We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you must stay!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2007

From the very beginning we knew that this was going to be a great hotel!

that day we had driven from Montreal after doing business there & due to a horrrific storm got completely lost in the hills behind Quebec city. Eventually after much anguish & frustration we arrived exhausted at the hotel.

My wife was at the end of her tether as she alighted the car to be welcomed by a remarkably perceptive young doorman who assessing the situation in a flash said: "dont worry about anything, I will take care of everything for you, park your car & bring up all your luggage, just go inside & we'll get you into your room."

Well the tension melted alway & from then on our experience at this hotel was exceptional!

The style of the hotel is an interesting & sucessful mix of classic & modern. Our corner room (suite?) was superb with a separate
lounge. the bedroom & lounge had stunning views over the river & the old town. (this room was not listed on website as there are only two, we rang & booked it over the phone from australia).

The bed was very comfortable with quality bedlinen & pillows.

A nice touch (as has been mentioned) was the all day & all night coffee (& hot chocolate) available down near reception. This was not a automatic machine but from a quality expresso machine. Very nice!

We loved the staff who were attentive & intelligent (unlike most of the hotel staff in states who are only interested in tips).They always gave us good advice re eating out & sightseeing.

Had top-end, large flat screen tvs in both rooms with sliding doors between so if, like us, you have different sleeping patterns or suffer from jet lag, one can watch tv while the other sleeps undisturbed in the bedroom!

all-in-all the best stay of our round the world trip!

We would go back to Quebec just to stay here.

By the way the french canadians were fantastic, not rude or difficult as some will have you believe.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank digger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2007

Hotel 71 was delightful; very sleek, minimalist, and modern. We had a room with a lovely river view, bed was comfortable with a down comforter, bathroom was great with nice shelving for storage space and a rain shower. The only additions I would encourage would be a small refrigerator, some printed hotel information in the room, and easy access to an ice machine. I read about surround sound in other reviews, but don't think that was operating in our room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Hotel 71 is a great boutique in a great location. It's located on a nice street filled with galleries and restaurants, and across the street from the Musee de la Civilization. It's a short walk from the more touristy shops and restaurants in the Vieux Port but also near Rue St. Paul which has some nice restaurants and a row of antique shops. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are a bit small but the high beam ceilings, minimalist decor, DVD/CD player, and cleanliness more than makes up for it. The hotel also has wireless and a laptop/computer for free. The complimentary breakfast is also a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 1000travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We stayed here for two nights over the Canadian Thanksgiving long weekend based on reviews from Tripadvisor. Upon check in, to our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a suite for our anniversary. And what a suite it was. We had a great view of the Chateau Frontenac
and some of the other hotels and buildings in the Old Port area. The hotel itself was very modern, with friendly staff. The complementary breakfast had a nice assortment of fruits, breads, juices and cereals. The free cappuccino/latte/coffee throughout the day was an added touch to the hotel. Valet parking was a little pricey though. Overall, if you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place
to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WJC_TDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We picked this hotel based on reviews here and on price. We payed $195 booking directly through the hotel's web site. The hotel was as expected.... Great location, nice room. We were surprised by the breakfast... It was better than expected. Very complete breakfast including pastries, cheeses, fruit of different varieties, coffee (espresso, capuchino, etc..), cereal, yogurt, etc... We had a great stay and would stay here again. My only gripe, which is a minor one, was the room size. I found it to be a little small. Specially considering we payed for the "superior" room. I can't imagine how the regular room is!! The bathroom in the room was excellent, however. Very clean and stylish. Highly recommended if you don't mind a "smallish" room.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rcsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Paid less by booking online through the hotel web site than by using one of the internet booking companies.

What an incredible boutique hotel! It is located just blocks from everything of interest to visitors to the Old Quebec city area. We couldn't have been happier with our selection of this hotel. EVERYTHING is aesthetically stunning and if you appreciate cutting edge design then you will be in heaven in this hotel.

Although it does not have a full service restaurant on site it does have a nice bar, full cafe and they provide a complimentary expanded continental type breakfast in the spacious dining area.

Parking: the narrow streets of old Quebec city limit the availability of onsite parking lots but there is metered street parking available and the hotel does provide complimentary valet parking.

We would definitely return to this hotel. It is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

On September 6th, six people in our family checked into Hotel 71 for a three night stay. It was as good, if not better, than what I had read in previous reviews. The hotel personnel were all helpful and obliging. Our room with a king bed and large bath had a wonderful view of the river. The mattress was very comfortable and the 7th floor was extremely quiet and made for a good nights' sleep. We especially liked the lovely breakfast buffet and the all day coffee or tea. The location is very convenient to various museums, art galleries and wonderful restaurants. We'd definitely recommend it to our friends and acquaintances.

1  Thank DeeDNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,877 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,325 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $196 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing