We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A keeper!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is located on a pretty and calm little street, at very short walking distance of everything you want to see in the Petit Champlain neighbourhood, less than 10 minutes from the Château Frontenac or the Gare du Palais (VIA trains) and right across the street from the Musée des Civilisations.

Every member of the staff was pleasant to us. Reception was always very welcoming when we walked through the lobby. We met our room-cleaning lady in the elevator and she was very bubbly and talkative. We had also purchased the optional valet-parking service, which was easy and effective: we had our car ready for us in a matter of minutes, and the boys always greeted us cheerfully when we left our keys.

The complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations: the options were diverse, filling & it was served in the beautiful italian restaurant adjacent to the hotel. In fact, it didn't felt as a buffet at all, much more like something you would present to guests when hosting a brunch.

As all the other reviewers have mentionned, the design of the hotel is attractive and very "boutique". Even our regular room was beautiful, with high ceilings and a smart deco: I can only imagine what the superior rooms or suites must have looked like! The shower was very enjoyable & the products provided were of good quality/smelled divine.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the St-Lawrence river would be a major plus, as the view is truly beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FannylaChipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

From start to finish, Hotel 71 well surpassed our expectations. The lobby, espresso lounge and restaurant are stunning and clean. The decor is fresh and modern and the rooms are oh-so-perfect! We had a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the river. Beautiful music was playing in our room as we arrived. Having our own Nespresso machine made mornings really pleasant especially after having such a great night's sleep on the most amazing mattress you could ever wish for. The staff of Hotel 71 is truly fantastic. Whether over the phone or in person, all were extremely helpful and kind. They seemed genuinely interested in making us feel welcome and ensuring our stay was the most enjoyable. Kudos to the managers of Hotel 71 for selecting such a great bunch of people to represent them!
For anyone planning a stay in the old city, I'd definitely recommend Hotel 71 and I will surely stay there during my next stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elodie1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Bonjour Elodie 1804,

On behalf of our entire team, it has been a real pleasure to welcome you among us and we are extremely glad to know that we have surpassed your expectations!!

Indeed, every member of our team, from the valets to the housekeepers, to front desk clerk and the maintenance department, everyone is devoted in a way to offer the best customer service, as we consider the best way for us to be dissociated from other hotels in the area... which makes us unique and the hot place to be while staying in Quebec city!!

Thank you for your great review and we are looking forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Here is the list;
-fantastic location in the heart of old Quebec.
-easy walking to multiple pubs and great restaurants.
-The shopping is top notch.
-rooms are amazing, modern design theme,huge windows, fantastic shower.
-Breakfast was very satisfying.
The Valet parking was a very nice trouch.

I will return for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I often stay at this hotel for business and it's a very nice hotel with polite staff, a mix of old fashioned and modern in the design all in a great location. Not quite at the level of the nearby Auberge St. Antoine but much less expensive.

Overall excellent choice right in the picturesque petit Champlain district.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best for the view, either side is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife, to celebrate our first Valentine's day together as a married couple. The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were clean, good furniture and layout. The service was also very good, very helpful staff, and very polite (unlike the French experiences I've had in France). Location was very good as well, felt like we were in the heart of the old world.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naved81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Bonjour Naved81,

It is such a pleasure for all our team to know that we have contributed in a wonderful way in the making of your perfect romantic getaway for Valentine's day!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back again soon for another memorable stay among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great experience! From the service we received, to the big windows on the Chateau Frontenac, to the bath towels, to the high ceilings (and beautiful architecture) we were very impressed. We loved the classical musical playing in our room when we arrived (made it feel like home), the breakfast was delicious, and the espresso machines in the rooms were perfect. We were also very happy to find a Bible in our nightstand.

If there was one thing that we could change, and this is a very small thing, it would be to recommend more lights around the mirror in the bathroom. However, the lighting in the main living area and bedroom was absolutely perfect. We would stay there again in a heart beat as this experience was definitely one we would do again.

Merci tellement d'avoir rendu notre séjour si agréable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor which gave us a great view of the Chateau!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacinthe652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect blend of modern comfort with old world charm. Rooms are huge, hardwood floors, extremely comfortable beds..very Eurpoean in feel. Helfpul staff. Superb breakfast buffett.
My only complaint was when I tried to drop in to the restuarant for lunch without a reservation, it was completely full. But I guess that is a good sign too. My own fault for not checking. If I was returning to Quebec City I would definitley stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $184 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing