We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We booked the hotel on a recommendation from a friend, and could not be happier with the choice. From the minute we walked in, we were made to feel extremely welcome, the rooms are great ( we had a river view ), very comfortable beds and i would seriously take the shower home with me if i could. Nespresso machine in the rooms, as well as help yourself nespresso in the lobby. I live on nespresso! The concierge staff were amazingly helpful, the continental breakfast is included in the rate and is very nice and is all that is available, but if you want a bit more, they will direct you a great place around the corner. The location is perfect, an easy walk to more or less everything and they will lend you a bicycle if you want one, although after a while, its not the most comfortable seat! We ate in the hotel restaurant and that was fabulous, awesome service and terrific food, and the waiter sat us at a bar table with another 2 couples as it was very busy. We got chatting and had a great time, and when they left, another 2 couples joined us, and once again the crack began to flow and our dining experience was extremely enjoyable. If you stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed, i travel a lot, and this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in.

Room Tip: River view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockdinosaur1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Bonjour!

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience.

Please do not hesitate to write me at nlavigne@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Recommend us to all of your friends.

P.S. I live for Nespresso too!

Warm regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    299
    46
    15
    3
See reviews for
201
1,112
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location. Great service. Liked the valet parking. Nice breakfast. Very nice decor. Clean. Spacious room (suite) with amazing views (one of chateau Frontenac up the hill) and another of the water...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your recent visit at Hotel 71. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your excpectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our property.

Warm Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and beautiful with its industrial loft like ceiling, hardwood floor, bathroom with rainfall shower that had the perfect pressure and of course comfy bed and spectacular view of the St.. Lawrence River.
The breakfast in Matillo's is complimentary with attentive staff offering specialty coffees. The buffet includes- fresh croissants, fruit cocktail, bagels, cheeses, boiled eggs and juices.
The location is perfectly set in the lovely cobble street setting of old Quebec City and steps away from the harbour front.
We took advantage of the complimentary bikes and cycled to Montmorency Falls- a must see as the falls are higher than Niagara, with close to 500 stairs to climb for the ideal viewing!
Our stay was just perfect in every way!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VacationPronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our property, the restaurant Il Matto and the area.

Do not hesitate to contact me next time you need to plan a next visit to Quebec City. We will be pleased to tell you all about the wide range of activities our beautiful city can offer.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Loved this modern hotel. We were in one of the 2 bed rooms. The room is excellent and spacious. The shower was luxurious and the service was great. Highly recommend this hotel. They have an awesome free coffee bar and bikes for rental. We had breakfast included in our hotel and was very happy with the options. Loved the entire experience.

Room Tip: We didnt have a river room but I am sure it would be nice to have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Bonjour Shaja,

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience. Please do not hesitate to write me at nlavigne@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A very good hotel experience. The staff went out of their way to do everything possible to make sure we were having a great stay. Breakfast was fantastic. Hotel 71 is in a great location; within walking distance of centre ville, vieux port, citadelle, cruise docks, and numerous restaurants.

Be prepared to tell your cab driver "L'hotel soixante et onze est juste derriere le musee de la civilization;" ours did not know how to find it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoboatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour from Quebec!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel 71. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs and make you enjoy the wide range of activities available in our beautiful city.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you are planning another visit to Quebec.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acadiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The room, the bathroom were great, modern in design and extremely comfortable. Our room overlooked the river and the view was wonderful. The rain shower was perfect!! The staff was excellent and knowledgeable, able to answer our questions and steering us to very good restaurants, etc. Breakfast was enjoyable every morning. My husband loved the expresso bar and we both enjoyed the NESPRESSO machine in our room. Another added perk to a perfect room!! We were treated like family which was great because we knew no one. We loved being able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, the Museum of Civilization is right across the street. Other attractions are all easy to get to including the funicular which gets u to upper town. Roxanne, the 3 to 7 desk clerk, was extremely helpful throughout our stay. She really made us feel comfortable and at home. We would highly recommend Hotel 71 to anyone traveling to Quebec!

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour Katryn B.,

Thank you so much for your good review. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations during your recent stay to Hotel 71. We strive to offer the best experience possible with high quality features in the room and a personalized guest service.

If you are planning another visit into our beautiful city, do not hesitate to contact me directly at nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My daughter and I just spent eight nights at Hotel 71 and we already miss it. Where do we begin? The updated design of this gorgeous former bank building is stunning: spacious rooms, sky-high ceilings, perfect views. The food at Il Matto, the hotel restaurant, was delicious and a wonderful respite after a long day of taking in the city. And finally, the staff, at both the hotel and the restaurant -- Le Deuxieme Maximes, as I like to refer to them, on the concierge and desk staff, were simply marvelous. Helpful, kind, funny -- as we knew no one in Quebec, everyone at the hotel made us feel at home and completely taken care of. A final note: It isn't easy to please a teenager -- as any parent of one will tell you -- but the pout and the comment, "Mom, I JUST want to go back to the hotel!" should say it all. We love Quebec and we love Hotel 71!

P.S. This would be a dream hotel for a romantic getaway...

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a view of both the St. Lawrence river and the hill to Upper Town; at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBushell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best.

It was a pleasure welcoming you. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations and offer you an unforgettable stay.


Please contact me at nlavigne@hotel71.ca before your next visit.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon! –

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing