We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 71
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Hotel Port-Royal(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Manoir Morgan(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Auberge Place D'Armes(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sainte-Anne(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Clarendon(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,809)
Filter reviews
1,809 results
Traveler rating
1,418
321
49
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,418
321
49
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil mattohigh ceilingssurround soundrain showerthe penthouseold quebeclower townwine barnespresso machineself serveart galleriesplace royalemodern designcontinental breakfastmuseum of civilizationview of the riveryogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,809 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for one night after returning from the Charlevoix area. Although we loved the more old world places we stayed while touring, we especially like a modern decor. Room was a good size with queen bed, desk and a comfy chair. And there were plenty of outlets. Location is great for walking around the historic center and for all the restaurants but there was no view from our 2nd floor room. We had lunch in Matto..the hotel restaurant and it was excellent! Service was very good.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Suefowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a really nice, upscale, hotel located in Old Quebec right in the heart of prime walking district. The staff was very helpful, except since we like to eat at out-of-the way places; they were not so well acquainted with every single restaurant. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed; except for the very annoying compact flourescents..which have become standard at most hotels..ugly. A buffet breakfast with fresh coffee, cappuccino or espresso is served every day..although it never changes..but was adequate for us. Comfortable sitting areas in the lobby with fresh water, coffee, tables. Bikes available for use.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators and ice machines !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JawsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights and were very pleased with the level of service and the accomodations. We booked a superior room but due to a major screw-up on my part, arrived on the wrong date. The front desk was able to book us a classic room which still had plenty of space and exceeded our needs. I appreciated the large selection of coffee and tea in the room and the 24 hour coffee service off the lobby.
The included breakfast was somewhat limited for choices but the quality was very good and we enjoyed it 4 days in a row. They bake the croissants in their own kitchen and they were delicious!
The location was perfect for us. On our last day, I noticed a plaque on the east side of the building noting that this was the location of Arnold's defeat in 1775. Not a good spot for an assualt on the garrison but great for tourists.
Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff greeted us with a smile and a friendly greeting during our stay. A very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandlindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel with the expectation of staying for a minimum of three nights but we were able to extend our reservation an additional three days when a cancellation occurred. Veronique warmly greeted us at the front desk and seemed genuinely pleased that she could accommodate a request we made weeks earlier for an upgraded room. We, frankly, forgot about our request and we were thrilled with the room she acquired for us on a higher floor. The room was very clean, modern and afforded expansive views of the St. Lawrence Seaway. The beautiful hardwood floors and the beautiful contemporary shower alone were worth the price of admission! The hotel is very quiet and the first-rate mattress and bedding afforded us a tranquil, restful sleep. Our two Bellman, Max and Francois, were equally gracious and very helpful and patient on every occasion we required their service. The hotel lacked any semblance of pretense and all of the knowledgeable staff endeavored to make our stay a memorable one. They truly want their guests to enjoy their extraordinary city! Every staff member exudes the warmth that Canadians are famously known for. We felt comfortable the moment we walked in. We were equally impressed with the continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, Le Matto. What impressed us more, however, was the professional and caring manner that Veronique handled our request to, unfortunately, curtail our trip due to a sudden illness. She assured us that we would not incur any penalties despite having a guaranteed reservation and she expedited our departure all the while inquiring if there was more she could do. Kudos to her and all the staff! We plan on returning to Quebec City and staying at Hotel 71, a truly lovely boutique establishment, in the near future! Sincerely, Bill and Leslie Garifal

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olympus929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel 71 is in a good location, walking distance to most popular tourist attractions. The Superior Room is good for 2 people and the river view on the fifth floor is great, but try to avoid #505 because it close to the ice machine and it's a liitle noisy at night.

Room Tip: Try to avoid #505 because it close to the ice machine and it's a liitle noisy at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_G5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews