We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and nice hotel”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cute hotel, it’s well located right in the old town. Bicycles are available for the guests free of charge. Very nice staff, always friendly , including the concierge employee. Coffee machine in the room, good shower and spacious bathroom. It’s a very good choice in Quebec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaDeLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Bonjour PaulaDeLavoie,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our entire team will be delighted to hear all your kind words in their regards! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just spent a two day weekend at the Hotel 71 in Quebec City. The weekend was wonderful and the hotel is very well located within the old city walls and close to many good restaurants and shops. It was a great deal that we got through travel zoo and would recommend that anyone interested in staying in the old part stay here. We have stayed at the Auberge St Antoine and found that for the price Hotel 71 was a good alternative at a very competitive price. Please keep in mind that this hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast at the a joining restaurant which was very good. With good cafe au lait served with no charge. The hotel does not have a bar but you may order a drink from the restaurant and enjoy it in the lobby or in your room. The rooms are very well appointed and the washroom is ultra-modern with very nice walk in showers. We look forward to staying here gain the next time we travel to Quebec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSM291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including the hotel location!

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room.
Spacious and well appointed, great bathroom, even a Nespresso machine.
Located in old-Quebec, so not necessarily the best for everyone.
Can be expensive if you do not have a corporate rate with them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Bonjour Jknights,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our rates vary depending on hotel occupancy. Our Sales Team is more than happy to negociate corporate rates for frequent business travelers. Do not hesitate to contact Mrs. Stéphanie Dufresne (sdufresne@hotel71.ca) for any further information.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Quebec City, or on your next weekend getaway.

Sincerely,
Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This relatively small hotel is in the 'lower' old town near the harbor and across from the Musee de la Civilisation. Our room was on the 7th floor, with a Queen sized bed. We did not have of the harbor, but of the 'upper' old town. our room was confortable and big enough, but like many hotels had been redecorated into what I call 'hotel modern' and I am not a fan. I do like to be able to tell the difference from one hotel to the next, but that is being eliminated. The in room Nespresso machine was great to have. The breakfast was standard continental and OK. Going out the back door of the hotel landed us in a charming (if not touristy) area. It was close to the funicular that goes up the hill to the upper old town. I did not get the view other reviewers are talking about, I should have asked. My bad.

Room Tip: Ask about the river/harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Bonjour lovesweims,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you come to Quebec City so I can make sure you can enjoy the river view from your room.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location is quite nice in the Old Port / Lower Old Town, at the vase of the hill up to Upper Old Town.

We had the two room suite (separate rooms) overlooking the St. Lawrence River (until the cruise ship pulled in!). Two nice sized rooms. It not only had a flat screen TV, but it also had HD reception! The bed was quite comfortable, as were the furnishings in the living room.

The problem was what was lacking in a hotel that should have been much better.
So let me list them.

General issues:
Even with some stone from the original bank building, the rooms were quite sterile, white walls with no art work or embellishment.
While the living room was fully carpeted, the bed room was not. A rough area rug under the bed, and then bare floor.
The main lighting for the bedroom could not be turned off from the bed. Only LED reading lights, once you turned the main room light off at the door.
There was a refrigerator in the closet, but no mini-bar supplied. There was a Nespresso machine.
There is a curtain for the widow in the bedroom, but none in the living room.

Bathroom:
Large bathroom with plenty of counter space around the sink. A large walk-in rain shower with separate hand shower.

BUT:
The bathroom lacked ventilation, so the mirror fogged up badly.
The lighting around the sink/mirror area is more mood light. Not much fun trying to shave.
No separate magnifying mirror (that should be standard).
There is no shelf in the shower for shampoo, etc. Only a small soap dish on the wall. You have to put shampoo/conditioner bottles on the floor. Not much fun if you have a bad back or knees. Serious oversight.
The floor tiles in the shower could have used a good scrubbing. Seems the staff doesn't even want to bend over.

Service:
Not up to the level of a hotel of this alleged quality. The back-up role of toilet paper was not replaced for two days.
One day, at 4:30, they still had not finished the room!
There is no turn-down service, no offering of a bottle of water or such.

Breakfast:
This was the most frustrating, as we were there for a few nights. There is only a minimum, cold continental buffet. There was no option to have a hot breakfast, eggs, etc., even though breakfast is taken in the hotel's restaurant that has a fully working open kitchen. They should have had at least one frying pan operating so one could have some eggs over.

What could be a very lovely hotel in a great city falls short of being one. It is a comfortable, well located hotel, just not what it could or should be.

Room Tip: Get one on an upper floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Bonjour Ryewit,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our facilities and breakfast menu did not meet your expectations. I will make sure your comments go to all concerned managers.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, staff was very friendly. The rooms were simple with modern touches including a fabulous rain shower head! We asked for and received a room on a higher floor with river view, definitely worth the request. Location was good but going to the old city did require some uphill walking even just to get to the funicular. Only real disappointment was the included "breakfast", fruit salad, mini muffins, bread you could toast yourself and some cold cuts and sliced cheese. Maybe standard Euro-continental fare, but a bit lacking to our American sensibilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Bonjour Travelbug474,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71! Your feedback is helpful and appreciated – I will make sure your comments are shared with the appropriate manager.

We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Quebec City!

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First all the pros:
- Given a small upgrade ie from a superior room to a superior plus room (had a bath), the room was large with a great view over the port......thank you management
- It was my partners birthday and a plate with 3 chocolates with a congratulatory note was left in the room on our arrival, a nice thoughtful touch. Thank you again
- The location could not be faulted
- The nespresso machine in the room was appreciated as was the all day nespresso and tea lounge down stairs
- The foyer and attached restaurant had a nice ambiance
- Internet was great

Cons:
- On arrival there was a discrepancy of over $250 on the price quoted in my on line booking confirmation and what the hotel now wanted to charge us. When I showed the email confirmation the receptionist did amend the booking to reflect the quoted price. Unfortunately on check out the hotel again tried to charge us the higher price. This discrepancy took 10 minutes to fix up on their computers and issue another invoice. Annoying
- The brown throw found on the bed was very dirty, it had caked stains on it that looked like mud together with lots of hairs......on pointing this out to the maid.....she did take it to be cleaned but did not return it as promised during our stay.
- The house cleaning for that calibre of hotel left a lot to be desired. The first day was ok but on the next two days the nespresso capsules were not replenished nor was the room cleaned except for a change of towels. The stains from the wine glasses remained throughout our stay and the bed linen was not changed in the three days we were there. The plate used for the chocolates on the first day remained for the whole stay. Unacceptable for a hotel that charges over $200 a day
- We used the hotels valet parking service about $25 a day. The car was parked a couple of minutes walk away in an public open air car park. Requesting our car usually took about 10-15 minutes depending on how busy they were. On one occasion we got the car ourselves......
- one of the receptionists attitude bordered on surly
- the cold breakfast the same every day and was just adequate ......boring after a few days.....I would have expected a little more given the price of the hotel rooms


Trying to overcharge twice and poor housekeeping really let this hotel down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view over the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. Guest comments are really important to us and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize and hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

We can have issues sometimes with our booking software and we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Let me assure you that it was definitely not our intention to overcharge you. I have contacted our software provider already to make sure all necessary adjustments are made.

As for the housekeeping issues, your comments have been addressed to the Housekeeping Manager. We will make sure this kind of situations does not happen again and that procedures are followed by all employees.

I would appreciate if you could contact me as I would like to have more details on the parking issue. Our valets are the only ones that have magnetic cards to get guests’ car out of the parking lot.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you in the future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly to make all arrangements for your next stay – I would be pleased to assist you.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $192 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing