We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, nice room, tasty breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good price, nice room, tasty breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

A lovely old building has been beautifully restored. It's comfortable, clean and the included breakfast is more than just toast! Our hosts were gracious and helpful. We could even use the kettle, microwave and fridge as needed. Not to mention, the price was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheLoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Owner at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you!...You liked our Inn, and we thank you! We hope to see you again and again...

Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    138
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
144
331
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am wary of staying at B&Bs because sometimes (maybe this is your preference, but not mine) you end up feeling like you're staying in someone else's guest room. It's hard to get comfortable because you feel like you're in someone else's home. That said, people seek out B&Bs because they're more cozy than a hotel, and have personality. They struck just the right balance at Chateau des Tourelles. Everything was exceptionally clean, yet quaint.

Breakfast consisted of an omelette with vegetable of the day, or french toast with strawberry preserves and real Quebec maple syrup. Both options came with mixed fruit, and fancy (for lack of a better word) toast. Both options were delicious. They also served pretty good coffee, which was available in thermal caraffe the rest of the day after breakfast, as well as hot chocolate and tea. Kitchen access was nice for storing and reheating leftovers from the many fantastic meals we had in QC. Wine glasses in the room were a nice touch too.

They seemed a little stingy with the toiletries, though it was easy enough to get more from the front desk. Also the property I'm sure was a residential property at one time, and as such, the walls are thin. Fellow guests however, were respectful and it didn't really cause us a problem.

While all of the staff were polite, William, who checked us in and provided his cell phone number in case of after-hours issues, was exceptionally friendly and good-natured.

The property is situated ideally for strolling the streets of Quebec, located equidistant (about 10 a minute walk) from the Grand Allee, the golden mile of bars and restaurants, as well as the old city (Vieux Quebec), and there were a fair amount of dining options (some excellent) within a few blocks on the street on which the property is located.

Some reviews made an issue of parking, but when we were there in the dead of winter with record low temps hitting -24F (-31C), we were happy to have a heated garage, even if it was two blocks away. It was easy enough to pull up to the property on the left side of the road and put your hazard lights on while checking in and loading and unloading luggage.

There were two couples with kids staying there while we were there. They were fairly well behaved, but more poorly behaved children could become an issue when coupled with the aforementioned thin walls.

In sum however, it was a very comfortable stay with delicious breakfast, and I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Owner at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a long comment! we hope to see you soon.
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place, very clean and close to all amenities. The service is great and breakfast is delicious. For this price it's a steal. Will definitely stay here again. Thank you for such an enjoyable visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank daydream14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Owner at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you, Merci ! we're lucky to have so friendly customers!
We hope to see you soon!

Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Loved it
By: Diane & Andrij
Once again (this year) we were impressed by this little gem from the Victorian era nestled on the sloping landscapes of Quebec City.
The building has been tastefully restored.
The room and bedding was clean. Our suite was equipped with modern amenities and was well maintained. Nothing was broken or missing.
. Our private balcony gave us a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside.
And, the staff were polite and efficient. (Merci Jacques et William)
The full breakfast really made this place a great value for dollar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Owner at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much!! We hope to see you next year for the carnival!

Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We loved this hotel. The staff was the best we have come across at any hotel. The made to order breakfast was outstanding. We loved the location and the quaintness and charm of the small hotel renovated within such an old building. The only reason I didn't give a 5 for the rating is because we found the walls very thin. We could clearly hear our neighbours - I could tell what they were saying and doing. Maybe not a big deal but one that is worth pointing out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Owner at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Many thanks to taking the time to write a good comment.
Thank you for all the team..We work hard and we're very happy when you like our job.
You know, we bought this hotel just two years ago in 2012. It was an old b&b, charming but dusty, and we renovate all regulars room, suites, dining room and desk with my wife, it's why we're very happy when you love the decoration, renovations, and new services.
So, you're right, it's an old building and in some rooms, we can eard the neighborhood. It's why it's important for us to continue the improvements in the futur. For example, we plan to change all the windows at the end of this year...Be sure that we want to be better year after year !! We hope to see you soon

Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We chose the place based on tripadvisor comments and ratings , and evry thing was strait on ! (Exept may the floors at som places haha ) we realy enjoyed our stay .we dont wake up early but coudnt pass on the super breakfast eavry morning ! Lots of shops on the way to old quebec . Will go back and recommend . Thanks for our great stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Propriétaire at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Alexandre!! you had good time and tht's what we want!
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Hotel is located in a great place. It's a few blocks from the walled city, and a welcome break from the overly touristy old city. There are great restaurants and bars nearby. An easy walk to the Fine Arts Museum. The suite was a fantastic bargain for everything you get, including amazing views from the hilltop. Breakfast was always simple, delicious food that set us up for a day of walking to historic sites and art galleries. It made our stay in Quebec very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelynBenouari, Propriétaire at Chateau des Tourelles, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you!...we hope to see you soon, and we hope to be better day after day!!
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Property: Chateau des Tourelles
Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing