We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and friendly owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Ranked #90 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place and friendly owner”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The owner is very friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask for help! He also prepares delicious breakfasts. The room was big, stylish with red-brick walls. The private bathroom was small and old, a pity that the bathroom had not been entirely renovated like the other rooms in the building. But it was clean! Also, free wifi.
The location is very convenient, a bit far away from the old city center by walking but nice walk by good weather. Very close to the Plaines d'Abraham. Many places to eat around the B&B. I strongly recommend a very small italian restaurant nearby with marvelous pizzas!
If you have a car, it is possible to park it behind the B&B for free, very convenient!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nono77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My mom and I just stayed here for 2 nights - it was our first time in Quebec city and first time staying at B&B so I can't compare, but first off Jean-Pierre was very, very friendly and he made sure we felt at home and was very helpful. Breakfast was very lovely. The only thing I would say is that this is right by the nightlife in Quebec City on Grande Allee. So perfect place if you are young and love the nightlife!! Unfortunately since my mom and I weren't in for the nightlife, it was slightly loud at night with cars and people on the street.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e-diddy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Jean Pierre and his wife are wonderful, lovely hosts. This site has conflicting reviews of Manoir Moncalme and perhaps this is due to room assignment as well as the date of the stay. It seems that the owners are working on maintaining and upgrading this large, historic home. The hot breakfasts are superb and served with a variety of fresh fruits. We peeked into some of the rooms and they were large, clean and inviting with very high ceilings. They looked just like the photos on their website. The front steps and door are freshly painted. The wifi and TV worked without any problems. The bed was very comfortable with a good mattress. The ensuite bathroom in Room 2 does need updating and painting. This B&B has very large rooms, is in a prime location with private parking and this is probably why the price is somewhat high for a B&B that needs some work here and there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

DO NOT BE FOOLED BT THE REVIEWS ON THIS PLACE!! We have traveled to Quebec many times and we decided to stay on the Grand Allee this time..usually we stay at the most pleasant "Auberge St. Pierre" in the lower city. We feel like "SUCKER" was written across our door (Room 2) at Manoir Mon Calme..we paid $169/per night. Our room was in the back of the house..we had to keep our curtains closed as people could peer in as they walked by the back stairs...a dark hot room! The room was worn and tired looking.

Also the air conditioning unit was very small and we had to keep changing the water in so it would keep running...the room still was very warm. There were tiny soaps in the bathroom and big generic bottles (for everyone to use) of body wash and shampoo in the bathtub...yuck!

After being out all day Saturday..9-3, we arrived back to our room only to discover the room wasn't serviced yet!! It's 3 pm!! There are only 5 rooms in this place..whats with that! We went across the street to Loew's to sit in the air conditioning and get cooled off.

I will say the breakfast was most tasty..and creative...the host seemed pleasant but a bit stressed appearing..if this place was $110 a night, I would say go for it..otherwise, find a place elsewhere!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pawsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Went with girls ages 9 & 13 and couldn't have been more pleased. Clean, comfortable, tastefully appointed, pretty 10 minute walk to Old City & 5 minutes to restaurants and other attractions. Proprietor Jean Pierre is as gracious, kind, welcoming and helpful as can be. He's up to date on all current activities so he can help plan your visit, too. Free breakfast is sumptuous and plentiful and will hold you till dinner. Parking is free too, which is a major bonus, as is internet. We recommend Mon Calme highly!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoverbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend, and had a very good time.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are excellent, and our room was clean, large and comfortable.
A brief walk from the city gates and the Parc des Champs de Bataille.
We were very satisfied with the experience and would definitely return and recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Jean-Pierre is, indeed, a wonderful host. Booking with him over the phone was very easy and he was extremely welcoming when we arrived. He was also quite helpful with information about Quebec City. He serves a fantastic breakfast in a charming room in the lower level of his home. Everyone in my family enjoyed the cafe-like setting and the delicious food. The free parking was a nice perk and we liked being able to walk one block to the Plains of Abraham. Our rooms were spacious and clean with lovely high ceilings. I do not agree with previous reviewers who described the rooms as "tastefully decorated" and "could have passed for an expensive hotel room". Our rooms were modestly decorated and had the basic necessities; I would describe them as adequate. The internet access did not work -- this didn't matter to us, but it may to some people. The foyer for the B&B is warm and welcoming; however, the front door and steps leading up to it were characterized by peeling paint and gave an initial impression of shabbiness. My main reservation about this B&B relates to its location. It is, indeed, in Old Quebec and therefore within a short walk to restaurants, the main attractions, and shopping. We very much appreciated being so close to everything. However, the location is not good for people who are light sleepers or who appreciate a little quiet at night, as there was a great deal of noise from the street and the surrounding neighborhood. I don't know if there was an outdoor cafe nearby or someone was entertaining at their home, but we were kept awake until the wee hours of the morning by the sounds of people laughing and talking loudly nearby. Also, Grande Allee Est is a major thoroughfare and Manoir Mon Calme is near an intersection with a traffic light. The noise of cars, trucks, and motorcycles motoring down Grande Allee Est, coming to a stop at the traffic light, and then accelerating away from the intersection did not make for a restful night. As I said, this would not be of concern to everyone. I rate this B&B only average for value. I am basing my opinion on the fact that we stayed in a much, much nicer hotel in Montreal the previous two nights for almost exactly the same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Manoir De La Tour
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#71 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Apartment Hotel Quebec
#72 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Widor Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#5 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#24 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme

Property: Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Address: 549 Grande Allee est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2J5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Hotel Quebec City
Bed And Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing