We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, cozy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, cozy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for two nights in January, rooms are very cozy, staff was friendly and informative, breakfast was included and it was not bad, free WiFi which is apparently not always free in some hotels in Canada so that was a plus as well, and of course great location. Hotel located right in the Old Quebec, you don't have to take your car you can just explore on foot the Old City. Parking is not free, but considerable cheep compared to other hotels in Canada $18 a day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the hotel Champlain, we want to offer comfort, quality, cleanliness and service. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guests and they can assist you at any moment. For your comfort, we offer free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast in a buffet way, free local calls and parking on site. As you mentioned, the parking is in extra charge ($16,52 + taxes) and we recommend strongly reserving in advance because there are limited places.

Again I want to thank you for your good comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    427
    93
    17
    14
See reviews for
261
780
59
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, and it was a very enjoyable experience. As many people have noted, the hotel is located in Old Quebec, and we basically parked there and spent the next few days exploring on foot. It's pretty easy to get anywhere in the Old City on foot, so this was great.
The staff were extremely friendly, and answered any questions we had.
The coffee machine is, as others have noted, great. I recommend the mochachino, and the hot chocolate is also quite good. It broke down for a little bit on our second day, but they had it working again by the evening. They also have tea, and cookies set out in the evening, which is a nice touch. The room with the computer and coffee machine is very comfortable and warm, and it was nice to sit by the fireplace and read for a while during a snowstorm.
We stayed in a queen room, which was quite big and well furnished. My wife and I thought the bed was very comfortable, but if you don't like hard beds you should request the featherbed top. They should advertise this amenity more; we didn't see anything about it at the hotel. It was a little dark, but the furnishings go with the atmosphere of the place, and we thought it was nice.
We were on the third floor, and we had a partial view of the chateau, but if you want a good view of it you'll have to stay in nicer rooms on the upper levels.
The water pressure in the room is really nice; I haven't had pressure that good in a long time.
Breakfast was quite good; there is a reasonable selection with toast, bagels, juice, good coffee, ham pate, eggs and other basic foods. I thought it was a very good spread, especially compared to what is often served in continental breakfasts.
All in all, a very nice hotel, and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honjooshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great comments.

As you mentioned, the hotel Champlain is located in the heart of the Old Quebec; all the attractions are at less than 10 minutes walk. I am glad to see that you were able to visit the old town and let your car parked at the hotel. It is very important to know that we have only a few places available; we recommend strongly to reserve a place in advance. The charge for the parking is in extra; $16,52 plus taxes.

Our staff team is always pleased to welcome guests and assist them. We want that our guests can have a memorable stay. We are pleased to offer free access to the coffee bar 24/7 in the lobby. I agree with you, the Mokaccino is really great; in fact it is my favorite too. Sometimes it appends that the coffee maker needs some maintenance. We do all the best to fix it as soon as possible. This winter, during the holidays, we offered some cookies. It is a special attention to show how we are pleased to welcome people during that period of the year. For us, the important is that you can feel like at home.

We strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. The rooms are bigger than some other hotels. For more convenience, we have free Wi-Fi, little fridge in the rooms and free local calls. If you want a room with a view, you have to reserve a superior room or a higher category. As we have all the kinds of rooms on every floor, we do not guarantee specific room number, floor or view. We just guarantee the kind of room that you reserved, but you can let us a note in your reservation to tell us your preference and we will try to honor it.

The breakfast is included with the room. Instead of offering a regular continental breakfast; we decided to make it in a buffet way. Also, we decided to add one or two different hot meals every day for more variety.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I was very pleased to read your review; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I love this hotel. It's the second time we have visited Quebec City and decided to stay at the Le Champlain Hotel again. We can not say enough...great location, perfect size room, great location, amazing breakfast and very good price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARJ-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review,

I am very glad to see that it is your second time in our hotel for your second trip in Quebec. We like to see people coming back. We strive to give quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. Reading your review gives us the feeling that we did our job well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back for your third trip.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Champlain and have very good memories to take home. The staff was excellent, the room was cozy with a beautiful view of the Hotel Frontenac and the breakfasts were great. We especially liked the cappucino/espresso that was free to guests 24/7. It was great to come back to after being out in the cold. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeAndMyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

Reading your review makes us very proud. We work very hard to make sure that our guests will have a memorable stay with us. Our staff team is always ready to welcome guests and if you need assistance they will be pleased to help you. We strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. The free access of our coffee bar 24/7, the complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free local calls and large bed (we have only Queen or King sizes beds) are an example of what we offer for your comfort.

Thank you again for your great comments; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Champlain the week before Christmas and it was just as nice as the first time a few years ago. The room was pleasant and the breakfasts were good. If anything the staff is even more helpful and nice. This is a small nice hotel in the middle of the upper old city. We love it and recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpcsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for your nice review and for sharing your experience.

I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your second stay in our establishment. We strive to offer the best experience to our guests. The complimentary continental breakfast is a great way to start the day. For your convenience, we offer it in a buffet way; like that there is more choice and we have one or two hot meals that we change every day. Our staff team is always pleased to welcome you and gives some assistance.

I want to thank you again for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Dec 17-22, 2012 and enjoyed it very much. We are english speaking, but had no problems at all with language here. The front desk staff were exceptional and extremely helpful with all of our requests. The location is perfect, in the heart of Old Quebec, close to everything. We did not have a car and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The Frontenac is a 5-minute walk. Our train did not leave until 8pm and we were welcome to leave our luggage locked up at the hotel once we checked out of our room. The breakfast is fine for getting your day started - toast, bagels, eggs, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fruit, banana bread, coffee, juice. The espresso machine was my favourite part, many choices available 24/7! We had a superior room with a king bed - very, very nice; spacious and an awesome bathroom including a full size glass door shower. This will be our hotel of choice for our next visit to Old Quebec! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Responsable relations clients at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your good comments.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your 5 nights stay in our establishment. We like to welcome people and we are pleased to assist our guests at any moment. As we are in the Old Quebec City, there are a lot of people coming from other countries. Our staff team is able to speak English; as you mentioned, if you do not speak French there is no problem at all.

Our hotel is really well located; all the attractions are at less than ten minutes walking. If you want to visit the city before the check in time or after the check out; we will be pleased to keep your bags in the luggage room.

For your comfort, we offer the continental breakfast from 7.00 to 11.00 a.m. We change the menu every day to give you some choice. With that breakfast, a great coffee is the best thing to have; for that reason we have an espresso machine 24/7 in the lobby.

We strive to offer quality, comfort, cleanliness and service. Our superior rooms are cozy and just perfect to relax and have a view of the city. It is important to note that the major part of our superior rooms have Queen beds; only two have a King one.

Thank you again for your great review. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Le Champlain Hotel in Quebec City over Christmas! This is a modern, clean, friendly hotel with great amenities and location all at a great price. I booked directly through the hotel website and received 40% off a 4-night stay. The room was quiet with a nice view of a school yard (?) behind the hotel, covered in snow of course. The breakfast is well done. Our favorite part of all was the coffee bar in the lobby! If you are going to book here and need parking, be sure to request a parking reservation it when you book. I didn't realize this at the time I booked online. I put off calling to request it and then couldn't get one (my fault, not theirs). There is a big, underground garage nearby that is very affordable though and we had no problem parking there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Responsable relations clients at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during Christmas time. We want that our guests can feel comfortable in our hotel, especially during that time of the year.

To start well the day, a good breakfast is important. For that, we give every morning a continental breakfast presented in a buffet way. Like that you have more choice and there are one or two hot meals that we change every day.

I am sorry that you were not able to have a parking place. As you mentioned, it is very important to reserve the parking in advance because we have limited places. Also, the charge is not included with the room.

Thank you again for your great comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#4 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#12 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing