We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love!”
Review of Old Quebec

Old Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.13*
and up
Small-Group Quebec City Food Tour
More Info
$33.50*
and up
Quebec City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$42.13*
and up
Quebec City Bike Tour Along Saint Lawrence River
Ranked #1 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can't wait to go back. Old Quebec makes you feel like you are walking the streets of Europe. What a quaint town with cobble stone streets and old world charm! We spent 3 nights and were able to see much of it just by walking around. I would highly recommend taking a tour. There are companies that offer public and private tours that are about 2 to 3 hours. Well worth it to give you an overview of the history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItalyFanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,250
    1,670
    170
    23
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun destination”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

First time through eastern Canada and definitely glad to have visited Quebec. It's touristy and small, but historic and quaint. Local shops and restaurants are bilingual, so don't fret if you don't speak French. It is a bit steep to get through all of the old town, so prepare yourself for stairs and steep hills... or just be lazy and take the funicular.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Time Walking with the Kids”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 2 days roaming around the old city. We were there for a Monday and Tuesday, and the area was alive with school groups, tour buses, and locals. Although many people were there, it did not seem overrun or too crowded. The history of the area is quite noticeable, and our kids really responded to it. A bit to my surprise, they did not tire of the walking, and they especially liked the paid historical tour under the boardwalk. It was a quick walking tour, but they wanted to go back the 2nd day. They also enjoyed walking atop the wall, and running around on the grassy slope at the citadel. We were very happy with the people of Old Quebec. They were warm and inviting, and they were patient with us as English Speakers (we always tried starting with our French). Overall, it was a great 2 day stop for our family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just walked upper & lower town for 2 days. Could not get enough of the architecture, churches and of course all the places to eat! I would say you need 2 good days to really see it all and not be rushed. We stayed in Ste Foy and it was a quick trip and worth saving the hotel $ staying out a little.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelwizMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Area”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This part of Quebec City is so beautiful and quaint. So much to take in with a real European feel! The shops and restaurants are adorable, but are a little expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Old Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing