We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-rate hotel”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The reviews here definitely made it easy for us to choose Le Champlain Hotel. Our family stayed here for four nights and it was certainly worth it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was superb! Love the complimentary hot chocolate! The room was spacious and clean, especially the bathroom. Location is walking distance to Chateau Frontenac and Notre-Dame Basilica. I can't think of anything we liked the least. We will surely book another 4 nights here, or maybe 5, next time we visit Qeubec.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your long stay with us. At the hotel Champlain, our staff team is always pleased to welcome guests and assist them.

Because we liked to take care of our guests, it is a pleasure for us to offer the complimentary continental breakfast. We also offer a free access to a coffee bar 24/7 in the lobby. This way you can have a great breakfast and have all the energy to visit the city.

We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. I am very glad that you observe it. It is important for us that you can be comfortable in our hotel.

I want to thank you again for your great comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your next long trip in Quebec City.

Best regards,
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,023)
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We purchased a WagJag Jaunt to stay in Old Quebec City at Le Champlain Hotel. Location was perfect, walking distance to all the sites and heart of Old QC yet very quiet at night-time. The staff were excellent in helping with assiting in helping to direct us, to finding information for us, always asked how our day went. The free cappicino & expresso maker was so wonderful and we lounged around in the lobby everyday and night having our coffee. The breakfast is more of a continental breakfast. The morning staff were able to set our group of 6 up in a special area so we could sit together each morning. The rooms are standard but we enjoyed out free sparkling wine and there is a fridge in the room too. As time came closer to our stay I received frequent emails to ask when we would like to reserve our dinners, to remind me to reserve a parking spot and general other information. Very, very attentive. I would highly recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

The WagJag Jaunt promotion was a really great opportunity to discover the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed it. Located in Sainte-Anne Street, the hotel Champlain is really well located; in a quiet street in the heart of the Old Quebec City.

Our staff team is always pleased to welcome people and assist them. They like to share good places to go and hear your experience at the place they recommended. They like to have guest’s opinions to help other people in recommendation.

At the hotel Champlain, we strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. Our free coffee bar 24/7 is an example of the services that we offer. We have also free Wi-Fi, free local calls, parking on site (limited places, it is important to reserve it in advance and the price is not included with the room) and free computer access in the lobby.

I want to thank you again for your charming comments and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Le Champlain Hotel is a lovely place to stay in a lovely city! All the staff were friendly - especially the wonderful breakfast staff! Rooms were cozy and well appointed. The location is great - walking distance to most of the sites Quebec City has to offer. The complimentary coffee/tea facilities in the lobby are an added bonus - it was lovely to relax in the lounge area with a cup of tea on a rainy afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your great review.

At the hotel Champlain, our staff team is always pleased to welcome guest and assist them. We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. Our goal is that our guests have a great experience. Located in the heart of the Old Quebec, our hotel is a really great destination to discover the city and relax. Everything near and you can walk everywhere without problem.

Thank you again for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great value. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Out of our window we could see the lovely view of the Chateau Frontenac and the Ursuline Monastery. We got this trip through Wag Jag and the amenities proved to be top flight. The breakfast room and choices were a grade above most "Continental " breakfasts. The coffee machine choices are to die for. The fact that there was parking on site (reserved in advance) was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your charming review.

The Old Quebec City is a really beautiful place. From some of our rooms, it is possible to enjoy a great view of the area. The Wag Jag promotion was a really great opportunity that you got to discover our establishment and I am glad that you enjoyed it. We strive to offer services; the free breakfast and the parking on site (not included in the room price and limited place, we recommend to reserve it in advance) are examples of what we offer.

I want to thank you again for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Champlain which I bought through a WagJag vacation deal. Was very pleased with our room for its cleanliness and decoration. Free parking and an excellent continental breakfast was just the icing on the cake. The hotel is so centrally located that it is easy to get to all attractions via foot. Will definitely stay here again, great value for the money. Thanks for making our mini break enjoyable!

Room Tip: Don't forget to reserve your parking spot before you arrive.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your charming review,

The Jaunt Wag Jag promotion was a really nice deal : two nights stay, free parking (normally the price is $16,52+taxes per night), bottle of sparkling wine in the room, two cocktails and one fourth course dinner at the restaurant Le Pain Benin.

At the Champlain hotel, we strive to give comfort, quality, cleanliness and service. It is very important for us that our guests can have a great stay. In the heart of Old Quebec, our hotel is very well located. You can walk without problem everywhere.

Thank you very much for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our stay at the Le Champlain Hotel was very beautiful. The one fly in the ointment was that the elevator was broken the entire 5 days we were there....they were working on it the entire 5 days. This meant for us that we had to walk up to the third floor several times a day.....I'm still catching my breath! BUT! The personnel there did their very best to make it up to us with extra upgrades and helping us carry our bags up the stairs. That aside, the rooms were very beautiful, beds comfortable, overall lovely place to be. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Quebec City.

Room Tip: upper rooms have great views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakingChanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

First, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the elevator. Unfortunately it was a situation out of our control and an immediate assistance was necessary. In case of problems like that, we do all the possible to make sure that the rest of your stay will be great. We assign rooms in the lower floor that we can, we do some upgrades and etc.

I am glad that, even the elevator’s problem, you enjoyed your stay. Our staffs are always present to assist your guests when they need assistance and they are always pleased to welcome people. We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and service.

I want to thank you again for your nice comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and the next time the elevator will work.

Best regards,
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First of all, YES, stay HERE. I traveled from USA for a Respiratory Conference, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND---** Le Hotel Champlain. **
Favorites: CLEAN, SAFE, Great Staff, FREE tasty BREAKFAST, FREE WIFI, Location to points of interest, the expresso machine in the lobby (free, push of a button, espresso, cappucino, hot chocolate, teas, etc)--mmmmmm so convenient.
Also (this is probably not so important) but the men who worked the desk were so handsome :)
The women were just as beautiful. Everyone was highly professional, helpful, informative.
My room had a fireplace and a great view of Parliament. The rooms were very quiet with blackout curtains.

Dislikes: I cannot think of anything---AT ALL

Room Tip: Rooms have blackout curtain, AC/Heat is more than adequate, my room had a fireplace. I booked online...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rolltideguy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your very dynamic review. It is truly appreciated.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel. We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and services. In the middle of the Old Quebec City, we have the perfect location to go everywhere by walk. The cappuccino machine is really great and we are always pleased to see how our guests like it. Our staffs work very hard to give the best service as they can and I am glad that you were satisfied of that.

I want to thank you again for your nice comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards.
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing