We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great hotel!”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and great hotel!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friend recommended Hotel Champlain and we are really pleased that they did. Typically we stay in larger properties but wanted to try a smaller hotel while in Quebec City.....and we were not dissapointed. The locaton is superb, the guestroom although not very large was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast ample for a continental. We would definitetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    589
    108
    21
    15
See reviews for
375
1,114
77
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Close to all the tourist spots of the Old Town. Room was small but comfortable. Great espresso machine. Had better coffee than what they put out for breakfast buffet. Breakfast food was adequate, but a bit monotonous after three days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at the Champlain hotel last week. It was just ok. It need to be renovated. The beds are due to be changed. The door of the bathroom creeks so every time someone goes to the bathroom at night, it wakes up the other person. The breakfast was not great. We ended up going for breakfast at a restaurant the second morning even though breakfast is included. It was very clean. It's a simple hotel room. I would not go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Sensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very convenient location, personable and helpful staff, Euro style rooms, meaning a bit small but quality. If I were to stay inside the walls of Old Quebec City again, I would consider staying here a second time.

Room Tip: Valet parking option as of this writing was $23 per day. Limited parking available at the hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We absolutely LOVED staying here while on our honeymoon in Quebec City. The hotel is modern but surrounded by historic buildings. It is right next to where the "Crimes in New France" tour meets. One of the hotel staff members was nice enough to talk to us about the tour and even call in to set it up for us.Very helpful staff, VERY nice rooms, and a 24 hour espresso and latte machine. What else do you need?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Perfectly located within the fortified old city, 2 minutes to the Chateau Frontenac, restaurants and shopping strips. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was huge! No coffee/tea provided in room, but available downstairs 24hours. Breakfast varied everyday and was great - homemade and healthy options. Free WIFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved our recent getaway to Quebec City, thanks to Le Champlain Hotel. This quaint affordable hotel was ideal from courteous staff to the convenient parking, from the spacious queen room to the delicious continental breakfast. The location is superb as we were able to get the most from our perfect two day getaway. We'll definitely recommend Le Champlain Hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fikistein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 101 in Quebec City
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing