We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look no further”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We and our friends were upgraded to a suite each. so we loved our rooms.Our room had a view of the water & a giant cruise ship, our friends room had a view of the Chateau Frontignac. Hotel location is perfect,right in the Old Town yet quiet.A short walk to the
funicular, cafes,shops etc. Helpful staff and very helpful concierge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangarooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

A modern and beautiful room, in historic basse ville. An easy walk (5 minutes) will take you around this gorgeous historic area, and to the finiculare, which takes one atop the wall of the fortification (Quebec City is the only fortified city of North America), and mere steps (across the street) from the river, as well as boat tours. The staff of Hotel 71 is outstanding, knowledgeable and attentive. I stayed with my partner and we both found the room and the hotel itself comfortable, quiet, and perfect for a getaway weekend. One negative: although breakfast came as part of the package I purchased, I would avoid it next time: this was a romantic weekend, and the food of the breakfast buffet was not up to the level of the rest of the hotel: the croissants were third rate; and there was little in terms of selection. The espresso, made by the attending waiter, was outstanding, however, and the muffins were good enough. Even so, I would have chosen to eat at one of the many nearby excellent restaurants for breakfast, to help make the short time my partner and I could spend together a more deliciously memorable one. The valet parking was great, and necessary in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were absolutely delighted with our room on the 7th floor, with views out to the chateau and upper old city. We loved the blend of very modern furnishings in a charming old building. The room was spacious with tall ceiling and exposed concrete walls. The bathroom was also roomy and ultra-chic. The location was great, in the midst of lower old town, near to several of Quebec's top restaurants, and a few minutes walk to the upper old city. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We split our visit to Quebec between this hotel and the famous Chateau Frontenac, and while the Chateau is a classic must-do, I think we would stay at the 71 when we come again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Wow! Is the easiest way to sum up our stay at Hotel 71. What an amazing hotel, with the most accommodating and friendliest staff.
From the momment we booked the room, we knew we'd choosen the right hotel. As soon as we explained we were coming into town for a wedding, the reservation agent immediately booked us into room 630, He assured us this was one of their loveliest rooms, with the most spectacular view - and he certainly wasn't exaggerating.... it had a gorgeous view of the Chateau and Port!
Francine, the concierge, guided us with where to purchase a white dress shirt, dinner recommendations, and even personally washed the new white shirt for us!!
I can't say enought wonderful things about this hotel and the staff.... don't even bother with another hotel. You can't do better than this!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandEmily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

From Saint Antoine, we moved up the street about 150 meters to Le 71 Hotel, room 629. This junior suite with separate bedroom is well appointed, although only a queen size bed and that with futon-like hardness. The exposed brick wall and cement column complement the high ceilings and exposed pipes. Ten foot long red velvet drapery is used to great effect in place of closet doors.
The bathroom is well designed with plenty of storage and a walk-in shower.
My full review and pictures at:
http://exuberanthome.com/quebec-city-three-hotels

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindySanti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a disappointing stay at hotel 71. The location was great, but that's about it. The room had a lot of wasted space. Although the bathroom was modern, it wasn't as functional as others we've stayed in.

The breakfast was so-so and not included as we had been led to believe. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant, but the ambience was not that appealing to us anyway.

No swimming pool either.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1125islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Marvellous modern hotel. Great Location in lower downtown. Very Spacious and clean room. Bathroom with a great shower. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $184 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing