We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel which i have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Ranked #86 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My classmates and i spent two nights in the hotel of Manoir Mon Calme.What most impressed me was the beautiful scenary in Quebec and the best service i was offered in this hotel. The boss family are very nice, considerate and very kind-hearted. They provided very clean, comfortable bedrooms to us as well as delicious breakfast. i appreciated very much when Mr He, the boss of this hotel, got up so early at 4:30am to pick us to the airport. In a word, the hotel of Manoir Mon Calme is really tourists' best choice. Believe us!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are interesting.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 98 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Extraordinary decoration. Very personalized services:) Hospitable and considerate host and hostess. Healthy and nutritious breakfast. Wish you all the best! Next time I am here, I'll choose the same place:)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My spouse and I had a 4 day stay at Manoir Mon Calme on the advice of friends, who had been there a few years ago. The location is perfect: in a quieter neighborhood a short walk from the tourist filled walled city, adjacent to the many restaurants on the Grande Allee, and a short walk to the eateries and shops on Avenue Cartier and to the art museum. The lovely Jardins de Jean D’Arc is almost in the backyard. The house is a 19th century town house, and our room (front on the first floor) was large with exposed brick walls, mantelpiece, high ceilings and a bay window overlooking the Grande Allee. The bathroom was equally large. The free on site parking is a plus.

For us the heart and soul of a B&B is the enthusiasm of its host in welcoming and meeting the needs of his/her guests. We have come to expect warmth & conversation, helpful hints for getting about, tips on the hidden gems and the tourist traps, help with figuring out bus routes and fares, etc. We also expect a clean and welcoming environment, a place we can relax in and enjoy time together, Sadly, Manoir Mon Calme has no heart or soul. We understand that the owner/manager our friends knew has moved on. The new owner/manager is simply not suited for the hospitality industry.

We arrived at the standard Canada check in time of 4 PM: our welcome from the owner/manager was a deadpan “Oh…. You’re here.” We were shown to our room, given our keys, had the house rules explained. He then told us that since we were the only guests expected that day & he lived off site he was therefore leaving. We could reach him by cell phone if we really needed to. That was the last we saw of him.

Our room had clearly not been dusted for some time: there was a thick layer of dust on the mantle, and the setting sun highlighted the dust on the chair rungs and table legs. The broad white marble window sills were covered with a film of black grit that stained my trousers when I knelt there to pry open the one working window. The large closet contained only 2 hangers, the toilet tank had an audible, visible drip that generated two different puddles on the floor. We’d hoped to sit, enjoy some wine and watch the world go by outside -- but the only chairs in the room were two straight backed faux Shaker chairs with rush seats -- penitential at best, and even with bed pillows piled on them not a comfortable place to sit. Oh – and there were Christmas decorations in the hall, coated with 9 month’s worth of dust.

Breakfast and cleaning duties were shared by an Oriental couple whose ability to speak or understand English or our fractured French was minimal. They wore the same dirty, stained flannel “dorm pants” and sweaters every day. Breakfast was a plate of little bits of fruit (half a small banana, half an orange slice, one strawberry, half a very thin slice of melon, etc.) and a single serving plastic wrapped tiny piece of cheese, accompanied by a small warm croissant (the bottom of which was usually scorched). This was followed by a small omelet or similar offering serve on a small bread and butter plate and always folded very, very square. There appeared to be an unwritten rule that the fruit and croissant must be finished before the omelet could be served: the server would not bring the one until the other was finished. Serving it all on one plate so that it looked like bounty instead of rations doesn’t seem to have occurred to them. Odd at the least; inhospitable certainly.

Our friends were aghast when they heard: their experience under the previous owner was completely opposite. We shall not return, neither shall they. The new owner bought himself a small gem it seems, and is letting it turn into yet another dusty, shabby Quebec B&B. A real pity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wombat27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I usually have reservations (no pun intended) about Bed & Breakfasts. I like to come and go as I please without feeling I need to socialize with people I don't know or that I may potentially be waking somone up if I stroll in late from a litte "wine tasting" around the area I'm visiting, so needless to say, when my boyfriend booked this room for our stay (under the impression we could use our BednBreakfast.com gift cards) I was a little apprehensive.

First of all, the location is fantastic for a Bed & Breakfast, directly next to the Loews hotel (there's a through-road between them) this location is directly atop the city entrance on Grand Allee. Everything is walkable. If you're coming with a car, as we did, a parking space is included in your stay cost. The owners don't appear to live on premises, so you don't have that uneasy feeling of being "watched" the whole time. Not that we did anything sketchy, but to recount what I eluded to earlier, it's nicer (for some of us) when your on vacation to feel independent and not chaperoned. However, do be mindful that this is a very intimate setting, like staying in someone's "HOME", so you should still be mindful of other guests staying there (in otherwords, watch your noise factor). The gentleman that met us when we checked in (believe his name is Jean-Phillipe) was nice-enough (no overly chatty personality) and probably around our age (30's?). Very helpful, since they were unable to accomodate us in one room through our 3 night stay, they set us up in the nicer rooms (2 nights in 1 room, 1 night in another, both with bathrooms en-suite) when they incurred a cancelation.

The building is sort of like a townhouse manor, has 3 floors, the 2nd and 3rd being the entranceways and rooms (you can enter directly to your floor from one of the two entrance ways) and the breakfast room and internet are on the base/lower level floor.

This is an older building, so don't expect too much flair. However, if you are looking for charm, antiquity, character and creature comforts, you'll find them here. Free internet is provided, breakfast (of course, and it's not at a round table!), if you're a smoker you can smoke out on one of the terraces in the back, and parking is included.

All in all a lovely stay, for my first B&B experience, it was a pleasant surprise

Room Tip: Be willing to still book even if you can't stay in the same room your whole stay. They accomodat...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etherrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a decent, somewhat hotel-like bed and breakfast. There are no hosts to speak of; there are people who run the place from off-site, coming in to prepare breakfast and clean during the day. The only problem with this was that someone named Paul had promised us vegan breakfasts via email, and yet we could never find Paul, nor anyone who seemed obviously to know the man. Nonetheless, the unidentified person who served us breakfast didn't seem to understand what we meant (even when I tried to explain in French), even though he said yes, yes, that he was bringing us a vegan breakfast. The plate contained cheese every day, and there is no way I can be sure what was in the crepe. We were told it was eggless and made with olive oil, but we were also told that the rest of the breakfast was vegan, and yet there was the cheese. Please understand that we expected a vegan breakfast only because it was promised by the person we believed to be the proprietor via email, and even after arriving, we would have accepted that very little vegan food was available if we had simply been told, "Sorry, we do have some fruit and coffee, but that's all." It was just the awkwardness of the non-vegan "vegan" breakfast that made us uncomfortable.

Otherwise, the place was reasonably clean and cute, and the free computer access was nice. The location is fine for sight-seeing, but not for avoiding noise at night. There is no way we could have slept without the white noise of the air conditioner, and we wonder what it would have been like in colder months.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veg_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Pluses: free phone, internet and parking. access to Small fridge. Comfy beds. Quiet. Close to restaurants, Satrbucks and outdoor patios. AC units are portable, we did not use them. Nice fruit plate. 10 minute walk to the Citadel and Beaux Arts Centre. 5 minute walk to St. Joan of Arc park. umbrellas for loan. no one wears the slippers that are provided.


Minuses: not as close to Old City attractions as I had thought; Hot food is what i would expect to served in a hostel as opposed to B&B. lots of stairs; no common sitting area; outside balcony has no chairs and overlooks parking lot; no coffee/tea in room. Owner is new to the area, and does not live on site. A very good 30 minute up hill climb from Lower Town, which is where most of the attractions are to be found. the owner asks that you wear slippers as provided.
.

Room Tip: The higher the rm number, the more stairs. Rm 5 is large, with sloping celings and very small shower...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I was very pleased with this property. It was next door to the popular Voodoo resto on Grande Allee. Tons of restos right at your feet and a five minute walk to the Old City. The Plains of Abraham are one block away (beautiful area)! The B&B is well maintained and nicely decorated. The extra bonus is the free parking behind the building and you can enter the B&B through the front or the back entrance. I felt very secure here. For breakfast, we were served a fruit & cheese plate and the second course was a ham & cheese omlette. Other little goodies are available at a self-serve table. It's plenty of food and very satisfying.
The only negative I can offer is that each room is supplied with a portable air conditioner, which runs about 6 hours before the water tank has to be emptied. Not a bad thing, unless you must get up at 3 a.m. (like I did) because the room became stagnant with the summer humidity. I had no choice but to empty and reset the A/C. Cool weather visitors won't have this issue! Also, beware that this building has three floors, so there is a lot of stair climbing and that may not be suitable for some people.
Otherwise, I highly recommend this B&B. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Apartment Hotel Quebec
#76 of 119 in Quebec City
10 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#5 of 119 in Quebec City
119 reviews
Chez Hubert, B&B
#14 of 119 in Quebec City
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 119 in Quebec City
49 reviews
Maison Historique James Thompson
#12 of 119 in Quebec City
197 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#7 of 119 in Quebec City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme

Address: 549 Grande Allee est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2J5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $75 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Hotel Quebec City
Bed And Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing