We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“This the one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau des Tourelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This the one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are currently staying in the suite (room 10) and it is very nice. The bed is comfortable, the sheets are clean and new, the pillows make my head feel like it is drifting upon a puffy cloud. In the bedroom, there are large french windows looking out to the terrace. The television is huge. The AC is a little noisy but it cools off the room very fast. The bathroom is massive with a whirpool bathtub and a separate shower. The second room would be perfect for a child. There is a microwave.

The terrace is so big! When I read that there was a terrace, I thought it would be a small balcony. You could probably squeeze twenty people on to the terrace, it is that big. It doesn't overlook the old city but it overlooks the northern part of the city where mountains are seen in the background.

The breakfast, which is included, is fantastic and the owners are lovely people.

The hotel is about a 15-minute walk to the Old City but it's a great walk down Rue St. Jean where there are many restaurants, shops, and interesting churches. We took a tour of a nearby church which was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellygobraugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    131
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
127
295
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Quebec City. The staff were helpful on arrival, providing us with a map of the city, the Wi-Fi-passcode, etc. The rooms were alright; they were quite old, and there as a hole in the floor (?) Also, we were only provided with one towel (we were a party of four) and were not able to get more until the afternoon of the next day. The breakfast was great, however. The owner and waiter was extremely friendly and made us all feel right at home. Their French toast is commendable. There is a parking, located about 250m from the hotel, which will cost you $8/day. The location of the hotel is like no other; it is walking distance from the very center of the city, no need to use the car. All in all, a good stay. However, if was quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilhelmiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a quiet studio apartment (room on the lowest floor) with cooking facilities which was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids. A private parking lot was conveniently located just outside our door. Beds were comfy and apartment was tastefully furnished making it feel like home. Location is walking distance of Upper Town. William the manager was friendly and accommodated all our needs.

My only grouses are that a strange smell, which I suspect is sewage smell, would waft from the toilet occasionally and the floor wasn't cleaned/vacuumed daily, so dirt built up. That being said, William seemed to be the only staff at that time doing room turnover, so perhaps they were shorthanded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nippychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived there July 25th and left July 31st. The hotel is wonderful, and the staff is even better. We are in our 70s and did a lot of walking. Be advised Quebec City is pretty hilly, not quite San Francisco, but similar in many parts. the architecture in town is amazing. There are many churches that are spectacular. Be sure to see John the Baptist, Sacred Heart and St. Anne's de Beaupre. Also be sure to check out the waterfalls at Montmorency falls they are great and 90 feet higher than Niagara Falls. If you stay at Chateau des Tourelles and are our age, you might really appreciate being on one of the lower floors. Before we left i read a lot about Quebec City, and everybody seems to say that you can get by speaking english. For the most part that is true, but there are a few people that ignore you if you speak only english.

Room Tip: I onle saw the room we stayed in. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnghath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau des Tourelles from Friday night until Monday morning over the civic holiday weekend. The 'Chateau' was easy to find even with a slight detour due to road construction. We were greeted by the friendly staff who helped us with our bags and got us sorted around with parking (parking is at a neighbouring garage). We had requested a room at the back of the hotel (as per suggestion of some other reviewers), and we were pleasantly surprised when we were given the choice of 2 rooms. We chose room 4, which had a private balcony and was farther away from the common area. The bed was comfy and the room was equipped with a nice quiet air conditioner so we could set the temperature to our comfort level. Breakfast was served by the owners each morning, and was both filling and delicious. The homemade preserves were fabulous. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend the Chateau to couples and families visiting Quebec City.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for six days in June. It was a great location, allowing us to walk easily all around town. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving us ideas of places to see and directions for walking or catching a nearby bus. The food was amazing. We started every day with a lovely breakfast served with a smile. And sometimes the owner's little dog could be coaxed over for a pet during our meal. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Chateau des Tourelles in room 8. When I got there I was warmly welcomed by Howli (spell?). There were a few rooms open so she showed them to me and let me pick the room I wanted, not bad. She explained the parking garage, a couple of blocks away, but I misunderstood her when she said it’s the garage ACROSS the street from bldg. 34. I was looking for garage 34, don’t make that mistake. After walking the city all night I came back to a warm room and after messing around with the thermostat I figured the AC must be broke so I opened the windows since it was cool outside. Even with the window opened the noise didn’t bother me. The next morning I was talking to William who was preparing breakfast (breakfast is awesome) and mentioned the AC and he walked in the room and grabbed the remote control and turned the AC on. I’ve never managed my AC by remote control and when I saw two remotes together next to the TV and DVD player I just figured that what they were for. Bottom line, great people running this place, very clean and comfortable and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#19 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Vincent
Hotel Le Vincent
#14 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Property: Chateau des Tourelles
Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing