed. However, walking around the Upper Old Town, we saw numerous signs of boutique hotels in converted Old Town buildings, advertising rooms for less than $90, I am curious why these did not show up in my searches - staying in Old Town would be a much preferred option, as it is withing a short walk to all the attractions, as well as some very nice restaurants in the area. I did find, however, that many hotels in the province of Quebec do not include things that I take for granted, like having private bathrooms - some room rates offer a "shared bathroom", so perhaps that was the reason.

The hotel include a "continental" breakfast - bagels with cream cheese, cereals, coffee, fruits. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even if some were not fluent in English. So all in all, this was a decent value for our trip. I noticed that a large number of hotel guests were French-speaking families, probably from elsewhere in the province. Some of them were no doubt drawn by the historical sites of Quebec, while others by the swimming pool in the basement of the hotel - while I did not see it, judging by the sounds I heard passing by, it had gotten quite a lot of use.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if going up the stairs is a problem, ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We live in Washington DC and did a family road-trip through Canada this summer. Upon arriving in Quebec, we found the hotel, and I hopped out to check in. As I entered the lobby I though, "Hm, it sure is dark in here. Maybe that's the ambiance, but really, it's a bit much."
The front desk attendant greeted me and said the power was out due to a storm that passed through. She said we could cancel with no penalty, but when we went to look for other hotels nearby they were all much more expensive.

I had reserved the Hotel du Nord in park because of the parking, internet, and breakfast which were all included (and which add up for a family).
We discussed and decided to check in. When we went back the attendant recommended we not check in and said power was not expected to return until 8am, but she let my husband see our room, and confirmed that we would have water. We just wanted to sleep, so we unpacked and started showers. [Luckily, my handy husband and son had 3 flashlights between them, plus we all had our cell phones.] As soon as we all got cleaned up and ready for bed, the power came back on.

From there on, the hotel shone. Reception was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was standard breakfast buffet, but good. They even have an indoor pool. Which was chilly, but a nice evening break. The room was spacious enough for our family and clean (we were on the lower level).
Really though, the best draw for us was the value - parking, breakfast and internet included.
Plus, I actually liked the neighborhood St Vallier Ouest, not in the tourist center, but close enough, more of a real regular neighborhood in Quebec City. In the morning the horse drawn carriages that are heading into Old Quebec pass by while you are eating breakfast.

Room Tip: No elevator, so stay on the lower level if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, we weren't really very happy! It seemed to be far away from everything and not in the best part of town. However, our room was quite cozy and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room was very small but we knew that upon arriving. It was a busy weekend in the city! The room had a flat screen tv and the wifi worked great! We didn't get to enjoy the free breakfast or the pool but both are there if needed. Overall, our stay ended up being quite lovely. We did decide to drive to the main area and walk from there but other than the location, everything at this hotel was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is very basic with a kitchen. Decor is old, bathrooms are not up to date or anything. Worst of all, there is no elevator and we had to carry a lot of luggage (no bell boy, no trolley nothing) to the third floor at 1 am! Once we got there, the place feels literally like a maze! We had booked 2 rooms and they were far apart. Going from one to the other, we had to keep turning and turning weird angled corridor! It definitely had the feel of a maze. The sofa and leather chair had seen better days. On top of this, the front desk lady wanted me to pay extra $10 for my son to stay in the same room as us (even though there were two queen beds and we were only three in our room)! I love Quebec city but the hotels are a rip off in this place and this was the best I could find for paying $120 plus 14% tax per night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkramadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 1 night while traveling with a group visiting Quebec City, Canada. Front desk provided good service and were very helpful. If you are told this hotel is within walking distance to the old city...prepare for a long walk. Its about a 10 to 12 dollar cab ride to the old city, just in front of the wall. Rooms are small but clean. Bathroom is small as well, however it was clean. Small window ac unit, did a fairly good job at keeping room comfortable. There is a pool, however did not use this amenity. Continental breakfast the norm, pastry, muffins, toast, bagel, cereal and fruit. There are some restaurants in walking distance. While its a little pricey, this is the busy season, so that expected. Overall, nice hotel in Quebec City, Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nctravelerharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

OK to stay - rooms tidy and service friendly. You get a good idea of the variety of the city when you walk into old town compared to staying in the very touristy old town as such. It got a swimmingpool which surprises for the category.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel was just okay - staff was polite, the rooms are small (more like a European size basic room with the bed occupying most of the space and a very small bathroom), the tv didn't work, the tap dripped in the bathroom, the salt-water pool was fine. It is fairly close to downtown and there are some restaurants and depanneurs nearby. Overall, not great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 100 in Quebec City
201 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 100 in Quebec City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#84 of 100 in Quebec City
105 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
#15 of 100 in Quebec City
656 reviews
3.7 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 100 in Quebec City
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: 640, St-Vallier Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1N 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: $65 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Nord Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing