We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hideaway”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hideaway”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

You could easily overlook Le Champlain, its facade is very discreet, but that would be a mistake. Inside, a warm welcome, well-appointed rooms, and more await. My husband and I have stayed in many accommodations in Quebec City since we started coming in the early eighties. Le Champlain has become a favorite hotel because of its superb location, appealing amenities and fine value. We recently stayed 4 nights during Winter Carnival in the hotel's suite with kitchenette. It was great to have a big closet to tuck away all of our bulky winter gear, a comfy couch and chairs to lounge in before the atmospheric electric fireplace, a super-luxe king bed in its own alcove, a nice bathroom and a cooking/dining area to have our indoor picnics and, on top of that, two big windows to let in the morning sun with stunning views onto the old city rooftops, including the iconic Chateau Frontenac and (if you lean out a bit) the Edifice Price. We were blessed with great weather, so we were out taking advantage of live music events, but had we been inclined to stay in our nest, we would have enjoyed the large flat-screen TV and DVD player in the suite. We did make good use of the bedside iPod dock. As others have mentioned, a changing selection of help-yourself breakfast is available off the lobby to have in the pleasant dining rooms or take up. We definitely took advantage of the marvelous magic espresso-cappuccino-hot chocolate machine downstairs too---just the thing for the start, middle or end of the day. From Le Champlain it's an easy walk to the Plains of Abraham, the main site of Carnival activities and to shopping and any number of great restaurants and several market places. We hopefully managed to burn off all of the calories we consumed by making numerous jaunts between Upper and Lower Towns. We had reserved a parking space on site, so it was super-convenient to load and unload during arrival and departure and also when we took a side trip one day to go hiking at Cap Tourmente. All of the personnel made us feel as if we were coming and going from our own home - albeit one with service! When we were out one day, we met a local couple who asked where we were staying. They were familiar with the location, which they agreed is stellar and inquired if the hotel was "clean," should they need to make a recommendation to friends. Our reply? Clean is only the beginning; Le Champlain sparkles in every way. It is a true find and we hope to find ourselves back many times in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    589
    108
    21
    15
See reviews for
375
1,114
77
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here January 31 to February 2, 2014. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful in answering questions about how to get to places. It is located in the old city and within walking distance of great eating, shopping and sightseeing. The room was very comfortable and they provide a great continental breakfast which is extensive in its choices. The coffee machine in the sitting area was great to come back to after being out in the cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel provides the charm of a European like experience with personal care, (even guided me into parking spot) and excellent restaurant information. Most all employees suffered through my poor French and with willing smiles, helped my wife and I in English. The Le Petite Dejuener is excellent for included breakfast,
Monsieur Patza

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent our wedding anniversary in Quebec and book this hotel for our stay. On arrival, we were upgraded to a room with a view and received a special gift for our anniversary! The location is great - within walking distance to everything (except the Ice Hotel, if you want to make a side trip). Free breakfast, free coffee all day and free wi-fi also. The staff is very accommodating. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Champlain from January 31 to February 2 2014 and we could not have asked for a better experience! The hotel is very clean, lovely room with attentive and friendly staff. The location is perfect, close to local attractions, great restaurants and filled with old world charm. The continental breakfast was wonderful with a selection of pastries, hot items every day and wonderful homemade jams. We will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencervillefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A very warm welcome; spacious room; excellent location; convenient parking; and a generous breakfast buffet made for a delightful stay that exceeded expectations. Will definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkarass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a very cozy little hotel, located right smack in the middle of the fortified city. You can't be better situated than this, walking distance from the best croissants, the best views, the best shopping streets, it's just perfect. You'll be walking to visit the Chateau, the Dufferin terrasse and its awesome view, easy access to the Petit Champlain using the Funiculaire. You'll walk to visit Notre Dame basilica, the old Séminaire de Québec and so much more.
If you book ahead of time, ask if they have any courtyard parking spots still available. ITs a 50 room hotel but they only have 20 parking spots. There is municipal parking nearby, but having a spot right there juste makes things easy.
Rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is included and is delicious. If there is only one comment to be made, the elevator is probably the slowest one I've ever taken in my life.
Take the stairs if you can.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow, but upper levels have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 101 in Quebec City
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing