We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located boutique hotel - wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well-located boutique hotel – wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located – all of the major areas of Quebec City are within walking distance. Rooms are comfortable with modern furnishings and are nicely appointed. That being said, there were some minor cleaning issues (I noticed some spots of the floor near the corners and walls hadn’t properly been swept and cleaned, and you could tell from the grout between the tiles in the shower that the shower walls and floor could use a better scrubbing/cleaning). However, service was truly exceptional. Concierge was great with giving us highlights of the city that were not to be missed and with restaurant recommendations. We ran into one of the housekeepers in the hallways and had a specific request which she ensured was addressed immediately. Free bottled water at the front desk was always appreciated. We noticed bikes that could be borrowed, but unfortunately, didn’t have time. Continental breakfast was fairly basic with some baked goods, cheeses, ham – but given that it was inclusive, it was a nice touch.

A fine choice for a stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    257
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
166
955
26
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel 71 is a modern, clean, sleek small property in old Quebec. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly and exceptionally helpful. Great location in the lower part of the old city. The continental breakfast is convenient and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband, son (28 years) and I visited Quebec city and stayed at Hotel 71 in Lower Town. It was a great experience. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen beds. The decor was modern and clean. The hotel location was great, right across the street from the museum and a short block from the water front. We walked all over lower and upper town from the hotel and ate at the many pubs and cafes in the area. The couple of times we needed our car they had it in front of the hotel in less than 5 minutes. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for 2 queen beds if you want the larger room. We were on the 2nd floor and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for two nights with our two children,the room was spacious and mostly clean. The first thing I do when I get to hotels is to take a shower and found a long hair inside the robe, which really turned me off as I am a neat freak! When I got to the bed my daughter unfolded the blanket that had long silver hair all over it. I immediately called room service and they changed it immediately.
The next day the manager addressed my concerns and when we returned from our day's excursion everything in the room had been changed and replaced with clean sheets, robes and blankets.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though there were a couple of hiccups the attitude and response of the staff was quick and sincerely apologetic and tried their best to remedy the situation.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAHirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We "won" this hotel on Hotwire and were pleasantly surprised. We immediately researched reviews on Trip Advisor and were excited after reading such positive results. The concierge were friendly and helpful. The lobby is small but cozy. The room is modern and clean. The bed is comfortable and ensures a good sleep. The free breakfast is healthy and tasty with a variety of breads/bagels, cereals, cheeses, meats and yummy spreads...it definitely starts the day off right! The hotel is in the heart of old Quebec City...steps to many restaurants and shops. What a great stay we have had-we will come again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, ON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Growing up with a father in the hotel industry, he always emphasized that service and cleanliness is what makes a hotel great. I booked 2 separate stays here for my family while we did our East Coast tour. The first night we arrived, we were told our room was not available because of a small issue but they offered me an upgrade to a wonderful suite !!! The view was magical. The staff were wonderful...a week later upon our return, they recognized me and told me my room would be available. It's very difficult to find hotels that will fit 4 comfortably and since my kids were spoiled the first time with the suite, I went up to the room first to check it out. RM 223, two queen beds, is amazinglu spacious and fantastic for a young family. The best was the personal note left by the staff, welcoming us back and staying with them, also a nice plate of chocolate :) The personal touch was fantastic !!!! I love this hotel...the staff are amazing !!!!
The restaurant for breakfast was wonderful and they were so nice....
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsoi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My hotel experiences have mostly been of the large chain variety. Marriotts, Hyatts, Hiltons, etc. For our Quebec City vacation, my wife and I decided to find something "special." After scouring TripAdvisor.com and some other sites, we chose the Hotel 71. I was very excited to try something different and I have to say, the Hotel 71 met all of my hopes.

Please check out the hotel's website, as it accurately reflects the style of this property: contemporary and chic, yet casual and comfortable. The entire staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic - high ceilings, comfortable bed, great shower. For us, the location couldn't be better - it is in the middle of the lower town and relatively peaceful. Walk out the front door and head either direction for great restaurants and shops within two blocks.

I must mention the complimentary breakfast. It is not the steam table of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, and danish that you often get. It is simple and delicious: croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, fruit juices, and espresso/cappuccino/lattes. When you've been dining at Quebec's wonderful restaurants, you don't want to be packing on the fat and calories at breakfast.

This is not a five-star hotel, with white gloved bellhops and complimentary champagne. But Hotel 71 is definitely a five-star experience because of their friendly staff and wonderful rooms. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_from_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71, Saint-Pierre Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing