We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice place with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Within walking distance of the old city and well located for local restaurants and shops. Day trips to the ski hills Mt Sainte Anne and Le Massif worked well from here. Rooms are clean and well kept. Staff is friendly, helpful and the place has a friendly feel. Many good restaurants to choose from within close walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Aux Deux Lions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 971 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely place with great service. Joelle had a lot of great recommendations of what to do and where to go in the city that were really good to know. A little further out from the old town than we had expected, but the 15 minute walk wasn't bad. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our staff. As other reviews have mentioned, the Jean Francois and Victoria (?) were excellent hosts. Our rooms were very clean, quiet, and roomy. The decor, fresh. We didn't have breakfast there, but we did stop in the breakfast room, and it was plentiful and fresh - it won't disappoint! My one "complaint" was that there was no gathering area....there was a landing that led out to the car park, but we were there in 15 degree weather, and would have loved a cozy fire and some deep sofas... Otherwise, just great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenJBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night as we closed out a cruise. Our travel agent said the hotel had good reviews, and she was so right! We loved the place!! It was close enough to old town that you could walk. Jean Francois was a gracious host and knew the area so well. Every restaurant he recommended was perfect! And all was within walking distance! The room was large, comfortable, and well appointed. Should we ever return to Quebec City, we would not consider staying anywhere else! It was a fantastic end to our vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and I wasn't disappointed. What a fabulous owner/place to stay, we felt so at home. the room was adorable, the bed was comfortable, the room was adequate and quiet, parking was convenient, all good. it was a bit pricey but a lot of that is the relative value of the CND dollar vs. US dollar, so I can't complain. I loved the amenities like the little kitchen area on the 2nd floor with free internet (great for researching Quebec attractions for the next day), and the location was a good one (near a supermarket and we had a kitchenette, and not far from restaurants). it's not right downtown, it's a bit of a walk, but it's an interesting walk so that was ok. The owner clearly prides himself on making people feel at home and I can't say enough about how wonderful he was, this hotel has earned its good reputation. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 2nd/top floor in back is very quiet, we liked tha location (it might be a new wing, I'm not sure...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My teenage son and myself stayed here for two nights during US Thanksgiving weekend. I would call this place an upscale guest house, which is exactly what we were looking for. I just have to echo the prior reviews, but hosts were fantastic in welcoming and making sure we had a comfortable stay. Location is just great in that it is not in the middle of tourist area, nor totally isolated (15 min pleasant walk to old city along rue Saint-Jean where we found lots of cute shops.) Also there are many restaurants, shops, supermarket and drugstore on Avenue Cartier, which is 3 min walk. Aux Deux Lions have clean shared kitchenette with microwave, refridge and coffee maker. You can buy croissant at local bakery and make your own breakfast or lunch. Next time I go, I would bring some toiletaries. They had minimal supply at the Auberge - only soap and shampoo, I think.

Room Tip: Room 203 faces the street, but we did not find it noisy. It is next to kitchen!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynGirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Read great reviews prior to booking and was not disappointed. Convinient location, comfortable accommodation, and incredibly helpful friendly staff.

Would definately stay again and recommend strongly to friends and family. A wonderful way to start our Canadian adventure. Thanks Joëlle & Jean-François.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,537 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $95 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing