We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$194
$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$350
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$136
$128
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel du Vieux-Quebec(Quebec City)
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$357
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveler rating
1,477
329
50
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,477
329
50
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil mattohigh ceilingsrain showerold quebeclower townwine barthe penthousenespresso machineself serveart galleriesplace royalemodern designmuseum of civilizationcontinental breakfastview of the riverhard boiled eggsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in Quebec City and Hôtel 71 fulfilled our every expectation and more. The staff went above and beyond to make it a special occasion. The concierge staff listened to us and strived to satisfy our vision for each day. The setting is in the hub of the old city and provides a magical experience without feeling like a tourist trap. Warm and friendly!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bonjour Kay G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! We are happy to hear you found our hotel to be a wonderful place to stay; we hope you will be back to celebrate another anniversary!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel 71 is a small , quaint yet modern hotel in the lower old city of Quebec. It has a fabulous location with easy access to the historical heart of the area and the funicular or steps to the upper old city. The staff is well informed and polite yet fun ! The rooms are bright and full of natural light during the day but quiet and dark for rest in the night. Hotel 71 exceeded my expectations. PS This was my third visit to QC from the U.S.A. and Hotel 71 is a find!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank mimihench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bonjour mimihench,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! We are very happy to hear we exceeded your expectations; we hope to see you again on your next visit to Québec!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the lower portion of Old Town...and that location is much less crazy and impacted by hordes of tourists...yet still very accessible to the Upper portion of Old Town. The hotel is quiet, beds and bedding are so very comfortable...great toiletry products...a Nespresso machine in the room, but also complimentary24-hour coffee for espresso, etc. just off the lobby. The hotel used to be an old bank, so it is as sturdy as a rock...and has been lovingly remodeled to this hotel. All that pales in comparison to the staff. Simon, the bellman, brought our luggage up the 4 steep steps that you must access from the street (at least on one point of access), so no worries about carrying heavy luggage. He whisked us in the hotel, and although our room wasn't ready, he offered us water immediately, and handed us our baggage tickets. Sandra at the front desk checked us in with much efficiency....and apologized for our room not being ready. No worries since we were 3 hours early for the 4PM check-in. Simon again recommended a lovely spot for lunch right down the street....and the recommendation was "spot on." This type of service continued throughout our stay, and the hotel's concierge was also exceptional. Francine patiently answered my questions, made very appropriate suggestions and then made reservations. I heard her deal with many other guests....and I'm sure she hears the same questions over and over....but she dealt with every person with courtesy and kindness. The management of this hotel has put together a wonderful staff and it shows. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was also delicious....but other places we dined (based on Francine's recommendations) were superb. I'd stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.....and would stay in this part of town over the Upper Town....just because I'm a fan of minimum crazy when I visit an area. The hotel is also located across the street from the Museum of Civilization...and is just a block from the riverfront. Makes for a lovely area to stroll around after dinner, or just during the day watching all the happenings at the river. The front of the museum is where you can catch the red double-Decker bus that you can take around the entire town...a hop on, hop off, bus. Very convenient to the local Farmer's Market, too.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Southpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bonjour Southpass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will be back if your travel plans include Québec City!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was excellent. Lots of unexpected extras. Staff was very knowledgeable about the area. Hotel was very clean and the shower was amazing. Hotel location is close to many attractions.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank syoanidis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bonjour syoanidis88,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay; we hope you will be back next time you are in Québec City!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our Quebec vacation and it was just what we were hoping for!
PROS:
-hotel is perfect location to walk through the cobblestone streets of Old Town.
-Gorgeous building, beautiful comfortable lobby/lounge
-free coffee/tea/espresso daily which was an wonderful touch
-comfortable big bed with soft white linens
-we had a lovely view of the river on the 7th floor
-we found our room quite spacious, especially the bathroom
-just loved the overall look of the interior, sleek, clean, modern but in a historic building
-valet was prompt and helpful
CONS: the continental breakfast was not great. The pastries were beyond dry. We ended up going to a local bakery each morning for fresh pastries.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour Kate F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and will pass on your remarks regarding breakfast to the restaurant. We hope you will be back again next time you are in Québec City!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews