We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botique Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Botique Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A wonderful small hotel in the heart of the old city. Our room was very modern with a nice tv, surround sound music and a well appointed bath and shower. It is located on a quiet street. The concierge was very helpful, giving us local restaurant tips (including what areas to stay away from) as well as information on how to get to the Montmorency Falls. The continental breakfast buffet was good, but not extensive. Some additional fruit would have been nice. The rest of the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    289
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
192
1,077
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the 4th time I stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, but what brings me back here is the comfort of the rooms, modern, roomy, and excellent beds. Add this to the service you get at the front desk and particularly at the restaurant (highly recommended by the way,particularly if you want to bring your better half), and it is easy to keep coming back. You are within 5 min from "La Place Royal", and 10 min walk from Chateau Frontenac. Yet, you re ose to the port, water front. Google it and you will see exactly. You will be across The museum of Civilization (English translation), which I recommend, particularly the boutique. Great shopping to do there. Son in summary, this is one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our flight from New York was cancelled due to THUNDER AND STORMY conditions all around us- however, we rented a car and drove almost all night! When we arrived, it was like the sunshine came out!! The greeting was so welcoming and the room super-comfy. Breakfast was included and the cappuccinos (which were delicious) were included- The restaurant turns into a really nice,fun spot in the evening....would recommend it.
We are planning to return to this hotel between Christmas and New Years which made leaving a little easier... Thanks all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Bonjour Dr2020,

We are so glad to know that we have contribute in the making of an amazing stay for you, even though it had started in a bad way!!

All our team thank you for all your great comments and we are definitely looking forward in welcoming you during the Christmas vacations, to celebrate among us the New Eve!!

Best regards,

Valerie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel 71 is in the perfect spot on the lower part of Quebec City which is our favourite area being only minutes away from great shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly and our room was comfortable. The room was spacious with an awesome walk-in shower. The complimentary breakfast was better then a regular continental type as you can sit down however it is still basic with only fruit, bagels, yogurt, cheese, cold hard boiled eggs etc...
I would recommend Hotel 71 for couples who want to take in the best of QC.

Cheers,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderdano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travel frequently and stay in many hotels. My wife and I decided to celebrate her birthday in Quebex City. The hotel 71, was an excellent choice. The staff were friendly, and the rooms were very high quality. The Ceilings were high, the rooms were quite, very well furnished, and very clean. The breakfast buffett was one of the best. The location is in the lower city within the art district. I liked the location a lot. It was right across the street from the museum of Civilization. Easy access to the old city. I highly recommend this hotel to future travelers visiting Quebec City.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating an event let the hotel know prior to arrival. This is a hotel that seems to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcome with a nice touch of chocolates in our room and a soft music also.
The staff is very helpful and the quality of toiletries, coffee in the room and in the lobby is excellent .Room, bathroom, TV and channels very good. Breakfast delicious.This is my first time and I will return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is located on a pretty and calm little street, at very short walking distance of everything you want to see in the Petit Champlain neighbourhood, less than 10 minutes from the Château Frontenac or the Gare du Palais (VIA trains) and right across the street from the Musée des Civilisations.

Every member of the staff was pleasant to us. Reception was always very welcoming when we walked through the lobby. We met our room-cleaning lady in the elevator and she was very bubbly and talkative. We had also purchased the optional valet-parking service, which was easy and effective: we had our car ready for us in a matter of minutes, and the boys always greeted us cheerfully when we left our keys.

The complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations: the options were diverse, filling & it was served in the beautiful italian restaurant adjacent to the hotel. In fact, it didn't felt as a buffet at all, much more like something you would present to guests when hosting a brunch.

As all the other reviewers have mentionned, the design of the hotel is attractive and very "boutique". Even our regular room was beautiful, with high ceilings and a smart deco: I can only imagine what the superior rooms or suites must have looked like! The shower was very enjoyable & the products provided were of good quality/smelled divine.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the St-Lawrence river would be a major plus, as the view is truly beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FannylaChipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing