We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly Welcoming and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly Welcoming and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Joelle and Jean-Francois were a tribute to Canadian hospitality. They excelled at helping and making our stay enjoyable. Their English made up for my out of practice French.
Location great, room was beautifully presented and the kitchen facilities and computer a boon for travellers.
We walked to all the sites nearby, esp the old city. Close to restaurants, public transport, and all the places travellers go to the Auberge was a great place. Thanks for looking after us Aussies and being so welcoming. Wad and Katrin.

Room Tip: Call and talk to them they will help you choose....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    109
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
185
455
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for two nights in August while visiting a friend. I'm a terrible clean freak, so I was very happy with the level of cleanliness. Also, everyone was super friendly and helpful. The prices are a bit steep, but I went during peak tourist season, so I imagine the rates are more acceptable throughout the rest of the year. It's a bit of a walk from the Vieux Quebec, but if it's a nice day, the walk is worth it! (If not, you have many buses that pass on René-Levesque.) Les Plaines d'Abraham are two minutes away and there are many fun little restaurants and shops you can try! I had a very large back room, so it was very quiet. It's very cozy and intimate--perfect for couples or solo travellers. Air conditioning unit was very very awesome during the heat wave. Breakfast was not included, but there's a Tutti Frutti breakfast place right next to the auberge. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay, and I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Since we live in Florida, we decided to take a winter trip to see snow, Quebec in winter! Read all the great reviews and the Auberge did not disappoint. Jean Francois gave great recommendations and was very welcoming. We had a downstairs room that had its own private entrance with shared kitchen. The room was recently remodeled, very well insulated and quiet with comfortable modern furniture. The neighborhood is close to a nice shopping area and the Grand Allee. It is about a 20 minute walk to old Quebec City, so be prepared to walk or take a cab. We did find that buses went about halfway there. Overall, it was nice to come out of the tourist zone to the real world.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Within walking distance of the old city and well located for local restaurants and shops. Day trips to the ski hills Mt Sainte Anne and Le Massif worked well from here. Rooms are clean and well kept. Staff is friendly, helpful and the place has a friendly feel. Many good restaurants to choose from within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely place with great service. Joelle had a lot of great recommendations of what to do and where to go in the city that were really good to know. A little further out from the old town than we had expected, but the 15 minute walk wasn't bad. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our staff. As other reviews have mentioned, the Jean Francois and Victoria (?) were excellent hosts. Our rooms were very clean, quiet, and roomy. The decor, fresh. We didn't have breakfast there, but we did stop in the breakfast room, and it was plentiful and fresh - it won't disappoint! My one "complaint" was that there was no gathering area....there was a landing that led out to the car park, but we were there in 15 degree weather, and would have loved a cozy fire and some deep sofas... Otherwise, just great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenJBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night as we closed out a cruise. Our travel agent said the hotel had good reviews, and she was so right! We loved the place!! It was close enough to old town that you could walk. Jean Francois was a gracious host and knew the area so well. Every restaurant he recommended was perfect! And all was within walking distance! The room was large, comfortable, and well appointed. Should we ever return to Quebec City, we would not consider staying anywhere else! It was a fantastic end to our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Property: Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City. Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. Aux Deux Lions Inn hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel include parking, a breakfast room, a shared kitchenette with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing