We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the money paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for the money paid”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a quiet studio apartment (room on the lowest floor) with cooking facilities which was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids. A private parking lot was conveniently located just outside our door. Beds were comfy and apartment was tastefully furnished making it feel like home. Location is walking distance of Upper Town. William the manager was friendly and accommodated all our needs.

My only grouses are that a strange smell, which I suspect is sewage smell, would waft from the toilet occasionally and the floor wasn't cleaned/vacuumed daily, so dirt built up. That being said, William seemed to be the only staff at that time doing room turnover, so perhaps they were shorthanded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    140
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
146
334
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived there July 25th and left July 31st. The hotel is wonderful, and the staff is even better. We are in our 70s and did a lot of walking. Be advised Quebec City is pretty hilly, not quite San Francisco, but similar in many parts. the architecture in town is amazing. There are many churches that are spectacular. Be sure to see John the Baptist, Sacred Heart and St. Anne's de Beaupre. Also be sure to check out the waterfalls at Montmorency falls they are great and 90 feet higher than Niagara Falls. If you stay at Chateau des Tourelles and are our age, you might really appreciate being on one of the lower floors. Before we left i read a lot about Quebec City, and everybody seems to say that you can get by speaking english. For the most part that is true, but there are a few people that ignore you if you speak only english.

Room Tip: I onle saw the room we stayed in. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnghath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau des Tourelles from Friday night until Monday morning over the civic holiday weekend. The 'Chateau' was easy to find even with a slight detour due to road construction. We were greeted by the friendly staff who helped us with our bags and got us sorted around with parking (parking is at a neighbouring garage). We had requested a room at the back of the hotel (as per suggestion of some other reviewers), and we were pleasantly surprised when we were given the choice of 2 rooms. We chose room 4, which had a private balcony and was farther away from the common area. The bed was comfy and the room was equipped with a nice quiet air conditioner so we could set the temperature to our comfort level. Breakfast was served by the owners each morning, and was both filling and delicious. The homemade preserves were fabulous. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend the Chateau to couples and families visiting Quebec City.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for six days in June. It was a great location, allowing us to walk easily all around town. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving us ideas of places to see and directions for walking or catching a nearby bus. The food was amazing. We started every day with a lovely breakfast served with a smile. And sometimes the owner's little dog could be coaxed over for a pet during our meal. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Chateau des Tourelles in room 8. When I got there I was warmly welcomed by Howli (spell?). There were a few rooms open so she showed them to me and let me pick the room I wanted, not bad. She explained the parking garage, a couple of blocks away, but I misunderstood her when she said it’s the garage ACROSS the street from bldg. 34. I was looking for garage 34, don’t make that mistake. After walking the city all night I came back to a warm room and after messing around with the thermostat I figured the AC must be broke so I opened the windows since it was cool outside. Even with the window opened the noise didn’t bother me. The next morning I was talking to William who was preparing breakfast (breakfast is awesome) and mentioned the AC and he walked in the room and grabbed the remote control and turned the AC on. I’ve never managed my AC by remote control and when I saw two remotes together next to the TV and DVD player I just figured that what they were for. Bottom line, great people running this place, very clean and comfortable and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Good location, near-by secure parking, and a clean and comfortable room. Here are the details:

Location: Directly on Rue St. Jean, the hotel is an easy (straight down the street) walk to Old Quebec (10-15 min) and Rue St. Jean is lined with restaurants and shops. We really like the location as we could just park once (in the secured garage parking that is about a 3 min walk from the hotel) and walk while in the city. Parking is extra but cheap in my opinion ($8/night). There was also a convenience store located downstairs from the hotel which is open until 11 pm - a spot to pick up a bottle of wine or some beer.

Hotel/Room: Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom. Everything was clean. Rue St. Jean is a busy street and we did stay on a Saturday so there was a little bit of street noise but you would get that in any busy neighborhood. Good shower and nice toiletries provided. There is a flight of stairs to climb once you enter the hotel so if you have limited mobility this probably isn't the right choice. We really enjoyed the rooftop. It was nice during the day but amazing at night!

Breakfast: You are given a choice for breakfast which is made to order once you arrive in the dining room. My French toast was yummy and my hubby choice eggs which he also enjoyed. Good coffee!

Overall I would recommend this to friends and family so long as they are able to walk from parking and climb the stairs at the entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This small auberge is a gem. It's within walking distance of the Citadelle and other Old City sights, but on a lovely street in a real neighbourhood with lots of neighbourhood shops and small restaurants. The rooms are charming, old style, and clean. The breakfast is an amazing home-cooked hot meal, and guests are welcome to help themselves to tea, coffee, cookies, and use of the kitchen fridge at all times. A rooftop (4th floor) deck has comfortable chairs and a fabulous view. The owner and staff are absolutely friendly and helpful. Only drawback would be for anyone with mobility problems, as you must climb at least one set of stairs to reach the rooms. I would return to Quebec City just to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Property: Chateau des Tourelles
Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing