We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesntcpjap”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pleasant and helpful staff - good breakfast.
We speak no French but with the help of a map and the staff at the front desk was able to enjoy the sites and restaurants in Quebec City. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Elevator slow - pick a lower floor then you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpjap i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed three nights in July, and it was a good stay!

If you are looking for some place close to all the main attractions with nice room to stay in but to not overpay for service you wont use - i'd say it's ideal.
I was coming to Quebec by train, so just 10 min walk from train station was great. Room is big, bed is comfy, the room was looking at the side alley with nearby building real close but since i was there pretty much to sleep and blinds are real good, i didnt care. But if the view matters for you - check where your windows will face.
Reception stuff was great. housekeeping guys are great too - we werent disturbed even once but always had clean room when we needed it. :)
Breakfast room is a bit smallish, but we still had our chance to eat
The staff there was great too!

And i was able to keep my luggage at reception for several hours after checkout before the train, so i could enjoy couple more hours of roaming around Quebec :)

So if you are not after pools, gyms and stuff - nice place for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazyAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Well located, the staff was excellent at this small hotel. There is parking next to the hotel and walking in the walls of the old city is convenient from here. Breakfast is delightful. Service is excellent. Rooms are just fine and the price was more reasonable than some of the others, though near $200 per night after all the taxes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susantobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night. It was a nice location and very central to the various parts of Quebec City. The reception staff was not very welcoming when we arrived, but later on they were okay. It was raining outside, and they didn't have any umbrellas for the guests to borrow so that was a little annoying, we had to go purchase one from a nearby store. The room was clean and we had a mini fridge so that was nice. Breakfast was nice, I may stay here again but not for a lengthy stay. I don't think it is worth the $230 room rate. I'd rather stay at Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great hotel. It would be easily a five star if it had more facilities. However, if you dont need a gym or pool then look no further. The rooms are really good and have everything you want. Breakfast is included and has two hot (warm) selections and a variety of cold. Although not extensive it got us going each day. Breakfast room is small but I didnt see anyone waiting for a table in peak season. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great being in the middle of old Quebec. Our room, 51, overlooked the city.
Only slight downside, and this is not unique, is that an earlier check in would have been appreciated. However our room was upgraded so please dont take this as a major gripe.
I dont rave too often about hotels but this is a really nice place to stay. Oh, take a book in the lift as its a bit slow.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tallguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms are big and with a lot of space: pretty ok also for 4 people. Reception people quite kind and fully available. From location stand point not more than 5 minutes walking distance from old city and turistic area. All in all a good choice but not great. Hotel and room are old and the moquette in the room is not fresh . Note sure price performance is ok

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We were in Quebec City July 3-5. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the old part of the city. Reserve your parking spot early. I booked online a few months before our stay. The breakfast is good and there is variety for the two mornings we were there. The two ladies cleaning up in the breakfast area were very pleasant. We and the other couple we were traveling with we're put in two rooms in the old section so there was no elevator. We had to lug our suitcases up the flight of stairs but fortunately we had smaller carry-ons. Our friends had larger suitcases and the husbands had to haul them up. That area would not be for an older couple. Our room was very pleasant and had air conditioning. The window areas needed repainting (much needed) but they had a pleasant view. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $96 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing