We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful and relaxing”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restful and relaxing”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We checked in to the Champlain on our 2nd night in Quebec City. Our first hotel was very noisy and hot- and we found this one online in a pinch. Not only was it cheaper than our first hotel, it had a better breakfast, much nicer rooms and an elevator!! We paid about $20 for parking- but it was very convenient and easy. Our room was a bit dark- but otherwise really nice. It seemed newly decorated and had the charm of Old Quebec City. The bathroom was really clean and modern. While we didn't have a view, the location was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was quite good. Boiled eggs, mini-quiche, cereal, pastries, croissants, toast, juice, coffee, tea, etc.. It seems they have put a great deal of effort into remodeling, modernizing and making the rooms enjoyable. We noticed upon checking out that other rooms (being cleaned at the time) looked brighter, bigger and had nice views-- so I think you can get different experiences depending on the type of room you book. If I were to have one small piece of feedback for the management--- it would be this: Upon checkout- my husband realized he forgot to mention our AAA membership at check in. They said it was impossible to go back and adjust our bill for this discount. Having worked in hotels-- I know that it is not impossible- and it would have been the hospitable thing to do!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maricara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    548
    103
    19
    15
See reviews for
349
1,050
74
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Champlain was beyond our expectations from the second we arrived to the minute we left. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Being greeted each time we were in the lobby made us feel at home. The breakfast was phenomenal. My mother has very strict dietary constraints and complimentary breakfast doesn't always work well for her. Hotel Champlain's breakfast was PERFECT for her. The croissants were fresh and flaky, but my favorite was the creton. The room was clean and extremely comfortable. I will definitely be back! Make sure you reserve parking. It was wonderful to park the car and walk every where

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefjcyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked a room here based on mostly positive TripAdvisor reviews. When we first arrived, we were disappointed by the appearance--it has a very humble exterior and a tiny, plain lobby. The narrow, somewhat dingy hallway leading to our fourth-floor room was even more dispiriting, and we fought back fears that we had been misled into booking a subpar hotel. All of these misgivings vanished as soon as we opened the door to our room. Slightly offbeat decor but lovely, spacious, and comfortable, immaculately clean, and, best of all, a huge wall-length window overlooking trees and picturesque rooftops. I was not feeling well when we arrived and spent most of a day curled up in a sweet reading chair next to this window with my Kindle--heavenly and very therapeutic. The staff was warm and friendly (especially the funny, down-to-earth manager, who I thought had to be from New York but actually hails from Toronto) and the location in upper Vieux Quebec, just a few blocks from the Frontenac, was perfect. I asked about the wonderful window in our room and was told it was due to a quite inexpensive upgrade I had requested when booking the trip. Best money I ever spent! If you are looking for a well located, affordable, and surprisingly charming place to stay in Old Quebec, the Champlain is definitely worthy of your consideration.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wordworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 5 days at this great hotel in the middle of Festival d'été de Québec.
Despite hordes of people the staff was most helpful. location was far enough away from the festival and from the tourist area that it was peaceful but easy to reach all of the activities.
recommend it highly and we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms are nice sized. get a suite if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g_young27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the place we will stay when we are in Quebec City. It was a slice of Paris in Canada. The staff was friendly and tolerated my attempts at French with patience and good humor. The on site parking was a god send and it is central to all the sites in the old part of the city. Our only problem was getting there because of the constantly changing street names and one way street directions. But that "stress" only makes arrival at the hotel so very comforting. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just be happy they have room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byzantine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

OK, I'm giving this hotel a 4 stars - and it has everything to do with the hotel itself and nothing to do with the staff, which I found to be just tolerable. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, close enough to walk to everything, yet tucked away on a fairly quiet street. The rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds, a decent-sized bathroom and a mini-fridge. They stock the bathrooms for two people, even if you have booked a room with two queens for four people. So we did have to keep bothering Housekeeping for more towels - each day. Breakfast was very good, with the usual breads, cereals,etc, but with an additional hot dish each day (crepes, quiches, etc.).
The staff: I did notice that some people were treated very well, so it's not as though they weren't friendly or helpful, they just choose who to be friendly and helpful to. We are Americans who don't speak French, and I feel this had something to do with it. I chose to ignore it and enjoy my stay and not worry that we weren't acknowledged as others were. Bottom line is that the hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Up and down and sideways through the often one way streets amongst mass confusion and construction (......and we had a GPS!), we arrived in front of the hotel and missed our only opportunity for parking, a sign that said 10 mnt parking on a "one way street ", filled with traffic caused by a detour. The polite people behind us backed up to let us parallel park, whew! We crossed the street and entered the hotel into a very tight lobby area. We checked in, no bellman, We carried our luggage across the street into the hotel. Handed our keys to a valet who parked our car for $20.00 overnight. The bellman who took our bags from the lobby to the room were the women at the front desk who check us in. The check in process is very professional. The rooms are much nicer in person than in the pictures on the website and are immaculately kept. Our room window literally looked at a brick wall and a window looking back at us that we could touch if we leaned out our window! All of that being said, we absolutely loved this hotel! Our last trip we stayed at Auberge St. Antoine (rated #1 trip advisor..... for forever). Hotel Champlain was quiet, comfortable, impeccable, and in a fabulous location (about 5 mnt walk to Chateau Frontenac, the city center). Beds are sooo comfortable. They have this amazing free coffee, espresso, chocolate machine in the lobby with heated cups! They serve breakfast everyday until 11:00am. Breakfast is served in a small room. The food is so well thought out and such a complete breakfast with a wonderful variety. Homemade quiche, hard boiled eggs, fresh baked croissants, fresh baked breads, homemade yogurt, homemade jams, tons of cereal choices, real china and real silverware......and did I mention the amazing coffee machine?? This hotel is the little engine that could!! They have made the most of everything that they have to offer. We did have help from an actual bellman when we left and they had our car pulled right up on the grass in front of the hotel, very easy exit! I just booked a second stay for our son next weekend. This will be our GO TO hotel in Quebec City from now on. Oh, make sure you book a reservation for your car when you book the room. The space is very limited. They offer Free Wi Fi as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lioness6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing