We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a really nice, upscale, hotel located in Old Quebec right in the heart of prime walking district. The staff was very helpful, except since we like to eat at out-of-the way places; they were not so well acquainted with every single restaurant. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed; except for the very annoying compact flourescents..which have become standard at most hotels..ugly. A buffet breakfast with fresh coffee, cappuccino or espresso is served every day..although it never changes..but was adequate for us. Comfortable sitting areas in the lobby with fresh water, coffee, tables. Bikes available for use.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators and ice machines !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JawsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    289
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
192
1,077
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights and were very pleased with the level of service and the accomodations. We booked a superior room but due to a major screw-up on my part, arrived on the wrong date. The front desk was able to book us a classic room which still had plenty of space and exceeded our needs. I appreciated the large selection of coffee and tea in the room and the 24 hour coffee service off the lobby.
The included breakfast was somewhat limited for choices but the quality was very good and we enjoyed it 4 days in a row. They bake the croissants in their own kitchen and they were delicious!
The location was perfect for us. On our last day, I noticed a plaque on the east side of the building noting that this was the location of Arnold's defeat in 1775. Not a good spot for an assualt on the garrison but great for tourists.
Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff greeted us with a smile and a friendly greeting during our stay. A very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandlindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel with the expectation of staying for a minimum of three nights but we were able to extend our reservation an additional three days when a cancellation occurred. Veronique warmly greeted us at the front desk and seemed genuinely pleased that she could accommodate a request we made weeks earlier for an upgraded room. We, frankly, forgot about our request and we were thrilled with the room she acquired for us on a higher floor. The room was very clean, modern and afforded expansive views of the St. Lawrence Seaway. The beautiful hardwood floors and the beautiful contemporary shower alone were worth the price of admission! The hotel is very quiet and the first-rate mattress and bedding afforded us a tranquil, restful sleep. Our two Bellman, Max and Francois, were equally gracious and very helpful and patient on every occasion we required their service. The hotel lacked any semblance of pretense and all of the knowledgeable staff endeavored to make our stay a memorable one. They truly want their guests to enjoy their extraordinary city! Every staff member exudes the warmth that Canadians are famously known for. We felt comfortable the moment we walked in. We were equally impressed with the continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, Le Matto. What impressed us more, however, was the professional and caring manner that Veronique handled our request to, unfortunately, curtail our trip due to a sudden illness. She assured us that we would not incur any penalties despite having a guaranteed reservation and she expedited our departure all the while inquiring if there was more she could do. Kudos to her and all the staff! We plan on returning to Quebec City and staying at Hotel 71, a truly lovely boutique establishment, in the near future! Sincerely, Bill and Leslie Garifal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olympus929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel 71 is in a good location, walking distance to most popular tourist attractions. The Superior Room is good for 2 people and the river view on the fifth floor is great, but try to avoid #505 because it close to the ice machine and it's a liitle noisy at night.

Room Tip: Try to avoid #505 because it close to the ice machine and it's a liitle noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_G5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location, and fits with our preference for boutique style hotels. It is modern and comfortable and close to the port -- well-located in our opinion. The front desk and concierge were helpful and pleasant. That is the good news.

The bad news is that it felt a little short-staffed for the level of service one should expect from a hotel of this caliber. They have a bit of a unique service request system (not the standard door hanger signs for service the room or please leave us alone), and unfortunately, we (or I should say I) hit the wrong button (which is in close proximity to the light switch), resulting in our room not being serviced by the time we returned to the hotel in the early evening. No one could tell us why it wasn't serviced when we called the front desk upon our return to the room, but we learned what caused the problem three days after we checked out in a note from the Room Division Manager of the hotel explaining the issue and apologizing. Really? Three days to figure it out?

We can accept our error, but what was not acceptable was that there was no one available to remedy the situation. We had just returned from six hours of driving and touring a National Park (which was fantastic) and just wanted to shower and have a nice dinner. We were more than willing to settle for some dry/clean towels (ours were still wet from the morning) as we are capable of making our own bed and picking up the room. After 20 minutes of no towels, we offered to come pick them up and were told that that wouldn't be possible as there was no one available to retrieve them from storage....so we waited ... finally, after 45 minutes the front desk attendant brought us fresh towels and toiletries she had crammed into her pockets (which I have to admit was sweet). She was very apologetic and friendly and I am sure she did the best she could, but we were pretty frustrated by the whole situation. Our evening was basically ruined.

I don't understand why a hotel, with its proudly displayed 4-diamond service award, does not have a single person in housekeeping available to address "back of the house" issues, leaving the front desk staff free to deal with "front of the house" needs/check-ins. I honestly can not remember the last time we experienced something like this and have stayed in many hotels over a very long period of time all over the world.

If I can offer one other constructive criticism...start your breakfast service at 7 on the weekends!! Not all people sleep late. That point that was abundantly clear to us as we watched the groups of guests forming in the lobby waiting for the dining room to open for breakfast. Bluntly, it is the hotel that should be waiting for guests, not the guests that should have to wait for the hotel to be ready. By the time they finally opened the dining room for breakfast, there at least 10 groups of people had formed in the lobby. Even after they opened, they were not fully prepared. The server was still drinking his juice and the fresh croissants were not ready a solid 20-25 minutes after they opened. They were quite tasty once available, but either you are ready to go when you open, or you are not. They were not.

Though this review may not sound like it, we really are pretty easy to please, but were disappointed with the overall service that, while pleasant, fell short of the awards the hotel has received. I am sure the response to this review will be that they care very much about their guests and are well-know for their service, etc. However, as I read other reviews that shared similar (though not the same) experiences it seems they are long on words and short on action. Otherwise, our experience would not have been what it was.

With some adjustments, this would be a lovely hotel, but for now...I am afraid our two-bullet rating is the best we can assign.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Am15210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is modern, clean and perfectly located. They have free bike rentals - a great way to see the city and all the sights. The restaurant in the hotel is quite nice but there are MANY restaurants within walking distance. The front desk had menus for all the restaurants in the area and gave us great recommendations

Room Tip: The basic room was quite large - surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebirth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located – all of the major areas of Quebec City are within walking distance. Rooms are comfortable with modern furnishings and are nicely appointed. That being said, there were some minor cleaning issues (I noticed some spots of the floor near the corners and walls hadn’t properly been swept and cleaned, and you could tell from the grout between the tiles in the shower that the shower walls and floor could use a better scrubbing/cleaning). However, service was truly exceptional. Concierge was great with giving us highlights of the city that were not to be missed and with restaurant recommendations. We ran into one of the housekeepers in the hallways and had a specific request which she ensured was addressed immediately. Free bottled water at the front desk was always appreciated. We noticed bikes that could be borrowed, but unfortunately, didn’t have time. Continental breakfast was fairly basic with some baked goods, cheeses, ham – but given that it was inclusive, it was a nice touch.

A fine choice for a stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing