We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband planned a trip for us to Montreal and Quebec for my birthday. We stayed at the Hotel 71 and it was amazing. The Hotel thought of it all from breakfast, cruiser bikes and popcorn and movie night. The staff, Maxime and Rose-Marie, were so friendly and helpful. The concierge, Maxime, had some great suggestions for restaurants and ended up planning our nights out at his favourite places to eat. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower in the bathroom made us not want to leave! The location was ideal, right in the heart of Old Quebec. When we return to Quebec we will definitely stay ther again. LOVE

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    295
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
195
1,093
32
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved this hotel, but you pay for it. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh baked croissants, bread, cheeses, cold cuts, cereal, yogurts, fruit, etc. Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable. It's located in Old Quebec City close to the river and surrounded by art galleries.
To get to the upper part of old town there are a lot of stair to climb, or walk two blocks and take the funicular for $2.00.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 854Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I figure I need to write a review about Hotel 71 because this weekend was my third stay in this wonderful hotel. The location of the Hotel is fantastic. Located in old Quebec, you can walk to all the sites within old Quebec. The street the Hotel is located on (St-Pierre) is very old and charming. I enjoy the decor of the Hotel, from the scented lobby to the plush furniture. THe staff is extremely helpful. I have stayed there twice during a business trip. As an attorney coming to Quebec for cases, I need a quiet room to sleep and this is what I find there. I also came for a weekend to relax with some friends. We enjoyed the restaurant and also riding the bicycle that are provided by the hotel. I will be back!!! I highly recommend that place, great value for the money.

Room Tip: The rooms located on higher floors provided a view of the St-lawrence river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PositiveNancESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for one night after returning from the Charlevoix area. Although we loved the more old world places we stayed while touring, we especially like a modern decor. Room was a good size with queen bed, desk and a comfy chair. And there were plenty of outlets. Location is great for walking around the historic center and for all the restaurants but there was no view from our 2nd floor room. We had lunch in Matto..the hotel restaurant and it was excellent! Service was very good.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suefowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a really nice, upscale, hotel located in Old Quebec right in the heart of prime walking district. The staff was very helpful, except since we like to eat at out-of-the way places; they were not so well acquainted with every single restaurant. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed; except for the very annoying compact flourescents..which have become standard at most hotels..ugly. A buffet breakfast with fresh coffee, cappuccino or espresso is served every day..although it never changes..but was adequate for us. Comfortable sitting areas in the lobby with fresh water, coffee, tables. Bikes available for use.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators and ice machines !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JawsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights and were very pleased with the level of service and the accomodations. We booked a superior room but due to a major screw-up on my part, arrived on the wrong date. The front desk was able to book us a classic room which still had plenty of space and exceeded our needs. I appreciated the large selection of coffee and tea in the room and the 24 hour coffee service off the lobby.
The included breakfast was somewhat limited for choices but the quality was very good and we enjoyed it 4 days in a row. They bake the croissants in their own kitchen and they were delicious!
The location was perfect for us. On our last day, I noticed a plaque on the east side of the building noting that this was the location of Arnold's defeat in 1775. Not a good spot for an assualt on the garrison but great for tourists.
Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff greeted us with a smile and a friendly greeting during our stay. A very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandlindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel with the expectation of staying for a minimum of three nights but we were able to extend our reservation an additional three days when a cancellation occurred. Veronique warmly greeted us at the front desk and seemed genuinely pleased that she could accommodate a request we made weeks earlier for an upgraded room. We, frankly, forgot about our request and we were thrilled with the room she acquired for us on a higher floor. The room was very clean, modern and afforded expansive views of the St. Lawrence Seaway. The beautiful hardwood floors and the beautiful contemporary shower alone were worth the price of admission! The hotel is very quiet and the first-rate mattress and bedding afforded us a tranquil, restful sleep. Our two Bellman, Max and Francois, were equally gracious and very helpful and patient on every occasion we required their service. The hotel lacked any semblance of pretense and all of the knowledgeable staff endeavored to make our stay a memorable one. They truly want their guests to enjoy their extraordinary city! Every staff member exudes the warmth that Canadians are famously known for. We felt comfortable the moment we walked in. We were equally impressed with the continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, Le Matto. What impressed us more, however, was the professional and caring manner that Veronique handled our request to, unfortunately, curtail our trip due to a sudden illness. She assured us that we would not incur any penalties despite having a guaranteed reservation and she expedited our departure all the while inquiring if there was more she could do. Kudos to her and all the staff! We plan on returning to Quebec City and staying at Hotel 71, a truly lovely boutique establishment, in the near future! Sincerely, Bill and Leslie Garifal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olympus929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing