We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Personal Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Banff, Canada
1 review
“The Personal Touch”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The quality of the management and staff of Auberge Aux deux Lions convert what would have been a good hotel, in any case, to an excellent experience. The owner/manager is extremely helpful and good-humoured and pays great attention to all personal requests for details. His advice in respect of local restaurants and services proved very reliable .

The hotel is well maintained and the rooms comfortable without being luxurious. The hotel is small and quiet, which we thought was a benefit. It is well located with many restaurants and bars within a 5 or 10 minute walk. The old town is just a pleasant walk away. The bus to Montmorency Falls goes down the street of the hotel.

We would strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    116
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
198
488
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days with my daughter. joelle was helpful and accommodating even when our flight got cancelled and we needed to arrange for a late check-in. Very helpful via email even before our arrival. The hotel is in a great location right by Grand Theatre du Quebec, the 11 and 25 buses stop here and will take you to the St. jean gate of the old city if you dont want to walk. A couple blocks over is Avenue Cartier which has a lot of restaurants and shops, including a nice little market area and excellent bakery and food store Picadelle, if you need picnic supplies. Conveniently located to all the sights in Haute ville

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank suzzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This small hotel is located in a residential neighborhood. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the old city. The rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious. The staff is outstanding; friendly and helpful. There are some nice restaurants and bistros frequented by locals within a couple of blocks. We would definitely stay here again. Good value for the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We felt very welcomed by Jean-Francois and Joelle - it made the trip and our experience of Quebec City a very positive one.
The location of the hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the old city - this gave us the chance to enjoy the "non-touristic" parts of the city - which we enjoyed as much as the old city.
The "local" amenities within a 2 minute walk of the hotel include very good restaurants and a very good massage therapy center.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was so charming and centrally located. I traveled with my husband, sister and friend to Quebec City for the first time. I think that this hotel was a big part of why our trip was so nice. It rained the whole time we were in Quebec but we still had a wonderful time walking around the city since it was so close to everything and the staff's recommendations were wonderful. We went to a really great gourmet burger place not too far from the hotel and we saw so much just wondering the nearby neighborhoods. The suite we shared was enough space for the four of us and it was clean and adorable. We had a little medical issue on the trip and the staff helped us to find a pharmacy nearby. They were so helpful! I'd love to go back to Quebec City and stay here again! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregano523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Jean-Francois gave us great recommendations on restaurants and things to see. There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel. Here are my comments on the hotel:
Pros: very clean, very quiet rooms and comfortable beds, very nice, friendly management, close to good restaurants

Con: about a 20 min walk to the old part of the city

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FemmedAffaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Joelle and Jean-Francois were fantastic. From the moment we arrived, Jean Francois was energetic and welcoming, sharing great tips for restaurants and things to do and see. The room it self was simple yet stylish and had an AC unit. The Auberge has a shared kitchen if you want to make or store anything, and a terrace to sit out on and have a drink as you watch the world go by. A continental breakfast was served in the morning for $8, although we never actually ate there, preferring to see what Quebec had to offer. The Auberge is in a great location, it is about a 15-20 min walk to old Quebec, and about a 5 min walk from the plains of Abraham and about 3 mins from Cartier street. We walked each day into the old city and it was a pleasant stroll, we cabbed it home one night as it was quite chilly and windy. Guests have access after hours through a locked side door. Jean Francois made a number of recommendations for restaurants - I am always a bit sceptical of these types of recommendations. But have no fear, we took Jean Francois up on two and we are very glad we did. The first was Graffiti which is on Cartier around the corner, the hotel gets special deal for a 4 course meal, including wine and port. This was by far our best meal ( we also ate at Le Continental), the other was Chez Victor a gourmet burger joint, also excellent. We really enjoyed our stay, the location is great- the hosts are better and really make this Auberge what it is. When we come back to Quebec, this is where we will stay - you should too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Property: Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing