We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of new improvements since last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Ranked #90 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot of new improvements since last stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our family came back to Quebec again this year and stay the same B&B we stayed last year. Manoir Mon Calme has a great location nearby the old town, you could walk to most everywhere. Still free parking. If you drive, that's a lot of saving for parking fees. We also noticed the owner did a quite bit renovation and improvement inside the hotels. All the bathrooms were updated, brand new bedding for the bedrooms, and new flat panel TV (my kids loved it). Free internet connections. One more new thing needed to mention was that free long distance calls to US and Canada at the front desk, where is nice for the travelers from US and Canada. So we could make calls to families and friends without paying the outrage roaming charges.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ching S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The B&B is well located and they do have parking at no additional charge. But, the original owners have returned to France and the B&B is impersonal with some real problems. The air conditioning is terrible (and the heat and the humidity make this important if you want to sleep). We sat on the steps outside until the middle of the night because the room was unpleasantly warm, even with the air conditioning. It was portable and stopped every four hours because the water collector had to be emptied. Sleep a full night... why would you want to do that? The room was reasonably clean and spacious, but you may not wear shoes inside,and are asked to wear slippers they provide (a bit weird). Breakfast is poor and served without a smile. And there was poor Internet service. I'd avoid this B&B if I were you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_Triptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We recently stayed Manoir Mon Calme for 3 nights. This was our first trip to Quebec City and we were very happy we stayed at this place. The first great thing is the location - it is located within the walking distance to the old town and one block away from some really nice restaurants and bars, yet it is very quiet during the day and night. In a couple of mornings, we took a walk in the park right behind the building and we even had a nice lunch buffet at the L'Astral Revolving Restaurant right across the street. By the way, the view from the Revolving Restaurant was just wonderful.

In addition to the great location, the place is kept very clean. Each morning we stayed there, Jean (the owner) already had the breakfast ready. My daughter told me that the breakfast was the best she had ever had. Jean was such a sweet lady and she always aksed us if we needed more eggs or coffee, etc. If we go back to Quebec City again, we will definitely stay at Manoir Mon Calme again. I would also recommend anyone who's looking for a B&B to stay at the Quebec City.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenecaCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at Manoir Mon Calme over the July 4th weekends. We booked the largest room on the 4th floor (attic). The room was huge with two queen beds. My two young kids really enjoyed playing with all the space. The building was elegant and very historical. Everything was very well maintained and updated.

The location was the best among all the B&Bs in Quebec City. It's within walking distance to Old Town and the National Battlefields Park (2 minutes walking). There were a lot of good restaunauts and bars right next to it. You were like in the middle of all actions.

The rooms were very clean and neat. The dining room was very nice orginized. The breakfast was great with all different varieties. And they served in real plates and silverware, not the cheap disposal ones. There was free wireless high speed internet access if you want. Paul and Jeane have thought of everything. If you have any specail request, just let them know. Paul provided a lot of good sightseeing advices for us, and saved us a lot time. Jeane was nicest hostress you could ever have, my kids loved her absolutely.

Another big plus of this B&B is free parking on the back of the building. Trust me, you're not going to find any hotel or B&B that close to Old Town providing free parking.

We had a really wonderful time over there. Summer was great in Quebec with all the festivals and music. We will definitely come back in the future and stay at Calme again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ching S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at this Bed & Breakfast for 2 days while visiting Quebec and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner/host made our stay especially pleasant and comfortable. Our room was cozy and breakfasts were delicious. The location is excellent with included parking. There were so much to do in Quebec and the surrounding area. I highly recommend this B&B if you should happen to be in Quebec. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We recently happened upon this place while wandering down the street looking for a last-minute place to stay. The building is a very roomy, beautiful 19th century townhome. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, and the owners were tremendously nice and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious - A heaping plate of fresh fruit, with excellent french toast, ham and cheese. The rates were quite reasonable, and the location is excellent - close to many bars, restaurants, the old town and the Citadel. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We just returned from our fourth stay at Manoir Mon Calme. We love this B&B. It's a wonderful old, elegant building. The rooms are nicely furnished and immaculate. The beds are comfortable. Beautiful thick towels in the bathrooms. Wifi is working fine now (in the past, the owner had trouble with his wifi system so he replaced it.) Rooms come with an incredible breakfast, including a first course of croissants and then a main dish, including a beautiful arrangement of fruit. Parking is free out behind the house and there is a refrigerator available. Our last three trips have been in winter, but we do remember on a summer trip that there was a lot of nightlife on Grande Allee, which could be a bit noisy, but also fun to watch. Manoir Mon Calme is not in the old town, but a five minute walk away, which is perfect for us.

We love Jean Pierre and his wife. They are incredibly friendly, will patiently help you practice your French if you like (but also are fluent in English), and they are full of suggestions for the area. They are friendly to the teenagers and make them hot chocolate for breakfast. I always like coffee early, and they make that available for me, either with a coffee pot in our room or making it first thing.

We highly recommend Manoir Mon Calme!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Marie Rollet
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
152 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 101 in Quebec City
302 reviews
Apartment Hotel Quebec
#74 of 119 in Quebec City
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
238 reviews
Chez Hubert, B&B
#16 of 119 in Quebec City
220 reviews
Montcalm
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Relais Charles-Alexandre
#21 of 119 in Quebec City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme

Property: Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Address: 549 Grande Allee est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2J5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Hotel Quebec City
Bed And Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing