We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I would always return to Hotel 71”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Here is the list;
-fantastic location in the heart of old Quebec.
-easy walking to multiple pubs and great restaurants.
-The shopping is top notch.
-rooms are amazing, modern design theme,huge windows, fantastic shower.
-Breakfast was very satisfying.
The Valet parking was a very nice trouch.

I will return for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I often stay at this hotel for business and it's a very nice hotel with polite staff, a mix of old fashioned and modern in the design all in a great location. Not quite at the level of the nearby Auberge St. Antoine but much less expensive.

Overall excellent choice right in the picturesque petit Champlain district.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best for the view, either side is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife, to celebrate our first Valentine's day together as a married couple. The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were clean, good furniture and layout. The service was also very good, very helpful staff, and very polite (unlike the French experiences I've had in France). Location was very good as well, felt like we were in the heart of the old world.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naved81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Bonjour Naved81,

It is such a pleasure for all our team to know that we have contributed in a wonderful way in the making of your perfect romantic getaway for Valentine's day!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back again soon for another memorable stay among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great experience! From the service we received, to the big windows on the Chateau Frontenac, to the bath towels, to the high ceilings (and beautiful architecture) we were very impressed. We loved the classical musical playing in our room when we arrived (made it feel like home), the breakfast was delicious, and the espresso machines in the rooms were perfect. We were also very happy to find a Bible in our nightstand.

If there was one thing that we could change, and this is a very small thing, it would be to recommend more lights around the mirror in the bathroom. However, the lighting in the main living area and bedroom was absolutely perfect. We would stay there again in a heart beat as this experience was definitely one we would do again.

Merci tellement d'avoir rendu notre séjour si agréable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor which gave us a great view of the Chateau!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacinthe652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect blend of modern comfort with old world charm. Rooms are huge, hardwood floors, extremely comfortable beds..very Eurpoean in feel. Helfpul staff. Superb breakfast buffett.
My only complaint was when I tried to drop in to the restuarant for lunch without a reservation, it was completely full. But I guess that is a good sign too. My own fault for not checking. If I was returning to Quebec City I would definitley stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our second time going to Quebec City. When thinking about a hotel there wasn’t much thinking to be done. Hotel 71 is fantastic. Service, ambiance, location and the rooms are amazing. The city itself is breathtaking its like diving back 350 years.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Bonjour David b,

It is such a great pleasure for all our team at Hotel 71 to receive a review like yours.

We are also glad to know that your second stay among us has overcome your expectations, just like your first one did!

All our team work really hard on a daily basis to offer a guest experience service that makes our property a unique place to stay while visiting Quebec city!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

At this lovely hotel, new world chic meets old world elegance. It boasts exposed brick walls and original wooden floors and beams, yet it is equipped with modern electronics and fine finishes. Service is attentive, polite and friendly. The restaurant is delightful and the proximity to local attractions is very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan_M-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $184 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing