We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming city!”
Review of Old Quebec

Old Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.08*
and up
Small-Group Quebec City Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 214 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming city!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We fell in love with Old Quebec! We found the people to be friendly and helpful, the shopping and food great, the historic venues interesting and well maintained. One unplanned and negative experience was having to spend 12 hours in the Emergency Room at the oldest hospital in North America, Hotel- Deiu, The staff was pleasant, but very few spoke English, which was a surprise as all the retailers, restauranteurs and guides did. If you travel to Quebec, I would have any medical history written out in French before traveling, as the unexpected could happen as it did to us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BBOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,820
    1,579
    158
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a combination walking and bus tour through the old city. Although very cold, it was well worth it. The building are magnificent and charming. The shops are delightful. There is so much to see with the lower and upper parts of the town. Do the Funiculaire, instead of the stairs, to reach the different levels. On the upper level, there are acrylic enclosures of archaeological sites. Take your time and enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Old Quebec was something I had been wanting to see for years! We finally made it and it was worth the visit. There are lots of great shops, dining and sights to see. We got a little lost because we didn't have a map and the area is quite big but we found our way back. The cobblestone streets and history are fascinating and beautiful. It's hard to decide were to stop and eat because everything looks amazing. Both night and day this was a must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved the history, people, food and mostly the various churches/basilicas. Everything is within an easy walk (although some of the streets are steep). There are shops & art outside and within the shops of this area. Very quaint & European. Lovely!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quebec parking ticket 2013”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved the old city! Filled with charm, and history. A must see! Be sure you plug the meter, or head to parking lots. Parking is at a premium, and meters are constantly checked. If you are unlucky like we where, you will be presented with a ticket, in french. The ticket has no online payment option, so it took some phone calls and internet searching, and emails to track it all down. I will save you the effort and post the site here. Your browser bar can translate the page to your language for you if you ask it.
www.ville.quebec.qc.ca/services/constatinfraction

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janjoyful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Old Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing