We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Nicely Located”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the hotel was simply but stylishly furnished, and the location was ideal for walking around old Quebec. The included breakfast provided a great start each day. What more could one ask for? The hotel was a perfect base for our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were greeted with much warmth. Francine, who is the conceirge was perfect. She made many recomendations for us and all of them were awesome. She deserves 2 big thumbs up for all she does. Not taking anything away from the other staff. All of the staff were great to us. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view of the harbor. Ask for room 729. When I come back to Quebec City, my first call is to Hotel 71.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canesfan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am on a Cross-Canada trip by train from Vancouver to Halifax. (If interested, you can read my daily blogs on anshubhatia.wordpress.com). In this six-week journey, I stayed at 19 different (2 places twice) lodging places. There were basically two kinds of establishments - hotels and inns or B&Bs. Almost all the hotels, inns and B&Bs were very good, selected by my daughter who works for Fresh Tracks Canada in Vancouver. However, among the first kind, Hotel 71 in Quebec City was the best hotel I stayed taking into account the room, comfort, staff and attention to details. Their rain shower in the room is so good, one doesn't want to come out. The hotel is located in old city part of Quebec City. I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anshubhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel 71 surpassed our expectations in design, service and quality. It is centrally located in old town within walking distance of restaurants, cafes and attractions. The shower is amazing and we loved the modern chic design of the lobby and the rooms. The breakfast is awesome and worth having at the restaurant.We were able to catch the free performance of Les Chemins - cirque du soleil at the Agora . Quebec City is beautiful and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccavps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family of four just spent two nights at the Hotel 71. I was very impressed with the hotel! It is a modern hotel but the rooms have a lot of character. High ceilings give it a feeling of space. We were lucky to get two rooms on the 6th floor overlooking the St. Lawrence river. We could see the view of the river from our bed! The room rate comes with free wi-fi and a pretty impressive continental breakfast.

The hotel concierge, Francine, was very knowledgeable about local cuisine and generally helped us plan our trip very well. Her restaurant recommendations were fantastic. In addition, she recommended a bike ride along the river front all the way to a great food truck - Panache Mobile which was perfect for lunch!

The location of the hotel was perfect, away from the crowds but in the heart of the old city. Highly recommend Hotel 71 for couples or families.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on checking in.

The room was very large with great amenities and is in a very nice location in the old town.

Breakfast was continental with very nice breads and fruit etc and the wait staff made us a cappuccino initially and after that we had good filter coffee.

The staff were very nice and we would definitely stay again. It was a very nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stopped in for a cognac to enjoy with my cigar in the outdoor area on Saint-Jean Baptiste eve.Lot's of folks out and about and the gendarmes were very liberal with allowing beverages on the streets.Bar has a good,modern atmosphere but well designed so you can have a conversation without shouting or texting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knife_n_fork32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $192 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing