We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient to everything.”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Old Quebec city. Clean, comfortable and so convenient to everything.....park your car for the duration of your visit! Very nice Continental breakfasts with tourtiere meat pies some mornings....yum! Coffee maker in lobby for residents ... latte, cafe mocha or regular coffee available 24hrs. Would definitely stay there again. Friendly, helpful staff who are multilingual.

Room Tip: All are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

There are many hotels with similar locations and probably equal amenities but what we found the difference to be was the staff. Their friendliness and helpfulness were exceptional. They not just tolerated my attempts at speaking French, they helped me improve. No question was left unanswered. As for the hotel itself, everything was merveilleux!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kchummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently returned from a 4 day trip to Quebec City for our anniversary. We stayed at the Le Champlain Hotel in Old Quebec. It was a great trip. We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very conveniently located in the Old City on a quiet end of Rue St-Anne, just 2 blocks from the wall. Onsite parking for a fee is available which is a huge plus in an old city like Quebec. The hotel itself was very, very quiet. Even though the hotel was fully booked through out our stay, we never saw or heard the other guests unless we were in the lobby.
We arrived to find a complementary bottle of champagne chilling in our room, a nice, thoughtful touch. All of the staff were very pleasant and are fluent in both French and English. Our king sized bed was hands down the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. Not too hard, not too soft, with a nice foam topper. We had a third floor room on the street side with a pleasant view. There are a total of 5 floors in the building, so I imagine that a room on a higher floor would have an even better view. There is a complementary continental breakfast offered, which was only fair, but the automatic cappuccino machine available 24/7 in the lobby is amazing. The hotel itself was originally an apartment building built in the 1960's then later converted to a hotel, so the architecture is a little different than most of the older hotels and inns in the Old City. It's not a negative, it's just a different vernacular.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we are ever in Quebec again. The only thing that prevents me from assigning a 5-star rating is the breakfast, which was only fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, 3rd or above. Some of the rooms on the side only have a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in May 2013 for 2 nights. The hotel is an older style hotel which I liked. Upon arrival the reception was very friendly and welcoming. The parking lot is very small but they managed to squeeze our vehicle in a spot where the vehicle could not be moved until we checked out. We did not mind as we were not planning on driving anywhere. Why would you in Old Quebec? Our room was well kept and very clean. The bed in our room was amazing. The pillows were very nice too. Since it's an older building, the elevator is very slow. The sitting area on the main floor is tiny and the furniture not very comfortable. The coffee machine is available any time and makes really good cappuccinos. We did not have breakfast at this hotel. It's a continental style breakfast and did not look very appetizing. Not much to choose from.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again. As long as the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and quiet and the service is good, that's all I really need. This met all expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while visiting and touring Quebec City. Staff was superb. The hotel is very conveniently located, and is just across the street from a very interesting, but not well-known tour. The Morrin Centre is an old jail, like really old, hundreds of years. The site later became a college, but many of the cells with their graffiti remain intact. During the period the building was a college, the chemistry lab they used is also still intact, with a periodic table that bears no resemblance to today's and a cool darkroom. Once the college was closed, the building became the site of an English book library. Definitely worth taking the tour.

Anyway, the hotel was very adequate and interesting. The hot beverage machine is a great touch, as is the eclectic breakfast with homemade fruit crisps. Also appreciated is the later service for breakfast, till 10 am on weekdays. Nice being able to sleep in. What prevented the last star has been mentioned in other reviews. There definitely needs to be some way to incorporate safes in the room or at the front desk. We also were told to leave our belongings in the room with the do not disturb on the door. We were NOT comfortable with this and ended up schlepping stuff around the city, also not that safe to do.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nrlDetroit_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful staff large well presented rooms lovely free breakfast.
The rooms are different to the normal, large , two tv s etc.
The staff were very accommodating and informative. Pleasant change after more formal hotels.

Room Tip: Parking in Quebec is an issue but we arrived and left by train. Tours picked up from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Champlain in Old Quebec following a cruise for a two night stay. Staff was very helpful and welcoming - storing our luggage safely until check-in. The lobby has free internet and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and complimentary coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the lobby with heated cups. Our room was spacious with comfortable bed and state of the art shower.
Taxis were readily available but we could walk to most restaurants and scenic attractions.
We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the front street was quiet - friends had a rear facing room and liked watching the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing