We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful modern hotel in heart of old city.”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful modern hotel in heart of old city.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Hotel 71. Location is fantastic. 100 yds. from Place Royale. Easy walk to all main sites. Staff is without exception warm, attentive and helpful. They all speak flawless English. The room is fantastic. Feels like an apartment. Comfortable bed, fantastic shower, great tv, stereo. I could live in this room. Room 726 is top floor with view of Saint Lawrence.
Hotel is very modern and extremely quiet. No road traffic. Can't hear other guests. There is a small gym and complimentary breakfast.
Quebec City is beautiful. People are wonderful. Old City feels like a movie set. It is spotless. Tons of good restaurants and shops. Hotel 71 is the perfect location in lower city. Upper city is uphill but it is a 10 minute scenic walk. This is a small manageable city. Look no further Hotel 71 is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    290
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
193
1,081
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Located in the heart of Quebec's Old Port, the hotel is nicely furnished in a modern style. The rooms are not very large, but not too small either. Ceilings are high and the amenities are typical of a good boutique hotel. The staff is friendly and responsive. Valet parking is available, at a cost of $21, and there is an Italian themed restaurant (which we have not tried) in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was good. Overall this is a good value in a very pleasant, albeit touristy part of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We were just in Quebec City for 4 days and had picked this hotel from reviews and research. The location, in the lower town, was excellent and made getting around easy. We came to bike ride and the main city trail is almost outside the door. Max the concierge seemed to know everyone in town and was always able to get a table at choice restaurants at the times we wanted. His directions on innumerable maps were usually better than our GPS-and he was fun to work with. Jeff brought our bikes and car to us when we wanted them and always with a smile. Breakfasts were excellent and we ate one good Italian dinner in the hotel restaurant. The entire experience was memorable, even after two excellent weeks traveling around Eastern Canada. We're already making plans for next summer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tiamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of old Quebec within walking distance of all historical sights. The room was bright, comfortable, very clean and well equipped. What's there not to like about your own Nespresso machine to get you going in the morning. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and very nice. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and provided us with great eating and sight seeing suggestions. All in all, I would highly recommend Hotel 71 for your next visit to beautiful Quebec City!

Tom

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvishnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very friendly and personal hotel. Rooms are excellent, clean and very confortable. What a wonderfull experience.
Best of the boutique hotel so far. Next time we go to Québec City, we will sure choose that hotel.
Adjacent to the hotel is a very good italian restaurant call "Matto", reservation suggested on weekend.
Pete and Nic.

Room Tip: Rooms number that ends with #25 (like 525 ) are larger and corner romm. Their are one per floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel 71.
Pros:
Very friendly and personal service that you won't find in the larger hotels.
Clean comfortable rooms.
Good breakfast, slightly better then the typical continental.
Nespresso machines in the lounge and your room where you can make great complimentary espresso.

Cons
The free Wifi kept dropping for us, perhaps it was the location of our room.
You have to walk up the hill to some of the main attractions. (We didn't mind this, but some people might).

I would have liked to see English subtitles on a lot of the channels, but I don't think this is the Hotel's fault.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNG700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Bonjour CNG700,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review regarding your recent stay among us at Hotel 71! Feedback from our guests is always appreciated from our entire team as we consider it to be truly valuable to constantly increase the quality of our service.

On the other hand, please accept our apologies for this issue encountered with our Wifi system. This information has immediately been sent to our technical support in a way for our system to be trustable everywhere in our establishment.

Have a great summer and we sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Located in Old Town.Convenient to most of the tourist sites.Large rooms.Higher floors have views of the river.the staff is friendly and helpful.only suggestion to increase light on bathroom mirrors.Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Docron4284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing