We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD QUEBEC”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OLD QUEBEC”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in August 2012.Booked this hotel partly on these reviews. This hotel was only one we could find with onsite parking, and it was perfect.We did not move car all 3 days and walked everywhere Also were pleased to be given an upgraded room. Thank You. Staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet was basic. Our lack of french was not a problem anywhere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great review, it is appreciated.

The hotel Champlain is really well located in the Old Quebec City, you are at less than 5 minutes of the attractions, boutiques and restaurants. We are really lucky to have a parking directly at the hotel for 16,52$+taxes per night. But it is very important to reserve it in advance. It is nice that you were able to use it, even if you did not use it during your stay.

For the upgrade it is a pleasure. When we can do some, we do it without problem. But do not forget that sometimes it is not possible.

Our staff is always pleased to welcome people and for them there is no problem to speak in English. If you need assistance, they are always there for our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    549
    103
    19
    15
See reviews for
350
1,055
75
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was just so so. Location was excellent, walked all over Quebec from this location. We saw it all in two days. The breakfast buffet included was good, however the coffe machine was the best. We saved so much money not having to buy cappuccinos , teas or expressos , hot chocolate, etc and it was excellent...the coffee area could be better if you rearranged the book shelves and added more seating.was too crowded there.
Only complaint was the front desk didn't give us a wake up call and we had a 6 am flight... Not good at all......!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the city, the old Quebec city is a great place to visit. Also It is great that you enjoyed the breakfast and our coffee bar. I understand you when you say that the machine is the best thing, it is true.

I am a bit sad that you did not really like the room. We strive to give comfort and quality. I can understand that is not everyone who likes that kind of decoration. But for us, the important it that you were able to sleep well.

I was really surprised when I read that we forgot your wake up call. In general, our front desk team never forgets to program it. I am very sorry that it happened to you. We made the necessary to make sure that it will not happen again.

Thank you again for the time you took to write your review.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Champlain in October of this year. As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is conveniently located. Very friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The free breakfast was fine: crepes, toasts, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, fresh juice, etc. The free coffee in the lobby was an added bonus! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your great comments.

At the hotel Champlain we do all of our best to give quality, comfort and cleanliness. When we read reviews like yours, we feel that we made it well. Our staff is always present to welcome guest and give assistance.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and our great coffee machine. We will be pleased to welcome you back in our establishment.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife, college student-daughter and I spent a lovely three nights at the Hotel Champlain while enjoying Quebec City and the surrounding area. Our suite was fairly priced, very clean, and quite comfortable. The Champlain gave us the beauty and charm of the old city without the Frontenac price tag.
The staff was helpful and welcoming. The free breakfast was simple but fresh. Yogurt, fruits, fresh, home made bread, juice, cereal and oats.
The gratis coffee bar was convenient and afforded us delicious expresso, cappucinno, and hot tea.
We will gladly return to the Champlain. It offers stylish comfort, good value and a great location for exploring Vieux Quebec.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a view for a treat. Quebec is not loud, but instead a tranquil historic city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review.

I am glad to see that your family enjoyed the trip in our hotel and in our city. The hotel Champlain has a great location in a quiet street of the Old Quebec City.

Our staff always likes to welcome guests and they are pleased to assist you during the stay. We want that everyone feels comfortable and for that we offer free breakfast. As you mentioned, the breakfast is simple with everything that you need to start the day.

Again I am very glad that you saw the value of our establishment and we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Champlain. We were very happy with our accommodation - the room was large & clean with a pleasant view, comfortable king size bed, nicely furnished, flat-screen TV and air-con. The location was great being well situated in Old Quebec close to restaurants & shops. There is a cosy lounge area near the reception with free tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The hotel has complimentary wi-fi throughout. Breakfast, which is included, consisted of cheese, pate, oatmeal, yoghurt, choice of cereal, toast, pastries and on the days we were there we had waffles one day, fresh crepes the next and bread and butter pudding another day. Car parking was available at a small extra daily charge. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate it.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room. As I often say, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort. When we read reviews like yours, we feel that we reach our goal. It is important that our guests feel comfortable and for that reason every room has flat screen TV and air conditioner.

Our hotel is really well located. Everything is near and in a walking distance. We are in the heart of the Old Quebec City.

For the accommodations, as you mentioned, we have free Wi-Fi, free computer, free coffee bar, free breakfast and free local call. All those services are there to give you a great stay in our establishment. We have parking on site to ($), but it is better to reserve it in advance, because there are limited places.

I am glad that you enjoy the breakfast. It is hard to please to everyone, but like to know when people like it.

I want to thank you very much for your nice reviews and we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Walk in rate was great for a late October Saturday night. Great location. Looks dated from outside but the reception, the all day coffee station (free: cappuchino, mocha, hot chic, tea) and free wifi pc was great. Free breaky also lovely (toast , creton, bagel, banana bread, oh & watery oatmeal I think) nice options
Our room #16 is huge, 2 queen beds and a fireplace, tv etc.... Very comfortable. Quite when we were there. Nice polite staff. Couldn't complain. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingSuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you very much for your nice review, it is truly appreciated.

Sometimes walk-in rate is good, but in Quebec, you have to be careful with that. Some days all the hotels of the city can be full weeks in advance. You were lucky to have the walk in rate on a Saturday night and it is great.

Our suite rooms are very nice because, as you mentioned, it is very spacious rooms with two queen size beds. They are really comfortable. Also, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort to our guests.

Our staff is always pleased to welcome guest in our establishment and they are always available if you need assistance. Our coffee machine is a great advantage of the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed it. What is better than a good coffee to start the day? With a good breakfast it is perfect. It is nice that you took the time to take our breakfast and it is great because it is always included in the price with the room.

I want to thank you again for your really nice comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

October 2012. My girlfriend and I were lodging at Hotel Champlain in the Old Quebec Area. The hotel itself is very comfortable and pretty well located. It's the third time we lodged there in 2 years. The hotel's staff is alright. The only drawback we had is with the breakfast. We stayed at this hotel for 6 days (5 nights). Every morning, the breakfast was the exact same : (very) hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, toasts, some kind of white cheeze, bread pudding and a very very sweet apple sauce, room temperature orange juice and coffee. No fruit was ever served, either fresh or in some kind of salad. After 2 nights, we went out to find some variety for breakfast.

The hotel is clean and well located in the Old Quebec area. The price is slightly above average. The beds were good.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep late, ask for a room that isn't toward the elemantary school yard (just bey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Dom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,

First, I want to thank you for the time you took to write the review.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room and the service of our staff.

I am really sad to seed that you did not enjoy the breakfast. Normally, we try to change the menu every day. We are doing some research to know why it was not like that during your stay. It is important for us to join our guest's expectations. For that reason we considered some points that you said in your comments. Otherwise, you can feel free to contact us at any moment to let us know your constructive suggestion.

Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast.

Best regards,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing