We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Hotel Champlain”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
“We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Hotel Champlain”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Quebec City and stayed at the Hotel Champlain Sept. 30-Oct 3 set within the walls of Old Quebec and perfect walking distance to everything in Old Quebec and surrounding area. We just LOVED LOVED LOVED this boutique style hotel. Did not feel like your generic hotel as it had personal touches and felt like our own personal cozy home away from home. Loved the in room fireplace as our first night in Old Quebec was cold and rainy and this made us feel toasty and warm in our room. We stayed in the Jr. Suite (room #41), king size bed with corner jacuzzi tub, facing front onto Ste. Anne Street. If you opened your window you could hear the clip clop of the horse and buggies go by during the day. Just loved that!!!
When we first arrived we were greeted by the VERY friendly bilingual staff. They were also very helpful with any of our questions and help set up a day tour to lle d'Orleans.
Just off the lobby was a room, with a fireplace, that had comfy sofas and chairs to enjoy the free coffee from their coffee machine and to read a book from the bookshelves available. Next to that is the free morning breakfast room, very roomy and bright with a fireplace.
We had read some of the reviews before we left so a person sometimes wonders what you might find when you get there as there were some bad reviews. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about this quaint hotel and it exceeded our expectations!!!! I think sometimes some people just look for negative things and are never happy. If anyone asks us where to stay while in the walled city of Old Quebec, we will say "Hotel Champlain" without a doubt!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your really nice review; it is truly appreciated. Old Quebec City is a fantastic and wonderful place to visit. Our hotel, as you mentioned, is a great choice if you want to be located in heart of the attractions, without any noise.

I am glad that you liked our hotel! We really want that our guests feels as at home and we are pleased to welcome people in our establishment. Our goal is to give quality, cleanliness and comfort; we try to keep the room upgraded as possible. When we read comments like yours, we feel that we made our job. The Junior Suite room is a perfect choice if you want a big room with a nice view of the city.

What is better than a good coffee to start the day? Our espresso machine is perfect for that and it is free for our guests! The lobby is a bit small, but there are a lot of pamphlets, books and magazines for our guests; they are always available.

It is sure that we cannot please to everybody, but we do the best to make everyone happy. When we have the occasion to read good review, we feel very good and proud of what we do.

I want to thank you again for the time you took to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    550
    103
    20
    15
See reviews for
350
1,058
75
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with it. We had a room with a king sized bed and a hot tub/bath. The room was super comfortable, especially the bed, which was very firm (something we like). We decided it was the best hotel bed we've ever slept in. The bathroom, couch, TV, and hot tub etc. were also nice.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. And the location was great -- easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the car rental place, but away from street noise from bars and restaurants.

As others have said, the free coffee was an added bonus as was breakfast in the a.m.

Overall, no complaints. We were really happy with our room and the hotel in general!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Bonjour,

First, I want to thank you for your really nice review. I am very glad that you had a good time in our establishment.

We want to give to our guests a nice room which is comfortable, clean, and modern. The Junior Suite room is a really good choice if you want to have a warm room with a lot of space. The whirlpool is a good thing to relax after a long day. I am also very glad that you found the bed comfortable.

Our staff is always there if people need assistance or further information. They are pleased to welcome guest in the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments and as you mentioned that we have the best hotel bed; I hope to see you back here. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights following a cruise and loved the accommodations. Any place within the upper or lower old city is within a 15 minute walk. The hotel has the feel of an inn or bed and breakfast as the staff is so friendly and helpful at all times of the day. We asked for a room with a view since we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and were accommodated with a 5th floor room overlooking much of the city and also received a complementary bottle of champagne(which was a complete surprise). Our room was large, nicely furnished with a very modern ,clean bathroom. Breakfast was oriented more to European tastes with a nice assortment of items and the breakfast room was able to handle guests as they came to eat. The coffee machine was great throughout the day. Bet it gets heavy use during colder weather. We had a great stay and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthego66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your very nice review. The Old Quebec is a pretty city and during the cruise ship season, there are a lot of people coming to visit our city. I am very glad that you enjoyed our city and our hotel.

We strive to give comfort, cleanliness and quality. Our staffs are always there if people need assistance. They are pleased to welcome new people. We do our best to always respect the guest’s request. Unfortunately it is not always possible to respect it, it is the reason that we never guarantee the request, but when it is possible, it is a pleasure for us to accommodate the requests.

You had a great anniversary to celebrate and when we know it in advance, sometimes we can do some special attention. We want that our guests have a wonderful stay. Congratulation for your 50th wedding anniversary.

You said that you liked our breakfast, I am very glad of that. We want to offer a good variety for people who have a long stay with us. Also with our coffee maker, I am pretty sure that you enjoyed it at the maximum. It is a good way to start the day.

Again, I want to thank you for the time you took to write your comments, it is truly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our establishment.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

So here are the good news: Young staff anxious to accomodate. Central location. In the lobby - machine dispensing hot drinks. The rest - in our standard room overlooking a brick wall - brick wall decor to complete allusion (of jail?), creaking bronze bed, with firm queen mattress and pillows.Hard tile floors. Very minimalistic and meh breakfast. 30 years ago we would have been thrilled. Not so much today.

Room Tip: We booked in for one night to Maison Victoria. 4 stars, and delivered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poisonpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Bonjour,

First, I want to thank you for your review.

It is true that our staff is young and they want to accommodate people. For them, it is really important that our guests feel comfortable and that they have a great experience. There is always someone in the hotel if people need assistance. As you mentioned, we have a great espresso machine available in the lobby 24 hours for free.

Personally, I am not sure that the decor of the room looks like a jail. It is true that the decoration is particular. It is a retro style with a touch of modernism. Some people will like it and some will not. It is normal, we have all different taste. We took notes for the bed and we fixed it.

I am sorry that you did not like the breakfast. If you have constructive suggestions, feel free to contact us. We want to improve our service and we are always open to new idea.

I want again to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We can't say enough great things about this hotel! The staff were so friendly and always spoke when we arrived back at the hotel. They looked after all of our needs. Rooms were clean and spacious. Loved the fireplace and the hot tub in the room. We were only on the second floor so we didn't have a great view, but we were on the front of the building and it was a quiet street. We loved the sound of the horse and carriages going by our window. Breakfast was lovely, the surprise bottle of champagne was amazing, gated parking and fantastic location for easy walking to many restaurants and attractions! Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Bonjour

I want to thank you for your review. It is truly appreciated. At the hotel Champlain, we want that our guest feels comfortable. The staff is always there if people need something and they like to welcome guest in the establishment. There is someone in the hotel 24 hours a day.

For the room, we strive to give quality, cleanliness and comfort. The junior suite is a good choice if you want to relax and have a big room. As you mention, in the room there is a fireplace and a hot tub, with a sitting area.

Ste-Anne’s street is a charming quiet street. There is not a lot of circulation and there’s a lot of horse carriage passing in front of the hotel. Old Quebec City is a fantastic place and with our hotel, you are really in the heart of the Old City; everything is near.

Thank you again for your comments; we really like to read reviews like yours. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our establishment.

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If your definition of five stars is elegant and spacious this is not a hotel for you. For me it's the staff (welcoming, genially warm and helpful). Accommodations that are clean and interestinging decorated. Conveniences (wonderful breakfast, on-site parking, free computer access, very fast wifi). Location (3 blocks from the Frontenac and the Finicular for a ride to the river front old city, two blocks from the Citadel, one more block to the Houses of Parliament and one more block to 20 to 30 restaurants, one block to the main restaurants inside the walled city). They have the most wonderful coffee machine just outside the dining room that is available 24 hours a day. It has 6 choices (cappuccino, cafe au lait, two types of expresso, mochaccino, hot chocolate). Simply place your cup below the spigots and press your selection. You will hear the beans being ground followed by the steaming of the cup followed by the ingredients filling your cup. Shakers contains chocolate and cinnamon are available to enhance the drink. Overall I would call this hotel as quaint in a complementary way. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and you classify us as a five star hotel.

It is always a pleasure for us to welcome guests. We like to meet people and learn about them; where they are from, why they are in Quebec; what they visit, etc. Our goal is to make you feel like at home.

We strive to give a lot of service (free computer access, free wireless Internet, free cappuccino machine, free breakfast, on-site parking ($) available on reservation, etc.) with a quality of room (clean and comfortable).

When you choose the hotel Champlain, as you mentioned, you can be sure to be in the heart of the activities. Everything is near.

I want to thank you again for your charming review. We will definitely be pleased to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our stay over labor day couldn't have been better! This small hotel has an outstanding staff; they go to great pains in meeting your every need...even going to our room in the middle of the night trying to shut off our smoke detector(low battery)! Alexander was especially kind! And what a view from our room...a full moon with the Chateau in the distance.. It was delightful helping ourselves to breakfast and that great espresso machine! And the location was perfect! Merci, meri! Joyce

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre B, Guest Relations Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Bonjour,

I want to thank you for your review; it is truly appreciated.

Our staff is always present for our guest. We like to welcome people and make you feel comfortable. The most important for us is that you have a wonderful stay in Quebec and that you can have a great experience in our establishment. With reviews like yours, we feel that we made it well.

I remember about your stay. When my colleague told me about the smoke detector problem, I felt bad. But I was glad that she helps you with it and that you had a great stay even with this inconvenience. I am especially glad that you remember my name and that you took time to make a review about your trip.

The old Quebec City is a fantastic destination. Everything is about five minutes walk and as you said, in some rooms you can have a splendid view of the city. We want that our guests have a charming stay in a comfortable and cleanliness room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our establishment. Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing