We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem, super location, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and beautiful breakfast.”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little gem, super location, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and beautiful breakfast.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel met our needs perfectly. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful with restaurant and attraction suggestions. The breakfast spread was a great surprise.... Expresso machine, crepes, fruit, cheese, eggs, banana bread, bread pudding and more. Wonderful visit !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    585
    107
    21
    15
See reviews for
372
1,106
77
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After staying several days at Loews Le Concorde, we wanted a little more local color. Found a great deal at Hotel Champlain, in the heart of the Old City. Our view of a brick wall from our 3rd floor room didn't compare but the continental breakfast made up for it, as did the free WiFi and the free expresso machine in the lobby. Very conveniently located to rue Saint-Jean and the sights of the Old City. Reasonable on-site parking was a plus. Front desk staff most friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look out on a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmckphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice location, near from everything and from the Chateau Frontenac. The room had some modern touches, but the bathroom ceiling was leaking and the room seemed to be in the middle of renovations. Unfortunately, we travel there at the time of renovations, so hallways were all covered up with sheets and their was tools and paints everywhere. The staff was friendly in the daytime, but when we arrived, around 11pm, the night concierge was not really helpfull and he did't no about what package we had, and what was included or not.
The breakfast was in a really beautiful little room, and was really good.
The only thing that we had been concerned about, was that when housekeeping cleaned our room, they let our door open all day.
We have talk to the front desk about it, and they didn't seem to be suprised... Well ! I was !
I will recommend this hotel as a good quality-price range.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed her in August 2013. We were happy with our location, just a level 3 block walk to Chateau Frontenac. Good-sized room, excellent European breakfast, wonderful cappuccino machine available 24 hours. Very clean, nice tub and shower. Front desk very helpful in arranging for taxi to airport early Sunday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, and puts everything within walking distance. The lobby has a complimentary cappuccino machine, which we visited often, and it makes the best hot chocolate I have ever had! The breakfast was included, and it was pretty decent compared to some free breakfasts that I've seen. The only real down-side here, was that the bed was like a plank. It was so hard that I kept on waking up in the night with numb legs, arms, or hips. But the room was a good size, pretty tastefully decorated, and full of character.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed for 5 days with my husband and 2 children ages 9 and 5. We stayed in a 2 queen sized bed room. It was very clean and well maintained. I loved having a small fridge in the room for a few groceries. The space was large enough with a gas fireplace, a large TV and DVD player. My only complaint about the room was our bed was not very comfortable but the kids didn't seem to notice. Be warned the parking is a tiny space. We had a mini van and had some difficulty with our first assigned spot but were switched to a slightly larger spot once available. Do book your parking in advance. There is not enough for everyone. This hotel included a continental breakfast daily that also included some hot dishes. It was the perfect way to start the day. I love the free expresso machine in the lobby! The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It's located in Old Quebec city and well within walking distance to all attractions such as Terrace de Champlain, main shopping streets, Chateaux Frontenac, Lower Old Ville, Le Cirque de Soleil, La Citadelle and numerous museums. I would absolutely stay here again!! I hear the beds are in the process of being replaced so that leaves me with no complaints. Definitely a family trip to remember.

Room Tip: We had room 24 with a little view of an apple garden and the top of the Chateaux Frontenac which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonFamily0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was advertised on Hotwire as a 3.5 star hotel. Not so. Three star at best. Many amenities that are common in 3.5 star U.S. hotels are not to be found at this hotel. There are no laundry bags in the closet, no bar or restaurant on premises, bathroom door slightly warped and required extra effort to fully close. Hotel ran out of hot water for several hours. Room had musty odor. The location was excellent and the bathroom sink is very contemporary. The free continental breakfast is good and includes an expresso machine along with regular coffee. Two bicycles are provided and the first 2 hours are rent free. Be advised that hotels in this area do not have half star ratings. They are either 1, 2, 3, or 4 stars. The rating is clearly posted next to the entrance.This hotel has a plaque stating 3 stars. Parking is $20 a day and your designated "space" could be the sidewalk in front of the hotel depending on occupancy. Parking needs to be reserved and is assigned first come, first served. This entire area is beautiful, clean, safe, and provides many historic attractions and restaurants/bars. I did not notice any panhandlers or shady looking groups. In four days, I saw one police car and no police on foot. Everyone seems polite and respectful. Grafitti is rare. Litter almost nonexistent. Great military history in this area. Parks are beautiful and abundant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drifter9143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 101 in Quebec City
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing