We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel 71 in February with 2 other couples and we had an amazing stay. The rooms are beautiful - a great combination of exposed bricks and beams with modern styling and amenities. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. We were on the 7th floor and the ceilings must have been 18' high. Wonderful modern bathrooms as well. The restaurant attached to the hotel is almost great - they had line-ups of people coming in for dinner. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was much better than the traditional "continental" breakfasts that many hotels provide. Real croissants, capuccinos, great assortment. The staff was also extremely helpful and made our stay great. I would say that the hotel is certainly more of a couples hotel, and not as ideal for kids, but otherwise I would say it was one of the nicest boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. Highly recommended. The location is right in Old Quebec City and we were able to walk everywhere in the old town. You do have to hike up the hill to get to the newer parts of the city, but it's a good way to work off all of the delicious food in town. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms are wonderful with great views and high ceilings. Rooms that face the river have nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    290
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
193
1,081
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good experience at Hotel 71. 2 nights stay May 2012. Very nice room. Good service, good breakfast. Good location. We left the car at the parking and everything you need to see is at walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from Friday to Monday during the annual winter carnaval and it was absolutely perfect. The room was just what we wanted, clean, high ceilings, very nicely decorated and comfortable; including the special request for a room with a view. Awesome luxurious shower (big enough for two). Love the complimentary Nesspresso coffee in our room:) This is a very nice boutique hotel, beautiful lobby and lounge area as well as gym facility. Great location. We especially appreciated the friendly and courteous staff. Maxime and Rose-Marie at the reception desk were especially helpful and friendly, helping to us to make dinner reservations and providing great suggestions on activities and places to see during our stay. Max (valet) was also very professional and friendly. Warm Service with a smile. Overall, great experience.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had the chance to stay at this beautiful boutique hotel this past weekend, and I have nothing but good things to say. From the moment i checked in, to the time I left, the staff was just fantastic and was extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is located in the heart of Vieux Quebec and within walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions. The rooms have a very modern look with very high ceilings and great views. The continental buffet breakfast was of excellent quality and they make delicious cappuccinos and lattes. The restaurant on site (Il Matto) is also very good and has nice trendy vibe. You can't go wrong with this property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMTL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Bonjour FrankMTL25,

What a great pleasure for all our team at Hotel 71 to receive such comment like yours!! Thank you for taking the time to share this appreciation with everybody!

All our staff is devoted to give a memorable service experience so our guests can remember our property as being a unique and special place to be while staying in Quebec city!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon among us!
Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for the night after leaving the ice hotel, they were very accommodating when we wanted to check in early. We bought a package that included parking which they offere a free breakfast when we checked in without a car. They forgot the chocolates that were supposed to come with our package, and we were woken early by an alarm that was left on in someone's room, but even with these small issues we'd still be happy to stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossipdweeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel 71 has a very modern, yet cozy atmosphere. It is located right in the heart of old quebec. Our sweet had an amazing view of the water and chateau frontenac. The room was fantastic, and the staff was veryy friendly and helpful! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting quebec city!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynne481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Like many others have said, Hotel 71 is in a perfect location right at the edge of the historic area in Lower Town. It's tucked just off the busy tourist area, right across from the street from the Musee de la Civilisation and near just about everything you need to see and do. Several restaurants are within steps as are the endless line of cloned souvenir shops. There is no shortage of maple syrup or moose trinkets in Quebec that's for sure! The hotel itself is comfortable, fairly contemporary, and maintains a cozy, well kept lobby. Room was clean and a good size. It also had nice high ceilings. If you don't want to go far, attached to the hotel is a restaurant, Il Matto. And while we did not get a chance to eat there on our long weekend, it was quite crowded on a Friday and Saturday. The reception desk staff was quite welcoming and offered assistance with the surrounding area which was helpful.

Being in the Lower Town you are right along the water and right across where the cruise ships dock. So the crowds are something you have to prepare for at times. If you have never been to Quebec and are staying in this historic part of town you will need to acclimate yourself to the fact that getting to the high town is going to take a little work, or climbing, I should say. You can always take the Funiculaire to save your legs but the fun is in the hills and stairs that take you up.

Also, right near the hotel is a line of antique shops, about 6 or 7 of them stretching from several blocks back on Rue St Paul. Many good restaurants are also close. Make sure to make reservations in advance though just to be on the safe side. We missed our top choice because of this and didn't feel like eating at 10pm, but it caused us to happen upon Restaurant La Piazzetta. Being from the northeast US, the last thing I wanted to eat in Quebec was pizza, however, this place was a treat. Cool menu and a nice little bar. It also got very crowded, so it really wasn't a secret.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel. We were also looking at the Frontenac, among others, and while it would have been a cool thing especially from a historical perspective, we couldn't be happier with Hotel 71. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papasmurf1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing