We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, harbor view, very modern, friendly service, occasional lapses”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Traveling with another couple, my wife and I had the unique experience of staying at two hotels owned by the same management, next door to one another in the lower town of Quebec City. This came about because the Auberge Saint-Pierre, which had been recommended by friends, only had space for us the first two days of our visit. They offered to move us to the 71 for the remainder of our stay (3 days) and we took them up on it.

The 71 is in a renovated bank building, and is decorated in a very modern, minimalist style. The upper couple of floors have harbor views, and we paid $20 more per night for that privilege. Our rooms were pleasant, if a little stark (no wall art, for example), with very high ceilings and effective temperature control. As with the Saint-Pierre, a few quirks n the room design suggested that perhaps a hotel professional should have been involved. For example, there was a real shortage of towel bars in the bathroom - only two hooks - and the bed platform was six inches longer than the mattress, providing for a number of barked shins in the course of our stay. There was no TV channel list provided, which was inconvenient in a place where many of the channels are in French. Similarly, there were no telephone instructions.

On the plus side, the staff (which was shared to some extent with the Saint-Pierre) was uniformly very friendly and helpful. The cold buffet breakfast was a cut above typical in variety and quality.

The "cafe" is snack bar providing pre-wrapped pre-made sandwiches, pastries and drinks. It is often un-staffed, but is open 24 hours a day, The bar, shared with the Saint-Pierre, was staffed by a car-parker the one night we tried it. It had a very limited stock (only one white wine, for example). The "bar-keep" was friendly and tried hard.

I have put such strong emphasis on the 71's shortcomings because I believe that with only a few improvements it would be a truly five-star experience. I hope the management makes them happen.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank PeteandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

Our three night stay her over the Canadian Thanksgiving (Columbus Day) weekend was very enjoyable overall. The property blends historic structure and location with stylish modern decor. The room was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the Chateau Frontenac and University. The location in the lower city was terrific. Easy to get around, with a laid back vibe.

Overall I would give the service high marks friendly, and prompt but not intrusive.

There were a few lapses. Housekeeping neglected to remove dirty glasses and coffee cups from our room after our first nights stay along with a couple of other minor issues. Not huge but not exactly up to a four star standard.

Another odd lapse was the fact that I was asked twice (once at booking another time at check-in) about whether or not we were celebrating a special occaision. I responded that yes it was our anniversary (I would never offer this information if not asked). I found it odd that no notice was taken of this as a result after being asked.

The breakfast which was included was in a bright and well decorated space. Fresh fruit, hot coffee and cheese were the high points. The baked goods: toast, very average croissants and mini muffins were nothing special.

Our rate included valet parking. Self parking would be a challenge.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Good location. Arrived in the evening (8pm). Hipster hotel translated into dark and deserted. Rooms smallish and unadorned. Surround sound nice but would rather have had sufficient hooks in the bathroom. Use of an unexplained set of buttons necessary to get the room cleaned. Warned of a great happy hour but the actual hour included two chosen types of wine, one red one white; no offer of appetizers or a peanut. Most of the staff not very helpful or communicative. Breakfast not bad. Would be wary of hipster description next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrseiselburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and we didn't regret it. The service was excellent and the rooms are very spacious. The location is also great for the lower part of the old city which is a part we hadn't explored before. The room was very clean and modern without detracting from the old charm of the building. The complimentary breakfast is also great and the fact you can get a coffee at any time of the day at no charge is another nice touch for the customers. I have recommended this hotel to others and will definitely stay there again on my next stay to Quebec city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NT1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This hotel was just amazing! The location was perfect, service was impeccable, rooms were incredible, and everything just 'clicked'.

I have stayed in many beautiful hotels before, and this is one of the top 5.

My partner and I came to Quebec city for one night as a side trip from Montreal. We had never been there and just generally read reviews on Trip Advisor. Some things that made our trip great:

1) Followed advice to stay in the old city
2) location of this hotel -- excellent. not having to climb up to the upper part after a long day was a plus, and the general area I found to be much nicer than where the chateau is. More and more genuine cafe's, stores, restaurants... extremely beautiful. not so crowded as where Frontenac is.

One thing that made this place great was the service. In a nutshell, if there is something the staff can do to make your stay better, they will do it, and happily. They were beyond professional and friendly.

ROOMS: beautiful. Modern but warm and homey. Neutral colors, high ceilings and the bathrooms were great. Great lighting. felt like an oasis.
When we arrived there was classical music playing and truffles, flowers, chocolates on the bed.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

BREAKFAST: Exactly what we wanted. light and healthy. we are not big cooked breakfast people, so we really enjoyed this. served in a lovely dining room, it is a cold breakfast which includes granola, yogurt, cereals, cheese, eggs, toast, croissants, danishes, fresh fruit, dried fruit, etc. Very fresh and healthy food.

COFFEE: for coffee lovers this is a dream! There is a REAL and lovely cafe on site, and if you are a guest you can drink anything for free throughout your stay, anytime. espresso, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, anything.

LOCATION: excellent! I will never stay anywhere else in Quebec!!!

Merci Hotel 71!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura12345Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Pretty much a tranquil haven in the tourist throng of Quebec city. The hotel is a converted bank located in the lower town but within walking distance of the upper old town, with views up towards the Chateau Frontenac. Check in was efficient and staff remained discreet but helpful throughout the stay. The rooms are sleek and spacious with high ceilings and wooden floorboards. No bath but a large shower and well stocked with toiletries. Free coffee is on offer to guests throughout the day in the hotel's cafe - you just have to find someone to ask for it. An excellent buffet breakfast is served in a bright and spacious dining room. There is a small gym with a few pieces of equipment but it did not seem to be much in use. Free WIFI throughout the hotel. At check out, staff helped with luggage and called a cab directly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

After flying from Australia to Quebec we were exhausted but elated to be in Quebec at last to celebrate my 50th birthday and our first holiday in 27 years without children! I was a bit worried hotel 71 would be too chic or yuppie for us! How wonderfully surprised we were to be greeted so joyfully by the reception staff. We were escorted to our room by a lovely young man who was kind and considerate of us. We were overjoyed with our room and especially the view from our window overlooking the St Laurient river and the old town of Quebec. The free coffee downstairs in the cafe each day was delicious as was the breakfasts which lacked for nothing. Although our stay at hotel 71 was extremely relaxing we also enjoyed the buzz of youthful energy from the staff .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $187 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing