We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday in Old Quebec City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Quebec

Old Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.15*
and up
Small-Group Quebec City Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 210 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Old Quebec City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lots to see; so much history. Easy to walk around the walled City and see all the sights. Beautiful and clean. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Restaurants were very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j_emmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,611
    1,534
    153
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited in June 2013 and really enjoyed it. Yes it is touristy, but so what? So many cool sites (buildings, churches, statues, etc...) to see, and so many stores to browse in. There are SO many places to eat. We stayed 5 nights and had a hard time deciding where to eat dinner every night because there were so many places we wanted to go! The food was great. (Try the duck). I would also add that I had heard the people in Quebec City were not very friendly to non-french speaking visitors, but we did not find this to be true at all. Everyone was very nice. It was a great trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonjr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

the city is beautiful and old...but a few too many boutiques for us.we had a lot of trouble with parking..it's $2. for half and hr and we ended up spending $18,for the day..went to 3 different lots.and it was confusing...but we enjoyed our visit once parked..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank btatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location is obviously touristy, too many expensive clothing shops and tacky souvenir places, and food costs a bomb, the cheaper fare is mostly junk food. The cathedral is lovely, so is the funicular going to Lower Town, and under the boardwalk is interesting but disappointing (not much else to see, just excavations and plaques to read.) Enjoyed the buskers on the boardwalk. The Chateau Frontenac is beautiful inside. The view is amazing. Well-worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnoisseurGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always loved wandering through the Old City this time with the family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I haven't been here since I was a kid but still love it. The small shops and cafe's, the old buildings the historical landscapes. It's all amazing and needs to be experienced.

Anyone who loves history or even just walking through a unique cultural area will love it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Old Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing