We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Carnaval 2013 - Returning for 2014”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Winter Carnaval 2013 - Returning for 2014”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here during the 2013 winter carnaval - it is located very close (few blocks) to the main entrance of the carnaval. Rooms are very clean and the hotel staff is very kind. We actually bought a soap dispensor to remember the place. Location is ideal for old city (upper section) and plenty of food near by. We had a great stay and look forward to returning for the 2014 winter carnaval. We booked the room already. Our SUV was a bit to big for the parking garage. (no big deal they figured out other arrangements - we parked on the sidewalk next to the hotel lol)

Great hotel - kind staff - easy access -

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhMaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    605
    112
    22
    15
See reviews for
394
1,135
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A pleasant comfortable and quiet room with dramatic views, and the hotel's excellent situation in town made this a great place to stay. We were a little surprised that there was no help offered with our bags when we arrived, but the desk staff were friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel are small, but excellent coffee and tea in the lobby was a boon. Breakfast was on the heavy side. We would use it again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Le Champlain Hotel is a perfect base for exploring Quebec City. Pretty much everything you'd want to see in the city is within easy walking distance: the hotel itself is in the Haute-Ville (upper) section of Vieux-Quebec, and just a 10 minute walk from the Basse-Ville (lower and older) section. The Plains of Abraham, Chateau Frontenac, Citadel, etc., as well as many excellent restaurants are also easy walks. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful; our room was quite large (2 queen beds, sitting area, gas fireplace & rooftop view of the Frontenac); breakfast (included in room rate) was just adequate, but enough to start the day. The espresso station in the cozy reading room off the lobby is a plus. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friend recommended Hotel Champlain and we are really pleased that they did. Typically we stay in larger properties but wanted to try a smaller hotel while in Quebec City.....and we were not dissapointed. The locaton is superb, the guestroom although not very large was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast ample for a continental. We would definitetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Close to all the tourist spots of the Old Town. Room was small but comfortable. Great espresso machine. Had better coffee than what they put out for breakfast buffet. Breakfast food was adequate, but a bit monotonous after three days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at the Champlain hotel last week. It was just ok. It need to be renovated. The beds are due to be changed. The door of the bathroom creeks so every time someone goes to the bathroom at night, it wakes up the other person. The breakfast was not great. We ended up going for breakfast at a restaurant the second morning even though breakfast is included. It was very clean. It's a simple hotel room. I would not go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Sensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very convenient location, personable and helpful staff, Euro style rooms, meaning a bit small but quality. If I were to stay inside the walls of Old Quebec City again, I would consider staying here a second time.

Room Tip: Valet parking option as of this writing was $23 per day. Limited parking available at the hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing